We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Shutters on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shutters on the Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We love coming back here every year. Location is beautiful....right on the beach. A bit pricey. Upgraded to a spa room this year which was a roomier than the basic room we usually get. This year decided to get a hotel bike and take advantage of the great bike path along the beach. $10 for the hour, and what a great bike ride! Also walked over to 3rd Street Promenade, a big shopping area. Very nice lobby area to sit and have a drink.

Room Tip: Spa room was worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    183
    71
    46
    37
See reviews for
148
248
46
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked great beach view room with 2 queen beds. Excellent service and location. Coast is a very good restaurant. We had excellent serive at beach with bikes, chairs, towels and body boards. Overall value for money probably at lower end but great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Shutters is popular and the beach club decor has charm but our stay was ruined by the worst customer service experience I have encountered in any hotel. We booked a partial ocean view room through LHW, and were given room 731. Minor gripes with the older fixtures, low water pressure but nothing terrible. We asked whether the hotel might be able to move us to a room closer to the beach with a better ocean view and eventually they were nice enough to offer us something for our second day. The morning shift receptionist told us they will likely help us move in the morning and in any case before 1pm. We left at 7am (jet lag), returned at 230pm, the room wasn't ready, then things got surreal...

Rebecca the receptionist had no idea when the room will be ready, no educated guess, no apology. Go back to your room. Will call you when it's ready. Polite, but with attitude. Not very friendly. The room was as we left it 7.5 hours earlier, the bed unmade, the towels in the bathtub. Called down, 40mins they said. 1.5 hours later they still didn't finish the room. Housekeeping had a slow motion day I guess. We complained again, then they moved us to room 312 facing the parking lot.

Mia the assistant manager got on the phone. I explained the situation. Instead of a sympathetic ear, I got a point by point rebuttal. Mia is an accomplished debater. She doubted I was promised a 1pm move. Yup that's a partial ocean view past all the cars. Would they do anything for us? Not sure, no guarantees. They didn't do anything wrong. Move if you like. We're pretty full.

So we checked out, two days early. The room at Peninsula Beverly Hills was not ready either, will be about 10 mins, so they bought us drinks at the bar. Courteous and professional. Night and day.

Anyway stay away from Shutters. Mia says they don't need our business.

P.S. Ryan the valet was really helpful and nice through the room move turned check out.



Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Qwerty65787,

Thank you for taking time to share your response with us, it us reviews like yours that assist in providing a better service for our guest. To ensure a better stay for our future guest, I’ve looked into the problems you experienced with your room, front desk and housekeeping. I regret that your stay with us was unpleasant and I’d like to apologize for the mishaps you encountered.

Sincerely,

Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A great weekend escape for those looking to decompress. From the moment you drive up to the front door, you know this place is going to be special. The front desk manager (hails from Baltimore) was incredible. Not only did he go out of his way to familiarize me with the property, but took a genuine interest in my comfort throughout my stay. The room is perfect and probably the most comfortable bed I've slept in for quite a while. Great location although it's worth noting the property is somewhat a compound surrounded by a neighborhood that, at times, can be a bit too colorful. This place is a splurge and has been on my list for quite a while.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel lying on the beach in deliciuos "Hamptons style". Small room and balcony but that doesent matter because everything was so nice. Wooden tree on the floor, books and "private" stuff in the bookshelf gave you the feeling of beeing home. Nice pool area with full service. Deliciuos restaurant and food and friendly staff did our stay perfect. We will certainly be back if we are in the neigborhoud. Expensive but valuid for money.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with seawiew at the sunside. Lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I were booked 2 nights in this hotel by our company who flew us out for interviews. This is a truly beautiful hotel. We loved the room and the elegant but understated decor. Sitting out on the deck is fantastic and in the cold months the staff keeps a cozy fire going indoors. We thought the staff were polite and helpful. I think the best thing about this hotel is the mood. It feels like you are escaping to a charming beach house for a weekend getaway. We live in Venice now but we have returned to Shutters a few times to enjoys a glass of wine on the porch. We love this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

1. Jog along the beach and imagine living on some of those condos. Use the mile markers along the way so you can accurately brag about how far you went.
2. Restore those calories you just burned with the 'Bull’s-Eye Skillet' at Coast.
3. Cool off from your morning jog with a quick dip in the pool.
4. Open the shutters in your room, draw a bubble bath, and take a selfie to post on Facebook.
5. Don't lie on the bed until you have to, as it induces instant sleepiness.
6. Head to the lobby to eavesdrop on ad execs while waiting for the rest of your group.
7. Watch the valet pros masterfully juggle the cars on the small circular driveway.
8. Be sure to stop at Jamba Juice before you get on the highway.
9. Upon your return, go next door to Casa Del Mar for drinks among the ad folks.
10. Then, haughtily head back to your quiet room and be glad you’re staying at Shutters.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters On The Beach Hotel
Shutters Santa Monica
Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shutters on the Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.