We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica to your Saves list
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
We'll Pick You Up
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Sooke, BC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was a perfect place to stay for some romance. Very nice pool and hot tub area with a fire place to sit by. Roof bar with good finger food and drinks. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The view on the ocean, a treat. The location is very central, we walked to the Cirque Du Soleil. The reception is small but the service was big.

Room Tip: There is a roof bar, if you do not want to hear any music you may want to be at the other end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Romance is truly a great way to describe the Hotel Shangrila. There is so much history and style that gets matched with the gorgeous nature of Santa Monica. It truly cultivates a magical experience. It is also great to read that you felt our service was "big." We hope that the care and attention to detail we provide can play as big a part in a guests experience as the stunning sunsets that occur nightly.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    244
    97
    54
    42
See reviews for
121
355
36
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

There certainly isn't a better location than right on the Santa Monica beach, just north of the pier. But the deco vibe is really fun. I've stayed here several times, from a regular room to the suites with wrap-around balconies, and each time it has been a wonderful experience. While deco in vibe, the rooms are definitely modern and up to date. The restaurant is very good and the roof-top bar has quite a lively scene. I found the staff very helpful and knowledgeable. It's definitely my favorite place in the West side of LA

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
It was so nice to read your review. This building really is a gem here in Los Angeles. It is, in fact, a historical monument. It gives us the unique opportunity to preserve the historical beauty of Art Deco, while infusing the hotel with an exciting modern experience. Please come back and see us again. Sharing this place with the world is a true pleasure for us!

Best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I purchased this hotel based on the reviews I read but you just never know what you will get. For the most part, this hotel was great. I would definitely come back. First, the location is amazing. Right across the street from the beach and within walking distance from everything. Second, the hotel is very beautiful. The rooms are small, but nice. The pool area is beautiful. It was a little chilly so I didn't get to use the pool, but the jacuzzi was great. A couple of negatives that didn't take away from the overall rating of a 5, but should be described. The rooms are small. That doesn't bother me, but there is not a ton of space. Second, the water pressure is very low in the shower. Third, the parking is expensive and was unexpected. It cost $34 per night but you could go in and out whenever you wanted. The valet was also really good at customer service. He threw away used cups and pointed out a noise in the trunk. He really went the extra mile. Finally, the bed in our room had a problem. We told the front desk and they upgraded us immediately to a suite and gave us a late check out. The suite was amazing!!! Mostly, the fact that they took care of us guaranteed them an 5 stars in my book. That's the type of customer service you don't really see any more. Thanks Shangri-la!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
It is so helpful to read reviews like the one you posted. It reminds us of our top priority: Service. If ever a guest of ours has a question or concern, we will stop at nothing to help create solutions that will allow the guest to have the stay the intended on having... and more. I'm so happy to read that we were able to upgrade you during your stay. We have so much to offer at this hotel, and we are so grateful that you gave us the opportunity to engage in the type of service our hotel is built on. And thank you so much for taking the time to post this review.

Please come back and see us again. It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

All the best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a beautiful little hotel in Santa Monica - very well located and great for the Third Street Mall, the Farmers' Market and restaurants. Also close to the bridge that spans the coast road, so that you can head to the beach easily. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Two small gripes:
1. The breakfast that you can choose to include in the room rate is quite meagre - I ordered an additional cappucino, oatmeal and fruitplate, which cost me US$36. I would forgo the breakfast in the hotel and head to Third Street mall, where there are many cafes and breakfast places.
2. The valet is not cheap at US$36 overnight. But this is LA and you need to have a car, so no choice but to pony up.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, facing Ocean Boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
On behalf of all of us here at Hotel Shangrila, thank you so much for posting your review! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We're so grateful to have the location we have. It not only allows you to access the beauty of Santa Monica, but also all of the exciting attractions it has to offer.

Please come back and see us again!

Best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful boutique Art Deco hotel in charming Santa Monica providing a
personal, friendly and professional level of services that surpass one's
expectations. Their attention to detail was sublime and the staff was
thoroughly charming. I look forward to my next opportunity to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You've almost exactly stated our mission statement here in the front office department. Being a smaller, more intimate hotel, we have the opportunity to pay close attention to detail. We want to wow our guests by exceeding their expectations, and most importantly we want our guests to have a sublime stay. Please do come back, and stay with us again. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Thank you so much,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was the last stay of our 2 and half week trip in America celebrating our Honeymoon. The staff were so welcoming and friendly, and this hotel was the only hotel during our whole trip to really recognise our special occasion by upgrading our room to the RNR room and also sending up champagne and strawberries. This was such a lovely personal touch and really ended our Honeymoon on a high. We stayed for two nights and Santa Monica is just beautiful. If we ever return to America we would not hesitate to come back to this hotel. Reception, Bar, Restaurant, Pool staff all very friendly. Good choice of breakfast too and really nice. Only thing to be aware of is that parking is around $23 dollars a day which does seem expensive for people staying in the hotel but we found this was the same with a few of the hotels in America compared with the UK so perhaps this is quite a normal thing as this was our first trip there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the RNR room and yes you could hear people in the bar next door but it was not a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
First and foremost, congratulations on your recent nuptials! It's an honor for all of us here at the Hotel Shangrila to have you celebrate your honeymoon with us. It's so great to read that you enjoyed your stay. To read that we were welcoming and friendly is music to our ears. Each and every staff member is dedicated to the satisfaction of our guests.
Thank you so much for sharing your experience, and we certainly hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future. Perhaps for a one year anniversary!
Thank you so much again, and have great days.

Sincerely,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our 3 night stay at Shangri La was by far the highlight of a 2 & 1/2 week stay in 4 different hotels in the Southern California area. Staff was highly attentive & courteous. The rooms, the grounds and even the pure white hotel exterior were kept spotless & immaculately clean. Unique, tastefully done "art deco" interior was pulled off masterfully. Roof top bar, pool & Jacuzzi surpassed expectations. Located practically right across from the Pier and in the heart of A+ shopping and really great restaurants and rooms with spectacular Ocean views, in our opinion, makes Shangri La THE prime Santa Monica Hotel pick. Next trip to Santa Monica I know where we will be staying!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We at the hotel are so happy to read your review!
It gives us great satisfaction to know that guests of ours are comfortable, and excited about where they are staying. We have so much to offer here at the Shangrila, and it was a pleasure to share it all with you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Until then, safe travels and have great days.

Best,

Sonny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TIG Global, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.