We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only they played Italian music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Pizza

Joe's Pizza
111 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2304
310-395-9222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
London, England
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“If only they played Italian music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Unpretentious and small and looks like the food would be poor - but it absolutely is the opposite. My pizza was hot, crusty and tasty and although heavy on the tomato sauce, absolutely delicious. The Italian Salad was so fresh it was probably still growing and came with more than enough dressing. The price was about half of that I had paid the previous night for a far worse Italian meal - I wish I had come here. If you do not eat here, you are missing out on a very good (and cheap) meal. If they played Italian Opera instead of pop music over the sound system, it would be perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best New York-Style Pizza...Really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Many restaurants claim they have authentic New York-style pizza, but at Joe's they really do. This is a small place with a terrific location in between the Third Street Promenade and the ocean that shouldn't be missed. The menu offers only pizza (regular thin crust or Sicilian), a few salads and an antipasto, but that's all you need. There's a nice choice of toppings (NY-style toppings-- you won't find pineapple or goat cheese here), but the plain cheese pizza is a work of art. Buy it by the slice or get a whole pie. There are very few tables, but you can take your pizza down to Palisades Park and eat it with an incredible view of the ocean and the Santa Monica Pier.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not for me!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews that said Joes was the place to eat I thought I would give it a shot. Not the case here, our pizza was only just warm and the crust resembled cardboard. I suggest you walk the few extra minutes up third street where it is the best.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Late Night Snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great greasy late night hang over cure! Good service too. Good location, not far from the pier. Joe's Pizza for the win!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Great place for pick up pizza (by the slice). The sausage pizza is extremely good.
You can take your pizza to the a benches down the street and enjoy the ocean/beach/peer while you eat it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.