We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Monica Pier

Santa Monica Pier
200 Santa Monica Pier, Santa Monica Pier Restoration Corporation, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)
310-458-8900
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Santa Monica Pier like an insider
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Hollywood Highlights and LA Beaches Tour from...
Ranked #5 of 110 things to do in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining, Shopping, Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This bustling wooden wharf is the place to be, with its eateries, shops, high-tech arcade, roller coaster, giant Ferris wheel and other rides, famous 1922 indoor merry-go-round and fantastic views of the bay and the mountains.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I liked the assortment of stalls, selling the various souvenirs, associated with the end of "Mother Road" Route 66,but most of all,
5 Stars,'Bubba Gumps' perhaps the best, most unusual, restaurant in the World!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,692
    1,751
    825
    141
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Soldotna, Alaska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Well a classic like the beach boys song. We get coffee or hot dogs on the pier, jog on the bike path, walk up to joes pizza to eat. The pier is an amusement park carnival rides but we don't do those.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Brazil
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great place to take pictures and have a lunch, great for family and people of any age. Beautiful view.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fun, interestingly old and still very lively...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Visited in off-season, but was still impressed with the amount of visitors and activity. Pier features a carousel, roller coaster, small food places and restaurants. Kind of touristy but definitely a place you'll want to visit if you're in Santa Monica. Nice; cute and clean.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great cheesy fun, try and avoid eating if you can”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My girlfriend, parents, and nine year old niece went to SMP for a few hours. It was probably my hundredth visit, but the other 99 were all when I was a kid. It is still delightfully old school. Very average rides, very average games, rubbish stuffed toys, lots of crowds - basically just what you want if you are going on any pier from Brighton to Coney Island to here. I would say that on that scale, they manage to produce an ice cream and coffee offer in Santa Monica that actually got me to throw them both in the trash. Stick to candy floss and the rollercoaster.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Monica Pier also viewed

 

Been to Santa Monica Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Monica Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.