We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, well beyond my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Big America

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Big America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 N Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454-1927   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Santa Maria
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding service, well beyond my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stopped here on the way from the Bay Area to Disneyland because we have 3 small children and completing the entire drive at once was too difficult. First off, Santa Maria is a little dumpy, and if I had to do it over again.. I would probably opt to stay in San Luis Obispo or Avila Beach. However, we did receive outstanding service at this hotel. We had a very comfortable suite. We had terrible luck at the restaurant next door to the hotel - Francisco's Country Kitchen -- Mom, trying to be healthy, subbed out the fries for fruit on the kids meals -- and my son got food poisoning from the melons - should have known better than to order fresh fruit from an empty restaurant.. was probably from earlier that day's brunch or worse. As a result, my son vomited all over the room that night. The next morning, I informed the front desk that the room would have to be "deep-cleaned" and the nice lady at the desk didn't even flinch and was SO kind about the whole thing. We were in a rush to get out of the smelly vomit room, and accidentally left my son's tennis shoes behind (he was wearing Crocs out instead). We didn't notice until we got to Disneyland and couldn't find his shoes. Called the hotel, and they shipped them out immediately, saving my son from blisters, and saving us from a shoe-buying trip in the middle of our vacation. Received a card from the general manager Max Tucker, and I wanted to especially commend him for his outstanding service. Of note, in Disneyland we stayed at the Grand Californian, a much nicer and more expensive hotel -- but the service was BETTER at the Best Western. Overall, I recommend the hotel -- but not the town and DEFINITELY NOT the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: suites with king bed and queen bed great for families - was annoying to lug bags up to the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Big America, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear chen1111,



Thank you for your review and for your kind compliments regarding our customer service. We are glad to hear you found your room to be comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.





BEST WESTERN PLUS Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    82
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
76
76
19
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have stayed here many times, because of location. The rooms are clean and spacious but not well insulated. We had a hand-I-cap room. You can hear every single footstep from the upstairs rooms. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Big America, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Carlos R,


Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you experienced noise problems. We hope this doesn't prevent you from staying with us in the future. We appreciate your business. Thank you for the compliment regarding our clean and spacious rooms, as well as the compliment regarding our deluxe, continental breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.



BEST WESTERN PLUS Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My buddy and I usually stay here during our golf weekends on the central coast for a number of reasons. First this hotel is central located for our golf outings and has a King suite that has two bedrooms with a bath between. This gives us both our own space and own a/c units to blow right on us! Second, it is cheap. The room we like is <$125/nt. Third, as we are out early in the morning, we can swoop the free bfast and pick up coffee, fruit and a couple of bfast burritos for the road.
Downsides, jacuzzi is never hot enough to mend tired muscles, a little crowded and loud at times and there are no good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Big America, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear CoffeeBuzzz,




Thank you for your review, and thank you for continuing to stay with us. We appreciate your business. We're glad you enjoyed your room and our deluxe, continental breakfast. We apologize for the spa not being hot enough, and the noise. We work diligently to make sure each guest leaves our hotel with a positive experience. We hope to see you again soon.




BEST WESTERN PLUS Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on May 29th 2013 and I'm surprise by the positive reviews. The rooms are pretty spacious but the walls are paper thin. I had the worst night sleep because I could hear every single footstep from the people upstairs. The facilities need major remodeling.

The free breakfast wasn't anything to brag about. Just your average continental breakfast.

It was nice to have a fridge in the room.

I will definitely not stay at this hotel (it is more like a motel). If you do decide to stay hear ask to stay upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E.Bay - Alameda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

It was surprising to find a refrigerator in the room. We put out bottled water in it for the road trip the following day. The room was clean and the staff were nice. We saw a Security officer patrolling the parking lot, but we didn't have any issues and perhaps it was just as a prevention. Nice and secure place. Breakfast was available at no charge. There's a jacuzzi and swimming pool too. I had never made my own belgian waffle and it was delicious.We would go back again!
We stayed 5/18-5/19.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Big America, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Crzymry,




Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you appreciated the refrigerator in the room. It sounds like it came in handy. We're also happy to hear you enjoyed your first, make your own Belgian waffle. We hope to see you again soon.




BEST WESTERN PLUS Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A great Hotel in a friendly town! I am very happy that we got out of LAX and made this our first stop on our week long California whirlwind trip. The staff was excellent. The room was huge, the price was great! Free parking. we arrived after a long travel day and were starving! Helpful young man at checkin suggested a restaurant which was a great choice.
Large King suite, Comfortable bed, huge bathroom, clean, easy. Didn't use pool, would have liked to. Breakfast was fine, not busy on a Monday morning, All staff friendly and approachable.
All in all, very pleased

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Big America, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear debdoestravel,



Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our friendly, helpful staff and large, clean rooms. We hope to see you again soon, and perhaps when you return you will be able to enjoy our heated swimming pool.





BEST WESTERN PLUS Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Everything about it was great, the location, the staff, the room was wonderful, we stayed in a suite, and was very happy with it. Happy to know that parking was free, a lot of convenient stores around the hotel. We had an awesome experience, glad we stayed at this hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room that is not by the back street, we could hear a car alarm going on and off, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Big America, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Adriana052013,


Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you appreciated the free parking and the nearby convenient stores. We are happy to hear you had an 'awesome experience' with us. We hope to see you again soon.



BEST WESTERN PLUS Big America Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Big America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Big America

Address: 1725 N Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454-1927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Big America 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling on business or traveling for pleasure the Best Western PLUS Big America hotel in Santa Maria , California has something to offer for everyone. Located between Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo , the Big America hotel in Santa Maria offers its guests many luxuries for an affordable price. Join us in our lobby every morning for a complimentary, deluxe continental breakfast, and while you are eating your breakfast help yourself to a couple of complimentary newspapers.Our Santa Maria hotel rooms have been called by many “the best hotel rooms in Santa Maria ” because of the size of the rooms and the cleanliness of the rooms. