We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“I liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night during the weekend of March 16, 2013. The hotel is in a great location. It is walking distance to the beach, many restaurants and shops. The only negative we experienced was the size of the room. It was one of the smallest I've ever stayed in. If we were to have stayed for more than one or two nights, I think the size of the room would have become a problem. The staff was wonderful. I would not mind staying here again.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay for more than one or two nights, tell them you have heard the rooms tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Reg D

We appreciate your business! Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Shangrila.

The next time you are in Santa Monica please consider booking one of our spacious suites..especially if you are planning to stay for several nights!

Safe travels to you ...see you soon,
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    175
    75
    42
    35
See reviews for
86
261
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Not worth $800 for two nights. Great location and view, but we expected a bigger feeling property. Room was cramped and felt old. Staff was professional and friendly. Head of security has a good sense of humor!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello allr1 -

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Shangrila! We appreciate your business.

I regret that you found your room 'cramped'. We have many large suites and, at times, offer great packages with discounts. Please visit our website for these offerings.

Safe travels to you and we hope to see you again soon.
Matthew
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. The location of the hotel is great it looks out on to the ocean and is a short walk to the main shopping area & some nice restaurants. The facilities downstairs, pool, hot tub etc are beautiful and relaxing. Our room was very small & poky for two people with suitcases, the cleaning staff made quite a lot of noise cleaning the room next to ours one morning, the doors on the rooms are quite heavy and it seemed like every time a cleaner went into/out of the room the door just slammed shut (this happened quite a lot)! There is a beautiful roof top bar which we were informed stayed open until midnight however we found that it would be closed whenever staff decided, we came back to the hotel for a late drink one night and the bar was closed at 11:20pm...we were told that the bar has to close when the bar downstairs closes! As residents of the hotel I found this very disappointing. This is a great hotel and the art deco style is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment (2 Adults, 2 children). The newly refurbished rooms were modern and clean. At night we went up on the rooftop to watch the sunset while enjoying a few cocktails... Dinner and breakfast were great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money. The only drawback was done street noise from the traffic (I didn't hear it but my husband did). In the morning we strolled outside and bought some yummy things at the farmers market... We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to Santa Monica :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel at the start of March 2013.
We got a street view room on the bottom floor- this wasn't much of an issue as we did not spend much time in the hotel.
The bed was awesome and the bathroom was amazing!
Very friendly staff- would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent location, huge rooms, clean, well presented and friendly staff. A very easy stroll to the beach, morning markets, shopping and the restaurants. I was very impressed with the large rooms. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just loved this hotel. Just across the street from the beach and ocean - what could be better? Excellent staff especially Martin in the foyer and Casey, the Restaurant Manager. They were so helpful and full of great tips and advice. Our room was fab - two queen size beds and an amazing bathroom. Shame no tea/coffee making facilities but we managed! There is a really super roof top bar overlooking Santa Monica bay. We had breakfast there twice and I had the most sublime American breakfast of toasted Brioche, with Fontina cheese, fried egg and topped with truffle oil and freshly chopped chives. All served with a smile. The pool area is also fabulous. Shame we didn't have the weather! THE place to stay!

Room Tip: Don't have a back room - it will overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica
Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.