We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not part of the Shangri-La Chain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica to your Saves list
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not part of the Shangri-La Chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Some travellers, as we initially did, might mistake this hotel for part of the more upmarket Shangri-La chain of hotels. Given the cost, it should have been. The hotel is a little disappointing from the outside as the exterior is still old, even though internally it has been updated and modernised, and there is no easy front access for taxis, so they have to drop you off on the street and the poor concierges have to manoeuvre your luggage across the nature strip and up a side ramp.

The hotel is well situated, the pool area very nice, the rooms are comfortable although a little on the small side but the old and small lifts are inadequate for the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful but unfortunately a number of the front desk staff are not all that knowledgeable of the area and have to rely on the internet, and even then get it wrong.

On one occasion, we wanted to know what bus would take us into Hollywood and after googling were told that it would take 4 different buses. We decided this was too hard, so went for a walk instead. We saw an information booth a block away and luckily decided to ask there where we learnt that there is a single bus, one block from the hotel, that goes all the way up Santa Monica Boulevard and straight into Hollywood.

On another occasion, I asked where the nearest laundromat was and after asking around & googling, was told it was a 10-15 minute walk. Turned out it was a 45 minute walk and I am not a slow walker. Luckily I had put my washing in a small suitcase with wheels, as to carry it that far would have been impossible. These are not unusual questions to be asking and negatively impact your impression of staff who are otherwise friendly, willing and eager to help.

My daughter,who was travelling with her 14 month old baby, had a problem with her room, with someone smoking dope either in the public restrooms in the pool area or from the room next door. There is a very popular rooftop nightclub in the hotel, so there are a lot of other people wandering around the hotel besides guests.

The hotel was full and the answer was to bring large fans into the room to get rid of the smoke and smell. Luckily we were able to take the baby into our room during that time. When they were allowed back into the room around 10pm, although it was a bit better, it was still unsuitable for a baby, and the person/s had resumed smoking again. The duty manager's initial response given the hotel was full, for us to go and find another hotel and they would help us. After being told that we would not be driving around Santa Monica in the middle of the night with all our luggage and a baby, there was a bit of a panic. The saviour of the situation was Marcelle from housekeeping and Earl the concierge, who miraculously found a suite, and they were moved in there. We appreciate this is an unusual situation, but all we were offered in compensation, was to go and have a complementary drink in the bar.

There is a farmers market in Arizona St which runs alongside the hotel on Saturday morning, which is a must. Beautiful array of fresh and local produce and virtually just outside the door. The hotel is in walking distance of most of the Santa Monica attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    210
    88
    49
    36
See reviews for
101
312
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Overall, my stay at the Shangrila was average until my items went missing from my room straight after room services/housekeeping !

The hotel did not bother to credit me for my losses or give me some sort of incentive- all I got was a "sorry" ! This is unacceptable as they didn't seem like they cared at all...

For 400 dollars a night I would pay a little extra and go somewhere where you know your belongings are safe ! There is a lot of young staff here lurking around rooms !!

Rooms are VERY small (deluxe ocean view room) smallest room I've seen yet and I've been travelling throughout America ! It was very hard to move around which made it uncomfortable - beds were good !!

The showers are also pretty bad as the temperature changes every 30 seconds which sucks after a long day out ! The tub is also too high so it's hard to get in and out !!

Food is also pretty bad here - we ordered room service and bread was hard and not fresh !!

Not impressed especially after the good reviews I read on this site !! Very disappointed, especially because I knew my valuables were not safe - I did not have any peace of mind while I was out!

Only good thing about this hotel is the location!!

Peace

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello Nomad123aa

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed your stay was not a comfortable one and I would like to assist you personally.

Please feel free to contact me at the hotel.

Thank you,
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is right on Ocean Avenue and it short walk, albeit lots of stairs, to the beach. More importantly it is within walking distance of most everything you will want to do in Santa Monica.

The staff was good and all the amenities were fine. One strange thing, was that I reserved a one bedroom suite, but we received a two bedroom suite. There was no additional seating area, just two identical rooms and two full baths. I didn't complain about the set-up so they weren't given the chance to make any chances.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello TPXB

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Shangrila. We were happy to have you!

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We have several suite layouts, some with complete kitchens that I am sure you will enjoy on a future visit!

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I loved our location in Santa Monica. I know you can get closer to the Beach and closer to the Pier, but I felt like Shangri-la was the perfect location for being right in the heart of Santa Monica - best of both worlds; close to the town and close to the beach. The modern updates work perfectly and give the hotel the right kind of charm that makes you want to stay forever. Very classy rooms and a great pool and hot tub to layout and have drinks on a hot day. And the experience would not have been the same if it weren't for Sonny at the Front Desk and Manuel at Valet--The hotel's staff and service are second to none!

Room Tip: As for a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello mAndre22

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and Santa Monica. We will pass along your kind comments to Sonny and Manuel.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Matt
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights on the start of our US holiday and were not disappointed. Pre-organised the hotel driver to take us to Staples Centre for a Lakers game and were so glad we did, Friday night traffic was hectic and who knows what a taxi would have been, we then had an agreed time with the driver to return and he was on time. Hotel itself is clean and tidy, staff are friendly. Roof top bar is great for a view of the ocean. Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the road, but we had no issues with road noise. King size bed very comfortable, no issues with the bathroom as per previous reviews. Great location, short walk to the pier and very close to the 3rd Street Promenade for shopping and restaurants. Free wi-fi in the entire premises, would stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello Bolts77

Thank you for staying with us and your review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Safe travels,
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hills, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Old hotel, refurbished. They did a nice job turning it in to a new boutique hotel, and some of the remaining "old" is charming. But....if you are short, not a great place to stay. I am 5'2" and practically need a ladder to get in to the tub/shower. Sink & mirrors are also very high, but workable. I had to stay in town again recently, but chose another location primarily because of the difficulty of climbing in to take a shower!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear oa_oa_sylvia -

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Shangrila.

We regret you found our bathroom uncomfortable but are happy you enjoyed the art deco design and historic nature of our hotel.

We wish you the best and, of course, safe travels!

Sincerely,
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Booked this through the Small Luxury Hotel group, and whilst the location and general facilities are good, the reception staff are awful.

Our room rate included breakfast, but when we came to pay we had been charged for breakfast. After a conversation with a surly receptionist, part of the breakfast charge was eventually, and grudgingly refunded, stating that we were only allowed $20 each as an allowance. Not that this was mentioned by anyone or explained anywhere. As for the remainder, a curt 'no chance of refunding' was delivered, and no the manager was not available. This was one of the worst examples of 'customer service' that I have experienced in 40 years of travelling.

Have emailed the hotel to try and get a response out of the General Manager, but once again, not even the courtesy of a response.

This would have been a great stay if only a little courtesy and understanding had been applied.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Jim W -

We appreciate you choosing the Hotel Shangrila during your time in Santa Monica. I regret the billing errors and our lack of attention to the matter. Please know your business is very important to us and we will be reaching out to you personally.

Feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to assist. We do hope you give us a second opportunity to re-earn your loyalty.

Sincerely,
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TIG Global, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.