We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chic getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Beach to your Saves list
Shutters on the Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
los angeles
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“chic getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

I live in LA and have had the occasion to stay at Shutters for meetings, events or when work is being done on my house. I enjoy the hotel. The rooms are definitely on the small side but very nicely appointed with chic whimsical touches -bothe very cool and homey - i.e. Cosabella thongs available for purchase in the bathroom and books in the room. The pool here is very tight. When the hotel is busy I find it a bit claustrophobic and go for walks on the beach to enjoy the coastline instead of hanging out at the pool. The spa is good but in a basementy sort of location and also very small. The hotel is well- located for shopping and outside dining. It is nice to have Casa Del Mar next door which has a great lobby scene. Shutters is hit or miss but sometimes has a great lobby scene as well...it's definitely quieter than CDM these days. There is an adorable gift shop with well selected merchandise. The only thing I would advise people is that this is really an urban hotel on the beach. It does not have a true resorty
feel. That said, it's a fun place to go for a weekend.

  • Liked — cute rooms with interesting touches
  • Disliked — tight space around the pool
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    233
    101
    58
    46
See reviews for
205
318
57
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

Probably one of the most romantic weekends I have experienced and it wasn’t necessarily my date. .. Inviting pillow-top beds with Frette linens and Pacific Coast pillows, large bathtubs with shuttered window looking into the bedroom and view. Shower shares one wall with the commode room. Uh, don't drop the soap. Rooms feel very Cape Cod with whitewashed built-in cabinets, wood floors and area rugs. Shutters equips rooms with books, sexy CD’s and DVD’s. The Main Lobby feels like an inviting and comfortable great room. Although we arrived after check-in, our room was not available. No worries, we had a sunset drink on the deck overlooking the beachwalk under heated lamps. Our room was so comfortable we left only for long morning beach walks, explored the 3rd Street Promenade and Sunday Brunch poolside with the NYT’s. We ordered room service both evenings and were quite pleased, choosing to order several appetizers and entrees to share. We ventured downstairs late each evening for a pot of chamomile tea by the fireplace. Our last night the tea was complimentary. Room service was very good, brunch so-so, service inconsistent depending on the area although maid service was superb. Our room overlooked the pool area with a partial (very partial) view; noise from pool area is pretty constant but superior to the parking lot. Although the following month our room at the Fairmont had a spectacular view and was less expensive, we preferred the coziness of Shutters at the Beach. Shortfalls, charge for high speed internet, problem with an entree at brunch was not removed from the bill, expensive. March was beautiful, warm days, no fog, cool nights. Rates fluctuate, be persistent.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — lack of privacy in bathroom, front desk staff enjoys their power position
  • Tips/Secrets — at these prices don't settle for an unacceptable room.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewisburg, pa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

This hotel has beautiful rooms, especially the ocean view. The staff was friendly and helpful. Ritas, the bellman, was exceptional. The ocean view rooms at $710/night were fabulous, but like I said in the intro.....a bit pricey. The 14% tax is real [--] kicker, 2 rooms, 2 nights, $2840 plus the insult of $400 in added tax. A shame because the hotel was great, but not THAT great.

I'd stay in this hotel again for half the price, which would likely be a non-oceanview room.

  • Liked — the rooms and location
  • Disliked — the price and the 14% tax
  • Tips/Secrets — rent a bicycle, ride to Venice Beach, have lunch at sidewalk cafe and watch
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

Shutters on the Beach is the sister hotel of Casa del Mar and is located next door. If you had to choose between the two I would select Shutters - as Casa was truly dreadful.

Would I return to Shutters - well no.

On check-in we had to wait 3 hours for the room and we arrived at around 2pm in the afternoon (our booking guaranteed 12 noon check-in). The reception staff didn't offer any drinks in compensation but we advised them that we would wait in the lounge area and order drinks at their expense - until the room was ready. They did not try and charge us for these drinks.

All the public areas of this hotel feel uncomfortable. The restaurants feel like cafeterias and the reception area and lounge are poorly designed.

The room, on the other hand, was quite well designed and comfortable. We had a partial ocean view room overlooking a car park. You certainly didn't want to use the balcony area. We were also quite close to the pool which was used continuously as a wedding function area. I found this to be quite amusing - watching the passing parade of bridal parties line up in the corridor outside our room waiting for their turn in the wedding "chapel" by the pool.

For those guests wanting a quiet relax by the pool - forget it!

They also charged for internet use.

To summarize the place is crowded, overpriced (USD$600) and not at all classy or secluded. This is not the place for a romantic get-away unless you never leave your room.

  • Liked — the room was well designed and comfortable
  • Disliked — restaurants and other public areas
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go during peak season or the weekend
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2006

My family and I stayed at Shutters for a long weekend in July. It is a beautiful little hotel, which is actually two interconnecting buildings. One is right on the beach, the other connects via the 3rd floor (really the pool area) over a public street one block off the beach.

We immediately regretted booking a non-ocean view room. I think if I had to do it over I would book a partial ocean view room. Some of the ocean view rooms are right above the pedestrian/beach area (seemed like it could be noisy at night) and we always like a quiet location. The partials (I think) are overlooking the pool.

Anyway, the rooms are just so pretty. The beds are fantastic--wonderful fresh linens, thoughtful touches such as extra videos, books and toys, etc. Immaculate. Nice electronics, jacuzzi, anything you can imagine that would help your family have a nice beachy vacation.

However, the location of room was not the greatest. We were on the second floor, in the back corner, and we had no view except a small street and the apartments across the way. We were pretty much at ground level with some sort of parking or ventilation equipment outside under our window. There was a big wedding that weekend, and I wondered if we got a poor room since they were taking up most of the hotel. I think the higher the floor, the better.

We all loved the pool (though the area is crowded with chairs and not large), the restaurant was good but nothing to get really excited over, and the staff are helpful and nice. Ask for some ferris wheel tickets to the Pier--the front desk gave us a some to ride for free, though we never did get the chance. The beach access area is nice too.

Anyway, I'd go back in a heartbeat--but I'd be clear about my room location--up high, overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

I was desperate for quiet and seclusion. Shutters Hotel advertisements give the appearance of an exclusive sanctuary...Far From It!....Our rooms were tastefully appointed, however our view was that of a very busy and noisy public beach parking lot. Lots of cars and SUVs frantically circling for a spot on a busy weekend complete with booming car stereos, car alarms, and intermittant horn honking..Rather unsavory types loitered nearby: visible homeless population and immigrant types. Also, the noise level is unbelievable with an endless diesel truck derby with much spewing of exhaust not far from our balcony/windows...When I called to Front Desk, I was informed that the vehicles were for "vendor deliveries" The city is literally at the beach too. So much for my escape.
There are several hotels in the area that are not as close to the beach, but are above the din...

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

Almost every experience we had was sub-par, except the restaurant. When we arrived at 4:30 p.m., our room was not available. We had to wait another hour before it was ready, and no courtesy was extended while we waited. The car we arraned through the hotel to pick us up at the airport was significantly more expensive than the hotel tolds us it would be. Our room, while ample sized, was right above the boardwalk, noisy from passers-by, and we could hear the hotel's mechanical equipment all night. When we complained in the middle of the night about about the noise, we didn't even get an apology or any consideration later for the inconvenience. The pool area was crowded and most people were shoed away from it at 4 p.m. when the hotel needed to clear out space for an event. This is not the kind of experience one expects when paying $500/night. Our handwritten letter to the manager also went unanswered. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.