We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shutters in Santa Monica, Ca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Beach to your Saves list
Shutters on the Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Ann Arbor,mi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shutters in Santa Monica, Ca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at Shutters in Santa Monica, Ca. and we had an outstanding visit. The wait staff was excellent and the rooms were neat and clean. The location is outstanding!!! They have bikes on site that you can use during the stay to ride to Venice or on the beach which was really fun. The spa was nice and the workout facility was up to date. I definitely will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    219
    90
    54
    43
See reviews for
177
298
53
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at Shutters for 4 nights in August. The hotel was beautiful, the room was very comfortable and well appointed; it truly felt luxurious. Housekeeping was excellent. What keeps me giving the hotel 5 stars is the service at its restaurants and bar. Each server we had (and we ate most of our meals at the hotel during our stay) was absent minded and didn't seem interested in attending to us. Despite the bad attitudes, the quality of the food, wine and cocktails was excellent. I had a facial and massage at the spa and each were just average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Shutters looks like an elegant, shingle-style, luxury beach house, it reminds me a lot of the Hamptons or Cape Code, with a hint of Key West: beautiful. Interior decor is sophisticated, it reminds me of some Ralph Lauren Home collection, in all the shades of blue + white. The bed was extremely comfortable, with beautiful bedding. Very nice location, right on the beach, walking distance from the Third Street Promenade and the Pier. Santa Monica has changed a bit, though, and traffic on Ocean Ave for instance is now worse than in Milan. Their partner hotel, Casa del Mar, share the same good location, IF you want to stay in Santa Monica. Staff at the Shutters was extremely nice and helpful at check-in and whenever I asked for something, even if it was a busy week-end and there was a wedding going on by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We met some friends at Shutters for some evening drinks.

Very nice location and very good decor.

Staff are very friendly.

We only had drinks and some appetizers.

Food was good but pricey.

Great place to have a few drinks and people watch :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Shutters is perfectly located on the Santa Monica beach. Just a few blocks to the pier and a few blocks from restaurants and shopping. Hotel itself is great. Laid back beach chic. Coast restaurant was good but pricey. Love the little touches in the room- books, yoyos, old Santa Monica photos. Cool bathroom with shutters opening into the room. Nice balcony overlooking the pool. Only stayed one night but would come back again when in town. Sister property next door is nice as well nut a little more "buttoned up."

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Just visited Shutters for the first time. It really is in the perfect location. You can't stop looking out the window at this perfect beach, and it is easy to walk down to Venice and around some cute shopping in Santa Monica. We ate breakfast and one dinner at Coast, one of the restaurants there, and the service was great (and we had one celebrity sighting).I'd go there all the time if I lived here. The beds were so comfortable and the room was really lovely. I would say that one disappointment was the bathroom. It was "run down" for a hotel of this quality. The shower was a cheap metal framed small thing, and the tile and grout were not in very good condition. That was the only disappointment as far as the luxury level. I'll still go back if I have the chance. It was really lovely.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel has got the lot. Great position, luscious rooms, superb staff and excellent food. The attractions of Santa Monica & the fun of Little Venice are on your doorstep and it's a great base for visiting LA and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.