We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for Sunset Drinks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
340 helpful votes 340 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Sunset Drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I met up with colleagues at the Shangri-La, after one recommended we head to the rooftop bar for drinks at sunset. What a treat! Wonderful wine and beverage selection, attentive service, good snacks, friendly people! Walked to nearby Sugarfish sushi restaurant afterward, and would not have changed a thing. Perfect evening!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello Louis59

Thank you for joining us in our rooftop lounge, Suite 700! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Matthew Moore
Dir of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    187
    76
    47
    36
See reviews for
91
281
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a nice stay, shopping around the corner, restaurants up and down the street and people watching for days. Right across the street from the parkway for an amazing evening stroll. The only negative is the noise, very busy road so it can be noisy until the city falls asleep but I think everything else outweighs the noise...just lovely

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello Cari H

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us in wonderful Santa Monica!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Sincerely,
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Overall a good hotel in a great location and we would revisit, but ... We arrived after dark by road from the south east side and there didn't appear to be any hotel signage. We missed the hotel and the car park. Signage to the car park could also be improved. $34 a day for insecure parking is a bit much.
Both of the valet drivers were friendly, fast and very efficient. Accessing reception through the front steps is impossible in a wheelchair and difficult with heavy luggage. There is a side ramp but I didn't notice any directional signage. Reception was friendly, fast and efficient. We were upgraded to the "production room" which was good. The rooms are smallish and the showers, lighting, and bathroom screens are all a little strange as reported by others on Trip Advisor. Everything was spotlessly clean but we did miss the coffee maker in the room. The roof top bar was very busy and the bar staff up there need to realise who pays their wages. They were not very friendly which is a shame because the roof top at sunset is not to be missed. The pool and hot tub looked good and there were plenty of loungers available. There is also a pool side bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you Gasimen for your review!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with the management of Suite 700, our rooftop lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in beautiful Santa Monica!

Sincerely,
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the shangri-la, but I can see where others are coming from who did not score this hotel as favorably.

The good -
1. Exceptional staff at the front desk (particularly Kimberley who made our stay amazing by instantly upgrading us as it was our honeymoon)
2. Location is right on ocean avenue and Arizona. Can't get better really!
3. The view - we were facing the ocean and loved waking up to the surf each day
4. The water pressure is AMAZING! I have very long thick blonde hair and getting conditioner out properly without good water pressure can take forever. No such dramas here!

The not-as-good -
1. Yes, the bathrooms can be a little awkward with very high edge baths. Having said that, there is a little slip proof step you can use if you need it (my hubby and I are both tall anyway, so this wasn't an issue for us)
2. Yes, the reception area is somewhat small with no driveway, and I can imagine on a busy day could get quite cramped and awkward. We didn't experience any Issues though and were checked in
straight away.

We didn't eat at the restaurant or bar, as there are so many amazing options within a minutes walk that we wanted to try, but the roof bar did seem very popular!

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello Amanda C

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and beautiful Santa Monica!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed the end of March, perfect location to the beach, shopping and restaurants.
The hotel is very clean and updated, the only issue was the smaller rooms but you get that from renovating an older hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello Birdy66

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Shangrila.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon,
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We read a number of reviews of this hotel and decided to take our chances, even though the reviews here are quite mixed. Our experience was also mixed.

This hotel is an Art Deco gem, but our oceanview deluxe room was way too small - probably around 200sq ft. and very cramped. Only about six inches or so between the end of the bed and the set of drawers. We really didn't like the glass-walled bathroom, you had to close the shower curtain for privacy and you could still see through to the toilet if you walked by - not much privacy. The shower was a real pain, the temperature kept fluctuating and the water was much too hot at times.

There was a strange and over-complicated room lighting control panel in the closet, which was very dark - really hard to see when programming it! There is really no need for that level of control in such a small space.

There was no tea/coffee making facility in the room - very unusual. We were disappointed there were no iron and ironing board or robes, for the room rate we expected all those things.

The staff were great, though those in the rooftop bar area were far less hospitable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello ednacloud

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

On your next stay, you may want to reserve one of our luxury suites. They are much larger, many with gourmet kitchens and direct ocean views!

Until then, safe travels!

Sincerely,
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Shangri-La is a great hotel, with a beautiful view of Santa Monica beach. I really wanted to give this hotel 5 stars, but there were a couple of issues:
- the rooms are noisy, not necessarily from the road but from the lift, pool, internal stairs...people who go to the rooftop bar don't give a lot of consideration to the guests trying to sleep
- the shower is awkward to get in and out of, and the water temperature fluctuates every 30 seconds
- the on-site restaurant is just OK, and a little pricey for what you get
If you stay here, get an ocean view room - it is lovely to wake up and look at the ocean. The hotel is very close to the 3rd street promenade, and the farmer's market on Wednesdays and Saturdays is very handy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello Luckyblue__7

Thank you for staying with us recently. And thank you for taking the time to write comments about your stay.

We are happy you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the ocean views. We regret the noise you experienced and appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TIG Global, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.