We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ocean Park Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Park Inn
2452 Lincoln Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Milano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Clean, comfortable, good loacation (5 min by car to Santa Monica Pier), reasonable rates.
Staff friendly and correct; normally check out is 11:00 am, but my request were to stay in room untill 1:00 pm. Manager agrees with no charge.
Internet works well. Parking free. Free coffee from 7:00 am to 10:00 am.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review which has full of points and info. We appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    39
    28
    16
    33
See reviews for
18
44
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

This is seriously the worst motel experience I have ever had!! My boyfriend & I got to the hotel around midnight, it was late, we were tired & just wanted a cheap place to stay. We went to lobby to check in & there was no one in sight, we rang the bell twice for service & no answer. We waited about 5 minutes & then we just sat down in our car about to leave to go somewhere else, we get a knock on our car window (creepy) "oh you need room?" So we said ok & checked in. We got into our room, we were on the bottom floor, room 34. Immeadiately we hear the people above us partying & this went on all throughout the night. Everything echoes! We finally start to fall asleep & around 2 a.m. I am awakened by my boyfriend who looks like he has just seen death. I ask him "what's wrong?" He tells me "oh, you don't even want to know!" He proceeds to tell me that their is a cockroach in our bed! At this point, I"m screaming, freaked out & don't want to stay there! It had crawled on me while I was sleeping, crawled onto his bare chest & he flung it off, it attached itself to the side of the bed & he tried to kill it with his shoe, but it wouldn't die so he picked it up with a tissue & flushed it down the toilet! Mind you right above the toilet paper, it looks like there were a bunch of pubic hairs! Ewww!! We immediately went up to the front desk, told the manager what happened, requesting a refund & he basically told us that he could not authorize us a refund & that we would need to talk to the owner, who would be in @ 8 a.m. We insisted that the owner come down here immeadiately & resolve this issue, but he said that there is nothing I can do for you! I wanted to leave, but we decide to stick it out till the morning, I did not sleep @ all, I was so paranoid that there would be more cockroaches! We check out the next morning & speak with the owner & he had the nerve to ask us if we saved it? Why would we save it? We don't want it in our room & plus we tried to kill it & it wouldn't die, I don't want a live cockroach in my room all night!! You are out of your mind!! He insisted that they keep the motel very clean (which it was clearly not!) & that they have bug people come out & spray which is some b.s!! He would not refund us our money, he said the best he can do is give us 20% off the next time we stay there, which obviously we will never go back there!! Ewww!! Pay the extra few bucks & stay @ the travel lodge on Pico!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
In hotel business we always have guests who are not happy one way or another. We do have a policy of refund with in ten minutes of stay for any reason . We do not even ask. But if there is any deficiency from our part like this guest claim we will refund fully with a sincere apology. But this guests simply claimed that there was one roach which was killed by them and then they stayed the whole night. We always insist that the guest see the room before checking in.
Thank You.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

We stopped there as it was late and we did not have any reservation. However, we quickly realized that the place needs to be refreshed and renewed. Everything looks old and dated. Bed was not comforttable. Some things were not working. Finally, no breakfast at all was served.
It has a open-air parking though. All in all, I would never stay there
again.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Most of the hotels in Santa Monica have open parking and some of them charge for parking which we do not. We do have two wings - one is new and one is old . The old wing is also being renovated one room at a time. We do not serve breakfast but we serve complimentary
Colombian coffee in the lobby every morning. Thank You.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

Within 30 minutes of our check-in, we discovered that the sheets had crumbs on them. Although we inspected the room prior to check-in, we did not check the sheets. I assumed that the sheets would be clean. We were not comfortable staying in a hotel with physical debris on the sheets, as this indicates that there are also less visible signs of contamination/debris/dirt. When we approached the clerk working at the hotel (name: Dexter), he would not resolve the matter by refunding our money. He dealt with our request to not stay there with sarcasm and contempt. While he offered us an alternate room, we were not comfortable staying at a hotel with physicial debris in the sheets. Dexter threatened to tell his Manager, Nick, that we were actually in the room for 45 minutes, while it was clearly less than 30 minutes (the time including the dispute was approx. 45 minutes). When I spoke with the manager two days later, he disputed that there was anything wrong with the room and challenged me to try to get my money back. At this time, he indicated he is the owner. I have never experienced unclean sheets in a hotel/motel room. I am offended by the treatment that I and my husband received by the staff and owner. We just want our money back.

