We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cheap all we needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Santa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Santa Maria to your Saves list
Motel 6 Santa Maria
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2040 North Preisker Lane, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very cheap all we needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

You get what you pay for. All we needed clean to a certain standard and looked like an ikea showroom with less stuff. Would only suggest one night here perhaps if you are just passing through like we were.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
9
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We clearly had one of the newly refurbished rooms. Very clean ,very pleasant. No charm but we stopped in Santa maria to break up our drive and were not expecting much. Free coffee in the morning. The wi-fi was rubbish and I had to keep returning to the front desk for new codes before giving up.

I slept fine and it was clean. That's pretty much all people would want from this motel surely?

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Ho-hum: After staying very happily recently in two of the newer Motel 6's (like the more expensive one in Santa Barbara), my spending a night here was like going back in time to the bad old days of this national budget chain. I had a very spartan room with no place to hang clothes, a shower with no tub, a curtain that fell down and outside there were very, very dirty sidewalks (see my photo). (The laundry room was pretty clean, but there was no place to fold clothes.) With so many other motels to choose from on Broadway, this one was no great shakes, although it did serve its purpose in giving me a quiet place to rest my head for the night.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upstairs room to avoid as much noise as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Stayed here last because I did not want to take a 2 1/2 hour drive home. Motel 6 has done some renovations. Laminate flooring throughout, instead of nasty carpeting. A big plus. Hot water when you shower,comfortable and clean bedding. Everything so far a plus, except the shower. Ever seen a superman movie, where he would jump into a phone booth to change into his superman get up. Well that's what's it's like taking a shower. Very small shower with a slide type shower curtain. Motel 6 could have made the shower a little bigger. I'm 5' 10" 195 lbs and it was small for me. Imagine someone 6' 4" and 230 lbs!!! Nuff said!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We just stayed here for one night while driving highway 1 but really liked it actually. Staff were friendly and the rooms are new, very clean and nice. The only real downside is that they charge for wifi.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We came to town for a family event and stayed here as the reviews weren't awful and the price seemed right. Most the other hotels in the area were much more expensive (now we know why). I didn't come in with unreasonable expectations....in fact the room itself as I mentioned was upgraded and clean and the staff seemed friendly. However, the area is BAD. Many sketchy people standing outside of cars or their rooms, cars circling the hotel with music blaring and shaking the windows to our room stopping to talk with those people standing outside. This happened all night long. Do yourself a favor and just pay the extra money to stay down the road at a hotel you can sleep at with peace of mind and not having to listen to rattling windows and bass all night.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a tough one. We were in town for our nephew's wedding & it was spectacular.
Rating - the flooring was nice - wood not carpet however it's a very spartan room with very limited furnishings. Personally I hate living out of a suitcase even for an overnight stay but for a weekend stay it's beyond difficult. Considering the TV is sitting on a unit with shelves why couldn't it be a dresser with drawers to put clothes in? There just wasn't enough room to put out our belongings (there were 3 adults) & there were no amenties like hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, coffeemaker, refrigerator & for $100+ per night I expected those things - it's what I get at other hotels for the same price. It was clean & the staff was pleasant enough (although the woman at the front desk had bad breath) but not worth the price. The only reason we stayed at this hotel was availability - for whatever reason this past weekend (8 - 10 Aug 2014) everything was booked. I doubt we will stay here again unless it's the only place available.

Room Tip: The rooms were surprisingly quiet when the door was shut considering the motel is right by the 101 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Maria

Address: 2040 North Preisker Lane, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.