We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bull Restaurant & Bar

Golden Bull Restaurant & Bar
170 W Channel Road, Santa Monica, CA 90402
310-230-0402
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #258 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $20 - $44
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Description: We invite you to enjoy the finest in dining and a genuinely warm atmosphere here near the beach in the Santa Monica Canyon at one of Southern California's great and storied restaurants, The Golden Bull. We offer a delicious array of dinners every day of the week and open at 4:30 pm daily except for Sunday when we open for Sunday Brunch starting at 11:00 am and running until 3:00 pm. Early Bird Dinner Specials are available daily with a large selection of great entrees. You can review all of our menus and are welcome to come in for a friendly and great dining experience in the Santa Monica Canyon at the base of Pacific Palisades at 170 West Channel Road one block up from the beach.
Restaurant details
Description: We invite you to enjoy the finest in dining and a genuinely warm atmosphere here near the beach in the Santa Monica Canyon at one of Southern California's great and storied restaurants, The Golden Bull. We offer a delicious array of dinners every day of the week and open at 4:30 pm daily except for Sunday when we open for Sunday Brunch starting at 11:00 am and running until 3:00 pm. Early Bird Dinner Specials are available daily with a large selection of great entrees. You can review all of our menus and are welcome to come in for a friendly and great dining experience in the Santa Monica Canyon at the base of Pacific Palisades at 170 West Channel Road one block up from the beach.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Don't be mislead by the dated exterior. We had a superb seafood dinner. Service was very attentive and the meal & wine were very reasonably priced. Good find.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    16
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Unique in Santa Monica?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Been to S.M. many times from the UK - never found this gem until recently so this was our first visit to the Golden Bull. Agreed, it's not so likely to appeal to the young from LA as perhaps it is to us who are a little more mature and capable of getting fed up with the overpriced, fashionable, trendy, restaurants now seemingly the norm anywhere west of the freeway and within 4 blocks of the ocean. But we thought it was great value for very enjoyable food - we were surprised to read a recent criticism of the steak and rib standard because we found it to be pretty good......it may be that you can do better at Boa but we have no intention of going there, let those who want to, do so - more room for us at the Golden Bull.

Service was fairly good, friendly and helpful considering that the restaurant was very busy (including, we saw, at least one family party including some people under 50.......so there). If there was any downside at all, it was not quiet, and the noise level at seating in the bar area - we did not sit there - was the cause of one party asking to move to the somewhat less noisy area in the next room.

We will return next trip, next year hopefully - this will join The Galley to make the only 2 restaurants we normally now patronise in S. Monica, now that the very different but liked Broadway Deli is no more......

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Old local standby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Where to go on a chilly fall evening when you want a simple local meal and fin yourself in Santa Monica? There used to be lots of options, but these days the westside has gone so upmarket that most easy priced local spots serving in the evening are little more than fast food. The good old Golden Bull just keeps on keeping on though. A block from the beach in Santa Monica Canyon, with the fireplaceand dark red naughahyde booths of memory. A good old fashioned bar and dining room serves substantial early bird specials, steaks, seafood, old fashioned salads, a good basket of sourdough and good soups as well as well made salads.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

In a city that seeks only what is new and "hip," it's great to have something like the Golden Bull. The decor is 1950, and the menu -including prime rib- seems as classic as the decor. The classic American cuisine is probably slightly overpriced, hence only 4 stars. There is a full bar available and the drinks are generous. It is located 1.5 blocks from the beach, and maybe a good spot to end your day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a curious, almost baffling place. In the midst of the Westside, right next to the trendy Giorgio Baldi, it is a restaurant out of the 1950s. My wife and I have gone twice recently, and each time it was the same: Literally, no one else in the packed place was under 70; the decor is pleasant but tired; the service is warm and old-fashioned; the food is so-so: Choice, not Prime, steaks and prime-rib, not particularly flavorful; baked potatoes in foil; mixed vegetables (of course).

If you just want a filling, reasonably ok meal, and get in-and-out, it's fine. Bur it's not a dining experience by any stretch of the imagination. You can always do better elsewhere in this neighborhood.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Bull Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Golden Bull Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bull Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.