We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls, super noisy at night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Park Inn
2452 Lincoln Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“Paper thin walls, super noisy at night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I picked this place for the price as hotels and motels are pricey in Santa Monica. Check in was great, we were let in at 1:30 pm when we arrived.

Got up to room 37, it's a little tight getting up the narrow stairs and your door is crammed with 4 other rooms all entering and exiting the same way.

The room is pretty spacious for a motel. A safe and small closet area are provided. The bathroom has a miniature sink and a small toilet area and a hallway sort of shower.

The internet provided would work on my iPhone, but not on my Macbook Pro for some reason. I could not get it to connect to either internet routers and it would just say no connection available really odd.

The major problem was at night. The walls are paper thin. The people next door to us in room 36 were literally bouncing off of the walls. Running around, banging into walls and jumping around. Every few seconds there would be a loud thump against the walls and yelling. This went on from 11 pm to 2 am. It was very hard to sleep. I even had a dream that gymnastic students were next door. The cars passing by on the street can be heard too, it's an extremely busy street. Even with earplugs I could hear it.

The next morning these crazy people were up at 8 am making noise again. We had a very poor nights sleep and were so relieved we'd switched from 2 nights to only 1 before we arrived. I don't think I could handle another.

When I went to check out at 11:05 am at checkout time there was no one in the office. I rang the bell and waited and waited. No one was there. I left my card there. I never got a receipt so I was a little ticked off.

I mean it's clean and it's not too far from the beach. But it's a little hard to enjoy a motel stay if you can't sleep. I always bring ear plugs but that didn't drown out the thumping and the cars. I don't even know if there was anyone at the front desk nor did I feel like anything would be done to quiet rowdy guests at a motel.

It's not the worst place, but it wouldn't be my pick next time I go to Santa Monica. I'll spring for the extra to get a hotel without paper thin walls.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are very sorry that you had a bad experience that night. As far as the traffic noise we are installing a triple glass windows in three weeks and hoping to solve that problem. We always have someone on front desk at all time. During the check out time the clerk may be out in the court yard for few minutes. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    24
    13
    28
See reviews for
14
36
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice little Hotel close to Santa Monica beach and Venice beach , although everything very basic but it has everything I needed for my recent stay . As I was reading other reviews saying it is noisy because of the road right next to it , that is true ! Staff was helpful !

Room Tip: As far off the main road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your fair review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We randomly came across this hotel late one night. It cost about 110 bucks for a queen bed, one bedroom. Surrounding hotels may cost in the upwards of 250-300 for the similar accommodations. The hotel was really cute--more like a house transitioned into a hotel. The rooms are set up like little bedrooms with a small dining table. Floors are hardwood or similar (no gross feeling of dirty carpet!). Bathroom was small but there was an extra mirror in the "dining area" of the room. Shower was small. Water was clean. The hotel itself was clean. Watch out for the shower!! When someone flushes you get scalded! Overall, pleasant stay. The worker was a little odd but very nice and friendly. He mentioned I was the same age as his daughter and sincerely hoped we had a good stay and was helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate any review which may help us to do a better job to satisfy our guests. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewood, Colorado, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked several rooms for wedding guests at the Ocean Park Inn for a number of days. Fred who manages the hotel worked closely with us, and our stay was most enjoyable. The hotel isn't fancy, and doesn't have a lot of ammenities, but it is a GREAT value. It was clean, the staff was hospitable, and we very much appreciated our stay there.

Room Tip: Stay towards the back of the hotel (away from the street) for less noise - there is a lot of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and the review. We try hard to keep everyone happy but we also appreciate your tips so we can do a better job. Have a lovely day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in January. Our room was located on the top level, furthest from the main road. We did not have any issues with noise. Staff were friendly. The rooms a little dated, but clean and comfortable. Our room had a large walk-in wardrobe, heater, TV and a fridge. Was located reasonably nearby to the beach and shops, just a short walk away. Very affordable compared to most other Santa Monica hotels.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your fair assessment and hopefully to see you back here soon.
Have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

There are many EXPENSIVE Santa Monica lodgings. This one is good, at a price under $100/night.It is adequate/satisfactory/modest/cute/quaint, with a great location near the ocean. If you need luxury, choose another place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your honest opinion. We at Ocean Park Inn are trying very hard each day to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very friendly staff, modest rooms, but everthing we needed. Very comfortable, hostel style with tables in the courtyard. We were having lunch at the Santa Monica Pier and a rep at the tourst info center suggested Ocean Park Inn. We were very pleased with the choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and took your time to post a very fair and honest review. We appreciate any comments which help us to do a better job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 2452 Lincoln Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxed beach attitude and total comfort in Ocean Park Inn. We are located in the beautiful city of Santa Monica, only 7 short blocks away from the beach and minutes from Santa Monica Pier, 3rd St Promenade, Santa Monica Civic Center, Venice Beach, Malibu Beach, Fishermans Wharf, Getty Museum, UCLA, Beverly Hills, Los Angeles International Airport, Marina del Rey, Hollywood, Universal Studio, Magic Mountain, Disneyland and Knotts Berry Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel Santa Monica
Park Inn Santa Monica
Park Inn Ocean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.