I have not yet received a refund of the amount we were charged ($85.00) for a room we did not stay in. In addition, I was told by the owner that others have tried to get their money back, unsuccessfully. Interestingly, the internet address and e-mail address they provided to us via their business card are inactive and they do not have voicemail on their telephone recording. I think this is an owner/manager who has no regard for consumers and has immoral business practices that trickle down to his staff members. He should be investigated as I assume there are many others who have had a similar experience and did not receive a refund.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything was dismal; we paid for a room that we didn't stay in. Worst motel and customer service experience ever.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
We do have a policy of showing rooms before checking in and also refund with in 10 minutes and no question will be asked and the payment will be fully refunded. Unfortunately some people use the room fully including bathroom and the shower and then expect a refund.
Thank you.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

I have to say that i am confused with the other reviews. This is my second time staying at the Ocean Park Inn on Lincoln BLVD. I stayed here last July as well. No this is not a fancy 5 star hotel with room service and valet but hell people it's only $85 night. Just like last year the room is clean and stocked with towels, soap, pillows, a fridge and the basics. I have a TV a dresser a chair and a closet. I am sitting in my room right now. Room 36. The staff has always been very nice and helpful when I have asked anything. Not once have they ever been rude. Last year we had a lot of trouble finding a room at midnight. We had stayed in a [--] hole room, in a different hotel the night before, where we didn't dare walk around without shoes or use the shower. My best friend woke up with bug bites all over her legs, it was such a relief finding this hotel the next day. The room is clean, smells fine and the staff is courteous. If you have any questions or want to confrm I am a real person and customer please email me jordanrr1983@yahoo.com

  • Liked — It was clean and cheap
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Your Comments truly are appreciated by the staffs at Ocean Park Inn. Our staffs are working very hard to satisfy our guests. We know that we are not perfect but we are open to any reasonable suggestion. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

I stayed 1 night, didn't want to drive home 40 mins after a few drinks. The manager is friendly and when I asked him when checkout time is he actually asked me what time I want, I told him 1PM and he said fine. The place itself is pretty much a hole. It was fairly clean, I didn't do any kind of thorough inspection, but the place is shabby at best. The toilet seat probably cost them 5 bucks, and it was about to break off. There were people talking out front alot, so noise was a bit of a factor. But, I needed a place to crash, and it served that purpose. My biggest complaint is that it cost me 90 bucks. It's still cheap for the area, but overpriced for what you get. If you're looking for 5 stars, this aint the place to stay. If you just want a bed and a shower, it works.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking a time and post this review. We care for any review , bad or good we know that we can improve from it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2006

I booked this hotel for five people because we were on a strict budget. The hotel was awful - despite the fact I was assured it was a very nice, clean hotel. There was urine on the floor and hairballs in the bathroom. When I made the reservations the hotel clerks explained that the hotel was a very nice, clean hotel. It was not. It was not at all a bargain. Sleeping in your car might be preferable - at least you know what's been there before you!

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
On a average we check in about 60 guests per day and majority of them are very satisfied guests. We love to keep every one happy but we know it is a very difficult task. Some of allegations on this review is completely untrue. Please see the room first before renting it.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 2452 Lincoln Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxed beach attitude and total comfort in Ocean Park Inn. We are located in the beautiful city of Santa Monica, only 7 short blocks away from the beach and minutes from Santa Monica Pier, 3rd St Promenade, Santa Monica Civic Center, Venice Beach, Malibu Beach, Fishermans Wharf, Getty Museum, UCLA, Beverly Hills, Los Angeles International Airport, Marina del Rey, Hollywood, Universal Studio, Magic Mountain, Disneyland and Knotts Berry Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel Santa Monica
Park Inn Santa Monica
Park Inn Ocean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.