We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica to your Saves list
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night during the weekend of March 16, 2013. The hotel is in a great location. It is walking distance to the beach, many restaurants and shops. The only negative we experienced was the size of the room. It was one of the smallest I've ever stayed in. If we were to have stayed for more than one or two nights, I think the size of the room would have become a problem. The staff was wonderful. I would not mind staying here again.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay for more than one or two nights, tell them you have heard the rooms tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Reg D

We appreciate your business! Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Shangrila.

The next time you are in Santa Monica please consider booking one of our spacious suites..especially if you are planning to stay for several nights!

Safe travels to you ...see you soon,
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Not worth $800 for two nights. Great location and view, but we expected a bigger feeling property. Room was cramped and felt old. Staff was professional and friendly. Head of security has a good sense of humor!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello allr1 -

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Shangrila! We appreciate your business.

I regret that you found your room 'cramped'. We have many large suites and, at times, offer great packages with discounts. Please visit our website for these offerings.

Safe travels to you and we hope to see you again soon.
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. The location of the hotel is great it looks out on to the ocean and is a short walk to the main shopping area & some nice restaurants. The facilities downstairs, pool, hot tub etc are beautiful and relaxing. Our room was very small & poky for two people with suitcases, the cleaning staff made quite a lot of noise cleaning the room next to ours one morning, the doors on the rooms are quite heavy and it seemed like every time a cleaner went into/out of the room the door just slammed shut (this happened quite a lot)! There is a beautiful roof top bar which we were informed stayed open until midnight however we found that it would be closed whenever staff decided, we came back to the hotel for a late drink one night and the bar was closed at 11:20pm...we were told that the bar has to close when the bar downstairs closes! As residents of the hotel I found this very disappointing. This is a great hotel and the art deco style is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment (2 Adults, 2 children). The newly refurbished rooms were modern and clean. At night we went up on the rooftop to watch the sunset while enjoying a few cocktails... Dinner and breakfast were great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money. The only drawback was done street noise from the traffic (I didn't hear it but my husband did). In the morning we strolled outside and bought some yummy things at the farmers market... We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to Santa Monica :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Nads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel at the start of March 2013.
We got a street view room on the bottom floor- this wasn't much of an issue as we did not spend much time in the hotel.
The bed was awesome and the bathroom was amazing!
Very friendly staff- would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent location, huge rooms, clean, well presented and friendly staff. A very easy stroll to the beach, morning markets, shopping and the restaurants. I was very impressed with the large rooms. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just loved this hotel. Just across the street from the beach and ocean - what could be better? Excellent staff especially Martin in the foyer and Casey, the Restaurant Manager. They were so helpful and full of great tips and advice. Our room was fab - two queen size beds and an amazing bathroom. Shame no tea/coffee making facilities but we managed! There is a really super roof top bar overlooking Santa Monica bay. We had breakfast there twice and I had the most sublime American breakfast of toasted Brioche, with Fontina cheese, fried egg and topped with truffle oil and freshly chopped chives. All served with a smile. The pool area is also fabulous. Shame we didn't have the weather! THE place to stay!

Room Tip: Don't have a back room - it will overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyalLady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,264 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#19 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TIG Global, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing