We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here several times, seems service is not as good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Shutters on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Room Rate
Ranked #11 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Been here several times, seems service is not as good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice stay, but disappointing in some areas of service, mostly front desk. Training and etiquette needs reinforced.
Incorrect information about items given at check in, upon check out the agent was drinking a green health drin of sorts, as when I walked up she was drinking through a straw then put it down beside her to check me out. Seems they are getting more lax on attitude and really taking the Santa Monica casual attitude a little to far. Overall only OK this trip,

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    198
    81
    51
    39
See reviews for
163
270
51
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have stayed at Shutters several times and am always a bit underwhelmed by the hotel. In terms of architecture and design, it is a very clever use of valuable real estate. It is almost impossible to realize that the vast majority of rooms are actually across the street. This means several elevators, some long treks, and rooms with a mere glimpse of the water,

The rooms are very clean and beachy and are all bed and bathroom. To give the interior (and spacious) bathroom light, is has a large frosted window into the bedroom. The door to the toilet is louvered and the door to the whole thing is a slider, so there is precious little soundproofing. Every nighttime flush or glass of water is likely to wake up a companion.

The bed is very high from the floor and my child could not climb in without help. Even I practically had to take a running start. Eleven pillows and luxurious linens.

Lobby jazz at night was nice unless you wanted to talk, and weaving through the crowd is not easy. Parking is all by valet since entrance is tiny. Some mildly famous people seem to always be there.

The food is good, expensive, and also sometimes hard to obtain if crowded. While it seems family friendly I think the location is, but not so much the hotel. With a myriad of stairs and elevators, a confusing and multipurpose lobby, and a staff used to dealing with affluent adults, kids get lost in the shuffle. Few rooms have two beds. This is more of a couple's destination.

For an expensive waterfront getaway Shutters is fine for a few days. I'll be back in Santa Monica soon for a longer stay, though, and will stay someplace less complicated but equally nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Cape cottage type of atmosphere in a luxury hotel. Great menu with delicious fresh food along with great customer service. The lounge has original drinks that would appease anyone's palate. Enjoyed my stay very much. With that said, there were a few things I would like to see done. Venus type razors for women along with toothpaste in the toiletries cabinet. The hallway had an odor with carpets that could be replaced due to wear. I expect more for the price I paid there! The first room I had leaked water from the some type of plumbing from the tub. I would think this would be noticeable when cleaning as it puddled on the edge of the tub next to the wall. Other than that I enjoyed my stay there and the staff were professional and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in room 541, which is a standard guest room facing north with a partial view of the Santa Monica pier. The room was comfy and had a beach cottage vibe. Without doubt, this was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. I really cannot stress enough how comfortable the bed was (I'm apparently not alone, as the mattress is available for purchase on the hotel's website). Bed linens and towels were top notch. Service was consistently outstanding and I felt truly pampered. The hotel has an terrific restuarant (One Pico) and is walking distance from other great dining choices. My sole critical note is that the hotel charges for every possible ammenity: internet (double charged each day since I use a laptop and a tablet), $30 for valet, $15 to rent a beach chair, etc. etc. That said, if you have the means, you will not be disappointed in your stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 541, which is a standard guest room facing north with a partial view of the Santa M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Shutters is a famous small hotel on Pico and Sm beach. Right next to Venice beach and Santa Monica Pier. It is a beautiful spot. Expensive, $600 to $800 a night in summer. But location location location. Food is amazing. so are staff. You are pampered.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much larger and have 2 balconies. My kids got those, i got a smaller room with dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with outstanding service. Pricey but worth it. Our room, which overlooked the pool and beach, was light and airy with a balcony (where we had our coffee in the morning). Comfy beds, luxury to the nth degree!! If I could use one word it would be FABULOUS!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

....if only my home were like this! Shutters on the Beach is just beautiful.With total attention to detail, it is upmarket without pretension; homely and warm,without the kitsch. Amazing beds and pillows allow a very restful slumber.Showers were invigorating. Bathroom with spa bath and television, much to the children's delight.The open windows in the hallway meant there was fresh air throughout the corridors, leading into the rooms, which I loved - no stuffy hotel rooms here. Convenient to shops with the added bonus of bike hire to explore the coastline. One Pico and Coast restaurants were equally impressive - fabulous food and attentive service. I do think that hotels in this price range could offer free Wi-Fi. Definitely not a place for the budget conscious - it is highly priced. It was a very special and memorable treat and one I would happily repeat!!

Room Tip: Partial seaview rooms were quiet, with lovely views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.