We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shutters on the Beach to your Saves list
Shutters on the Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Classic spot in and on the most costly land in LA. Decent to great rooms, depending upon where they are. Exorbitantly high prices, but if anyone expects anything other than that stay away.Stylish, need-to-be-seen people, all the amenities. Don't expect to fall in love with it but enjoy the seaside allure of Santa Monica beach. The best thing about it is the breakfast and lunch spot outside on the veranda in the white lattice shade. Great food, great waiters, sunny, makes a very nice event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    216
    90
    54
    42
See reviews for
175
293
53
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Shutters is on as prime a piece of real estate as you could imagine and I guess that's why they can justify the exorbitantly high price tag but at these rates I expected more. Our room, billed as partial sea view had a more than partial view of the parking lot. The toilet cubicle had a pervasive bad smell which I thought was the bath mat but turned out to apparently be the wallpaper. In addition there was a very bad odour (sort of like backed up sewage) outside the elevators and outside our door. I mentioned it to someone in housekeeping who said they would investigate but never did get to the bottom of it. There were two shampoos and no shower gel - things I wouldn't normally care about but at these prices............

We had lunch and breakfast in the hotel in the patio room at Coast. Breakfast service was very slow and again there was the constant gasp of shock at the prices ($5.50 for a portion of banana).

Finally in our last few hours when our business was done and we wanted to lounge by the pool there were no seats.

There were positives. Service was generally enthusiastic and the property itself is beautiful but we were generally disappointed given the prices and it was hard not to feel a little ripped off.

Room Tip: If you can afford it ask for a room inside the property with a FULL sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view room which was very sumptuous. The bed so tall you needed to take a running jump to get on to it and such a soft landing. Two balconies with the most glorious views of Santa Monica beach and pier. Bathroom has big jacuzzi bath with candles if your feeling romantic, tv if you want to get some space to yourself!
Lounge comfy and glamorous. Very LA. Beautiful people doing deals over expensive drinks. Good restaurant and we spotted a hollywood star in there of course. Very attentive service - a bit much sometimes for a Brit but maybe easier for the Americans.
Rent a bike - well worth it. The coastal path is easy and safe. A short cycle to Venice beach and all it's glory.
Needless to say - expensive. But what would you expect?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

From the moment you walk into the lobby...you realize that Shutters is a unique experience. Although a bit pricey...it's just one of those special places that doesn't dissapoint. The staff is warm and welcoming...the aura is first class, yet homey...the food is delicious and the setting is about as good as it gets. I am fortunate to be able to stay here for business...but hope one day ..it will be a great vacation. Also, best massage and pedicure ever from a hotel!

Room Tip: If you can afford ocean front...go for it. We didn't...but it didn't bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

we did not stay at the Hotel - but we had an amazing meal in their restaurant- service and quality excellent- 6 of us dined- everyone raved about their meal- i bit pricy if you are on a budget- but sitting at the window- watching the sun go down over Santa Monica beach- cant beat it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire united Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went there for a family lunch we had a table overlooking the beach the service and food were
Excellent quite expensive but for a special occasion well worth a visit on arrival your car is valet parked something the Americans do well .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I rarely give Excellent ratings, and only when deserved. Shutters on the Beach really is excellent in every way. From the moment we left our taxi in the foyer area we were treated so well by the staff, who were friendly, helpful, on-point efficient and attentive. The lobby is a great room with comfortable furniture, views of the sea, and open fire-places. It always had a great atmosphere and early evening was a buzz with live music. Our room was fantastic, whilst perhaps on the small size, it had everything we needed, the furniture and styling was attractive, and it had a huge and high bed piled with many pillows and cushions with a big flat screen TV opposite. The bed was amazingly comfortable.. The bathroom was great with fantastic shower, huge spa bath and separate toilet area. Good bathroom products, (and option to purchase other fancy products too). We had a small patio terrace area too. The hotel has a really fantastic location right on the beach, as the name suggests so correctly. Short walk to 3rd St promenade shops bars and restaurants. The pool deck area was very quiet when we were there, nicely sheltered from the wind, so a real sun-trap. I didn't use the pool itself, but the sun-loungers were very comfortable and they were plentiful. Twice we were the only guests using the pool area - I guess it is much busier in the summer months though. We used the complimentary business centre to check-in flights home - perfect a choice of Mac or PC with printer and bowls of sweeties. Free Wifi throughout the hotel - as it should be. Loved Santa Monica, and would be so happy to come back to Shutters on every future visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LHW, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.