We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just didn't Wow Me...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shutters on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Shutters on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shutters on the Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Just didn't Wow Me...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I wanted so badly for this property to Wow me, not because my ego needs the boost but because as a Professional Travel Advisor and a member of Virtuoso I expected it to be outstanding and in many ways it came close but it just missed the mark for me.

One thing I'll never understand with high end hotels and resorts is when the front desk staff will check you in, give you your room key, wish you a pleasant stay and then send you on your way, when with just that little extra effort you could completely wow a guest and make their stay so much better.
All it takes is asking a guest 'have you stayed with us before' and if not then 'can I take a couple of minutes to explain the hotel facilities', but instead this hotel like so many just let guests linger and hope they discover all the available amenities which they often don't (it was only as I was checking out I discovered the hotel had bikes available).
As the saying goes, it takes so little to be above average, but unfortunately the check in staff were too busy balancing that almighty chip on their shoulder to bother going the extra mile.

While we're on the topic of the staff, unfortunately most that I encountered had forgotten they were there to serve and instead were full of attitude (with the exception of one indian front door attendant who was brilliant), such a shame as I don't need to be looked down on by hotel staff, especially when I'm the one paying their wages.

The property itself was lovely, it was a shame that we weren't shown to our room as it's a bit of a maze and there were no lights on in our room so we were left in the dark scouring for light switches which wasn't the welcome I'd expect at a property of this calibre, but the decor was homely and felt more like you were staying at a family beach house, overall aside from the sticky residue the housekeeper hadn't wiped off the bedside table from the last guest it was lovely.

It was nice to find a bathroom of decent proportions, especially after the rabbit warren of a bathroom I experienced at Fairmont Miramar several months earlier.

The location of the room was terrible, I have no doubt I was given the worst room in the entire property, with an outlook over the side lane and zero privacy when the blinds were open due to our street level location.

Location wise you can't complain, right on the beach, its great, although equally great is their sister property Casa Del Mar (where I'll be staying next time) and to a lesser extent Loews.

Would I stay here again, I don't know to be honest but I would say unless you're staying in an Ocean View room you're completely wasting your time and money at this hotel, you may as well stay off the beach if you're not going to take advantage of the views as the attitude from staff and the poor views from non-Ocean View Rooms really isn't worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    204
    83
    52
    40
See reviews for
168
275
52
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very comfortable hotel right on the fantastic Santa Monica beach. Main lobby has a relaxed feel to it and a design similar to a Ralph Lauren store.
Train set for Xmas was a nice touch.
Rooms comfortable and well equipped but the beds whilst ultra comfortable are on the high side so avoid falling out.
Santa Monica Pier is yards away and Venice Beach is approx 1 mile on a bike or foot.
Great restaurants in the city - Boa Steakhouse and Tar & Roses simply fantastic.
Plenty of places nearby for breakfast if you want a change from the hotel.M Street Kitchen is where the locals have breakfast - 10min walk on Main Street
Hire bikes as a 26 mile bike path is on the doorstep.
Internet expensive at $12 a day !! How come Hotel Giraffe New York can offer it free?
Great shopping 10 mins away

Room Tip: The cheap ones don't have a sea view which is not a problem if it's misty or raining
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

While visiting our son for Thanksgiving week, we decided we wanted to spoil ourselves at Shutters. The location on the beach in Santa Monica is fantastic, the rooms are comfortable and cottage-like, the service fantastic, an inviting lobby, great pool, and very good restaurants. The spa was really nice although the steam rooms were out of order the day we really wanted it when we took our Thanksgiving Day family 'plunge' in the Pacific. Added to the charm were surprises like great books in the library in our room, AMAZING munchies in our mini-bar, and Havaianas flip flops in the lockers in the spa.
We adored this hotel and look forward to another visit!

Room Tip: If you can afford an ocean view or partial ocean view on the top floor, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and i stayed here in early November for a few days visiting friends going to the Breeders Cup. Our first visit to Santa Monica. Shutters is certainly a very nice spot. Great location. Great facility and decent service. While the rooms are nicely done with a cottage/homey feel, they are quite small -- at least ours was. So while it is no doubt a very nice spot, I'm not sure its worth the price. I'm not an expert on the local hotel rates etc, but that's just my opinion from staying at luxury spots all over US. One thing that i found annoying -- the bar area in the main lobby was a zoo and very loud the couple of days we were there. It's very nice, but you can hardly have a conversation. Overall -- it's a wonderful spot and a great location -- nice, but small room, and perhaps a bit pricey for what it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We love this hotel. A little more cost but the location, service and amenities are exceptional. We have been here three times and would like to go more ! The pool and beach are really very nice and the restaurants are perfect for lazy lunches and laid back cocktails while you watch the sun go down.
Extra cost is worth it. Total recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: Every room is good - but you have to ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

i have been a fan for many years but this visit was not up to scratch
OK here are the gripes
checking in was awful and unhelpful ..........no assistance offered whatsoever..........inexcusable !!!!!!!!
checking out bell service was poor as they pandered to sports stars departing and service was paralyzed without informing clients of delays
mark down one star
didnt like my room on 2 nd floor but only paid $600 so what can one expect !!
mark down the second star
here are the pluses........... and the pluses are good
location fabulous
staff generally are great
good care and attention to detail
lovely bed , linen and amenities
i would return , but i was disappointed by this visit ..........i would not return if they behaved simlarly a second time

Room Tip: avoid staying on the second floor ............poor light , noisy and no views ...........it makes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The location could not be better, and great views when not foggy. Overall though the hotel is not what it purports to be. We thought the rooms were basic and not welcoming. The bed was way too hard, and we found stains on the bedspread of a dubious origin. We also found it annoying how far we would have to walk to get to our room, it was a workout. With all that said though, the staff were always friendly and trying their best to please. We also very much enjoyed the Coast Restaurant, where the meals truly were superb. This is a nice hotel but not worth the price in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you don't have to walk for miles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Address: 1 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shutters on the Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shutters on the Beach is more than just a spectacular place to stay, it’s the epitome of Southern California’s breezy lifestyle. This captivating hotel is located directly on the sand and within walking distance of the area’s biggest attractions including the Santa Monica Pier and hundreds of shops and restaurants. For business or pleasure, this quintessential beachfront hideaway is known as the place the high-profile go to be low-profile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, LHW, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Shutters on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Beach Hotel Santa Monica
Shutters Beach
Shutters Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shutters on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.