We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a decent price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
2452 Lincoln Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice place for a decent price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have to stay in Santa Monica periodically for work (not reimbursed)...and found this place. It's a fine little spot for a reasonable cost in one of the most expensive areas of So Cal...the rooms are nice and clean and ample; the staff is nice; there's complimentary coffee in the morning and it is a great location. Free parking, too. I'm quite satisfied with it. It is a little noisy off the main road (Lincoln)...but other than that...it's a great place for the money. Oh...and free WiFi, which is crucial for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your time of posting a fair review. We are in the process of changing the windows again to reduce the noise and we are trying to get them done by the end of this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    32
    23
    12
    26
See reviews for
14
33
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice mattress, cute little courtyard, of course it's all a bit crammed (especially the tiny parking lot) and maintained on a shoestring but with love. We were granted a much-appreciated late checkout w/o a hitch, and a permission to keep the car on the property after we checked out and went to the beach one more time (yes it's no more than 15 minutes by foot). Lack of AC may be a problem, and possibly noise from the street if your room faces the front, but heck we got great sleep and nice time on the beach and it's all that mattered

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Every review will help us to do better. Just talk to us and we will make it happen. If you need a beach towels or other things just ask for it. We will give you some time a late check out if we do not have a reservation on that room but we cooperate with you as much as we can to make your stay a happy one. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Ocean Park Inn this weekend and there were definitely bed bugs thriving in our room. We left as soon as we discovered this, informed the manager at the front desk, he claimed he had never heard this complaint. Clearly not true after reading more of the reviews this morning. I physically saw multiple living bed bugs as well as spots on the sheets indicating that they have been there for some time. Beware. It's bad enough to have them at the establishment, but to know that this is an existing problem and to not handle it, to lie about it, and choose not to offer any compensation is a shame. You are exposing your employees and your guests to the risk of infesting their own homes. I will be informing my friend who lives in the area to not recommend this inn to anyone else.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I, as a general manger of Ocean Park inn apologized to this guest. We have different clerks at different time. We have 28 units and we are full almost every night. If we have infestation then we should get at least 20 complaints a day and more important we could not be in business by now. The bed bug is a big problem in U.S for last eight years and being carried by the tourists who are coming from overseas. We take it very serious if we find even one. We have a contract with a pest control company for prevention and control and elimination and it works. After this wonderful guest informed us we did inspect the room and fortunately there were not any nests found but never the less we immediately replaced the bed and carpet and fumigate the room and put the room out of commission for three nights.This problem mostly occurs in summer when we have hot weather and many many tourists and as you can see we had no complaints during the summer. Our priorities are to keep our guests safe, happy, and comfortable and we do any thing to achieve that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was very nervous after reading some of the reviews along with the low price we were paying but pleasantly surprised when we arrived! My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The room we chose had a full size bed and was in the front of the hotel by the road(a little cheaper than the back rooms). The room was clean!! The staff was great!! The noise that some reviews complained about isn't that bad. Yes, we could here some sounds of traffic but it certainly didn't keep us up at night. We walked to the beach (and everywhere else) everyday! About a 10-15 min walk to the beach, which was faster than trying to drive. Staying at a hotel any closer to the beach for 1 night is going to cost you as much as it cost us for 3 nights!! If you are looking for an affordable place to rest your head in a location near the beach, this is it!! *Couple of other tips: I also looked at the Santa Monica Motel before choosing the Ocean Park Inn-Do yourself a favor and choose the Ocean Park Inn-walked by the Motel and glad I didn't choose it!! Also, if your looking to have a couple drinks that dont cost an arm and a leg the Cock & Bull(I know the name throws you off a bit) is a nice local bar right down the road!!

Room Tip: Choosing A room in the back of the building will cut down traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanparkinn, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We appreciate your nice comments. We are in the process of changing all the windows even though our windows are all new. The new windows will control the noise 60% to 70% better .Please post your comments and ideas that will help us to make Ocean park Inn better for your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel is ok but not worth coming back to. It was not that close to Santa Monica beach as I thought i would be and the surroundings where the hotel is located is not very nice. Alot of traffic which made it hard to sleep since you had to have the windows opened because of the lack of A/C.

If you want a cheap place, relatively close to the beach it is ok. Especially if you don't mind noise from the traffic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are seven blocks from the beach and there is no hotel or a motel between us and the Ocean Avenue and the hotels on that Avenue are three times higher in price. They are luxury hotels and we do recommend if someone likes to pay that much then it is advisable to book a room there.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Located on a busy road, this is a very noisy hotel. We had trouble sleeping due to traffic noise. Room is clean but very basic. Reasonably priced. Unless on a tight budget, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
We appreciate any honest review. Our front units are close to traffic and during the day we have some noise. The back units are recommended for people who are very sensitive with noise.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is in a good location however, the bedroom is small, the bed is awful, the cleaning is really bad, there is no breakfast and the staff doesn't speak English properly. Althought I hated the hotel, I had already payed for it, so I stayed... To be worse, I had a reservation for five days but got there 2 days earlier.. I Asked if I could stay two more days and the front desk clerk said it would be ok! ( i would stay 7 days in total) but five days later, I had the room blocked because the reservation had expired in reason of a front desk clerk' mistake. The hotel had no vacancy Anymore so I had to pay for a expensive room for a new costumer that was supposed to stay in my room two days.. Even explaining the manager and even showing him the paper of my Internet reservation (booking.com) nobody gave my money back for the room.. In conclusiOn, I payed for my room and for another person... I'll never get back there!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
This dear guest had a reservation for 5 days from Booking.com and paid just for five nights. On the sixth day she left the hotel leaving all her belongings in the room and she did not even come to the office to pay for another two nights that she claimed she wanted. We were completely booked for that day and this dear guest did not even bother to call or contact the office and she came back almost 10:00 in the evening. We still did accommodate her and now she is unhappy. If the room was not clean and bed was not good why did she still wanted two more nights then. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel Santa Monica
Ocean Park Hotel
Park Inn Santa Monica
Park Inn Ocean
Address: 2452 Lincoln Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxed beach attitude and total comfort in Ocean Park Inn. We are located in the beautiful city of Santa Monica, only 7 short blocks away from the beach and minutes from Santa Monica Pier, 3rd St Promenade, Santa Monica Civic Center, Venice Beach, Malibu Beach, Fishermans Wharf, Getty Museum, UCLA, Beverly Hills, Los Angeles International Airport, Marina del Rey, Hollywood, Universal Studio, Magic Mountain, Disneyland and Knotts Berry Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.