We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel & Location, Inconsistent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Beach to your Saves list
Shutters on the Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel & Location, Inconsistent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Shutters is aesthetically everything you want in a beach hotel - beautiful beach views, music at sunset, beach access, charming rooms, comfortable beds and generally well appointed high-end cottage decor. However the service was a little spotty for a hotel of it's caliber, it's like each department/ individual was guided by their own service playbook. If you frequent 5 star hotels there are some basics of customer service that you come to expect but oftentimes Shutter's missed the mark. Special requests were sometimes met with attitude, trouble checking in, our hotel room was not serviced until 5:00 pm, waiter at hotel restaurant reminded us to include gratuity (as if!). These service mishaps were woven between some very good service - friendly faces, opened doors, understanding management, etc. However the inconsistent service made the experience a little less than perfect. My perception was that those who knew better (or cared) did better, and everyone else was just winging it (or didn't care). Either no consistent service protocol or no accountability. All in all, the good slightly outweighed the bad so I will definitely try it again when back in LA.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor as you can hear people on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    216
    89
    54
    42
See reviews for
175
292
53
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

shutters is in an absolutely fantastic location....and the hotel is nice. they upgraded us to a small suite b/c the room we stayed in was much smaller than conveyed to us...that was very nice of them...the food is very very expensive (it is good however, not great but very solid)...santa monica is great.....the people staying there had a bit of attitude...and the hotel is very expensive...but it was an enjoyable experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I completely agree with the other poor reviews on TA regarding this property.
While the hotel itself is gorgeous and in a terrific location, the staff are among the worst I have experienced anywhere. There is zero warmth in their demeanor and the hotel seemed to be understaffed in both the lobby bar area and restaurants that I visited.
This was the first LHW Hotel that I visited that my Leaders Club status was not recognized. I got the feeling all in all, that this hotel is simply being "bled" by it's owners and their is little passion for hospitality that I have experienced at other LHW properties.
The swimming pool is old, tired and dirty. There were no towels available and the switch on the Jacuzzi was broken.
Previously stayed at the Loews down the street. While the facility is not as elegant as Shiutters, their service is much, much better and their pool area is clean, well stocked with towels and overlooks the ocean. They also have a fire pit near the pool where they host a sundown ceremony each evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear JamesN601BN,

I want to sincerely apologize for the service you received while staying with us. Your comments are extremely valuable to us and we have taken special note on the issues you experienced at the bar and pool. I am truly sorry that your stay fell short of your expectations as a Leaders Club member. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments as they will greatly assist us in correcting our services in these areas.

Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was in the city for business and decided to extend my stay a couple days to enjoy the beach.

My negatives
If you go to the beach, you have to lay on a towel, no chairs
The service for evening drinks is horrible. It's so slow and they seem to know some locals which are highly favored.
There's only 5 tables on an outside porch looking at the beach
Turn down service came at 10pm
There's a general feel here that this is a locals place, hotel guests are treated differently
I was hoping there would be places you could walk to in the neighborhood, but everything was driving
The valet situation was very difficult

Positives
All the food was really amazing
It's nice to have the boardwalk right there
Rooms were nice

I went to have dinner and drinks at the Lowes and it had great areas for watching sunset, a great pool, amazing service and food. I think I would go here next time

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello JetSetJeny,

We appreciate you taking time to share your comments on our drink service and valet with us. Our apologies for the experience you had in our bar. We are truly sorry that your stay fell short of your expectations and our usual high standards. Your comments will assist us greatly in correcting our services.

Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We came here after spending 3 days at a conference in Anaheim.. It was a welcome relief. When we checked in it was quite loud in the lobby with a group of people standing around. Checkin was smooth. The room was really comfortable with a large bath. The view was of the street outsidethough (pretty bad)
The pool area was totally empty when we walked through (about 5 pm). There were a few empty glasses and a couple of dirty towels by the hot tub. I did not see anyone working the pool area at all. The pool itself was clean and pretty.
We walked down to Santa Monica Pier, which was very close.
Room service was fast and so much better than I expected. Anymore I think it is unusual to get a really good meal that is still hot, with really good food. But, this was it.
All the people that worked here were very friendly and knowledgeable.
The location is nice, too. I wish that I had more time to spend there

Room Tip: try not to get the view of the street that we did (see picture)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First off, thed BED, it's absolutely amazing, plush and lux, the best sleep ever. The room is very homey and comfortable, deep spa bathtub is amazing (not sure about the disco lights in it, just don't turn on the lights). The hotel staff is friendly except for a couple of old men (security?) at the entrance. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The free coffee bar in the morning is great to take a to-go cup and a walk on the beach in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everything you could wish for in a hotel. The front desk service is friendly, professional and, after an 11 hour hour flight, completely pain-free. My ocean view room was understated but extremely classy and elegant. The bed was fantastically comfortable and I had the best nights sleep ever. Great service and an incomparable view. Food, whether room service or in One Pico is modern, healthy and absolutely delicious. Not cheap, but you get everything you pay for and more. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LHW, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.