We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hampton style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Shutters on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Hampton style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel lying on the beach in deliciuos "Hamptons style". Small room and balcony but that doesent matter because everything was so nice. Wooden tree on the floor, books and "private" stuff in the bookshelf gave you the feeling of beeing home. Nice pool area with full service. Deliciuos restaurant and food and friendly staff did our stay perfect. We will certainly be back if we are in the neigborhoud. Expensive but valuid for money.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with seawiew at the sunside. Lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    198
    83
    51
    39
See reviews for
165
270
52
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I were booked 2 nights in this hotel by our company who flew us out for interviews. This is a truly beautiful hotel. We loved the room and the elegant but understated decor. Sitting out on the deck is fantastic and in the cold months the staff keeps a cozy fire going indoors. We thought the staff were polite and helpful. I think the best thing about this hotel is the mood. It feels like you are escaping to a charming beach house for a weekend getaway. We live in Venice now but we have returned to Shutters a few times to enjoys a glass of wine on the porch. We love this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

1. Jog along the beach and imagine living on some of those condos. Use the mile markers along the way so you can accurately brag about how far you went.
2. Restore those calories you just burned with the 'Bull’s-Eye Skillet' at Coast.
3. Cool off from your morning jog with a quick dip in the pool.
4. Open the shutters in your room, draw a bubble bath, and take a selfie to post on Facebook.
5. Don't lie on the bed until you have to, as it induces instant sleepiness.
6. Head to the lobby to eavesdrop on ad execs while waiting for the rest of your group.
7. Watch the valet pros masterfully juggle the cars on the small circular driveway.
8. Be sure to stop at Jamba Juice before you get on the highway.
9. Upon your return, go next door to Casa Del Mar for drinks among the ad folks.
10. Then, haughtily head back to your quiet room and be glad you’re staying at Shutters.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have stayed at Shutters every tie I've been to Santa Monica
Yes it;s not the cheapest - however, the quality of the setting, the staff and the dining is Simply The Best
A must !
You are literally on the beach, however, at a higher level, which, with the pol area in front of the rooms, sets you back perfectly

Room Tip: Go for a Partial Ocean View !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I live in Santa Monica and one of my favorite hang outs on a beautiful day is Shutters Balcony. I love to sit there and have a glass of wine and Lunch. The wine selection is excellent and the hamburger is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We LOVE The Shutters, and have stayed in the past, but this time was just ok, but with what we think were bed bugs to boot.

We'd requested an early check in (on a Wednesday) but they were unable to accommodate that. No problem. We figured we'd grab lunch on the patio overlooking the beach. We were having a 2pm late lunch, complete with wine, etc, and gave the service about a 2 out of 10 score. The waiter was basically nonexistent, for ordering, filling water, reordering wine, and then to drop our check.

Our room was I think one of the best in the property. Pano ocean view, 6th floor, really nice. It did show some serious wear (chipping wood floors, etc) but I kind of understand that might contribute to the beach chic vibe. If I were paying full price (which I was not because we had a certificate which gave us a discounted rate), then I'd have been more discriminating.

Room service for breakfast was great! Service at the pool later that day for lunch was not great. It was an overcast day. Maybe 4 groups at the pool. We counted at least 3 people on staff for pool service, and yet we couldn't get anyone to help us order lunch, wine, iced tea...nothing. If the waiters had made rounds to the 4 groups there about every 20 minutes they'd have probably sold us another bottle of wine, had other people ordering food and drinks, but they seemed happier hanging out in their little cabana kitchen area.

Oh...and later that day both my husband and I started showing small bite marks all over our bodies. There were no mosquitos in the pool area, and we didn't go down to the sand, so all I can guess is bed bugs (which when I searched online was pretty sure that's what we had).

I called the manager the next day, was very nice in my explanation, and she said she'd call me back after checking our room out, but that she thought that it could be fleas instead of bed bugs. Not sure that's "better", but if that's what they want to tell themselves. Never received a call back from her by the way.

Overall not impressed with this stay. We have loved it in the past, so I hope that we can love it again in the future, but I think they need to overhaul their service and room condition and cleanliness if they want to remain one of Santa Monica's top hotels. I hope they do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryDay, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Lori D,

We appreciate that you decided to stay with us again and that you took the time to write such a detailed comment. I have looked over your comment and want to apologize for your recent stay. I have taken note on the waiter service, your issues with the bed and the pool staff. I’ll personally take it upon myself to look into all of these shortcomings and use them to make a better experience for all of our guest.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family did not have a good stay at Shutters on the Beach. We noticed that other guests checking in after us had a staff member escort them to their room and explain the amenities. We had no such experience. We were checked in and then ignored. Simple things were extremely difficult - even for ice you had to call room service.

Shutters was farther away from the 3rd Street Promenade and restaurants compared to many other hotels. My travel agent recommended this property and if we had done more research on our own we may have discovered a more family friendly establishment. This certainly was not it.

My family was made to feel like 2nd class citizens. This is sad in general but more so in such a pricey establishment. It definitely was not worth the price.

Room Tip: Not for kids. This place is NOT for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.