We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any Closer to the Beach You'd Be in the Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Beach to your Saves list
Shutters on the Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
J'adore SaMo
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Any Closer to the Beach You'd Be in the Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A great weekend escape for those looking to decompress. From the moment you drive up to the front door, you know this place is going to be special. The front desk manager (hails from Baltimore) was incredible. Not only did he go out of his way to familiarize me with the property, but took a genuine interest in my comfort throughout my stay. The room is perfect and probably the most comfortable bed I've slept in for quite a while. Great location although it's worth noting the property is somewhat a compound surrounded by a neighborhood that, at times, can be a bit too colorful. This place is a splurge and has been on my list for quite a while.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    250
    117
    70
    60
See reviews for
246
355
59
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel lying on the beach in deliciuos "Hamptons style". Small room and balcony but that doesent matter because everything was so nice. Wooden tree on the floor, books and "private" stuff in the bookshelf gave you the feeling of beeing home. Nice pool area with full service. Deliciuos restaurant and food and friendly staff did our stay perfect. We will certainly be back if we are in the neigborhoud. Expensive but valuid for money.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with seawiew at the sunside. Lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I were booked 2 nights in this hotel by our company who flew us out for interviews. This is a truly beautiful hotel. We loved the room and the elegant but understated decor. Sitting out on the deck is fantastic and in the cold months the staff keeps a cozy fire going indoors. We thought the staff were polite and helpful. I think the best thing about this hotel is the mood. It feels like you are escaping to a charming beach house for a weekend getaway. We live in Venice now but we have returned to Shutters a few times to enjoys a glass of wine on the porch. We love this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

1. Jog along the beach and imagine living on some of those condos. Use the mile markers along the way so you can accurately brag about how far you went.
2. Restore those calories you just burned with the 'Bull’s-Eye Skillet' at Coast.
3. Cool off from your morning jog with a quick dip in the pool.
4. Open the shutters in your room, draw a bubble bath, and take a selfie to post on Facebook.
5. Don't lie on the bed until you have to, as it induces instant sleepiness.
6. Head to the lobby to eavesdrop on ad execs while waiting for the rest of your group.
7. Watch the valet pros masterfully juggle the cars on the small circular driveway.
8. Be sure to stop at Jamba Juice before you get on the highway.
9. Upon your return, go next door to Casa Del Mar for drinks among the ad folks.
10. Then, haughtily head back to your quiet room and be glad you’re staying at Shutters.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have stayed at Shutters every tie I've been to Santa Monica
Yes it;s not the cheapest - however, the quality of the setting, the staff and the dining is Simply The Best
A must !
You are literally on the beach, however, at a higher level, which, with the pol area in front of the rooms, sets you back perfectly

Room Tip: Go for a Partial Ocean View !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I live in Santa Monica and one of my favorite hang outs on a beautiful day is Shutters Balcony. I love to sit there and have a glass of wine and Lunch. The wine selection is excellent and the hamburger is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We LOVE The Shutters, and have stayed in the past, but this time was just ok, but with what we think were bed bugs to boot.

We'd requested an early check in (on a Wednesday) but they were unable to accommodate that. No problem. We figured we'd grab lunch on the patio overlooking the beach. We were having a 2pm late lunch, complete with wine, etc, and gave the service about a 2 out of 10 score. The waiter was basically nonexistent, for ordering, filling water, reordering wine, and then to drop our check.

Our room was I think one of the best in the property. Pano ocean view, 6th floor, really nice. It did show some serious wear (chipping wood floors, etc) but I kind of understand that might contribute to the beach chic vibe. If I were paying full price (which I was not because we had a certificate which gave us a discounted rate), then I'd have been more discriminating.

Room service for breakfast was great! Service at the pool later that day for lunch was not great. It was an overcast day. Maybe 4 groups at the pool. We counted at least 3 people on staff for pool service, and yet we couldn't get anyone to help us order lunch, wine, iced tea...nothing. If the waiters had made rounds to the 4 groups there about every 20 minutes they'd have probably sold us another bottle of wine, had other people ordering food and drinks, but they seemed happier hanging out in their little cabana kitchen area.

Oh...and later that day both my husband and I started showing small bite marks all over our bodies. There were no mosquitos in the pool area, and we didn't go down to the sand, so all I can guess is bed bugs (which when I searched online was pretty sure that's what we had).

I called the manager the next day, was very nice in my explanation, and she said she'd call me back after checking our room out, but that she thought that it could be fleas instead of bed bugs. Not sure that's "better", but if that's what they want to tell themselves. Never received a call back from her by the way.

Overall not impressed with this stay. We have loved it in the past, so I hope that we can love it again in the future, but I think they need to overhaul their service and room condition and cleanliness if they want to remain one of Santa Monica's top hotels. I hope they do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Lori D,

We appreciate that you decided to stay with us again and that you took the time to write such a detailed comment. I have looked over your comment and want to apologize for your recent stay. I have taken note on the waiter service, your issues with the bed and the pool staff. I’ll personally take it upon myself to look into all of these shortcomings and use them to make a better experience for all of our guest.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#10 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#19 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.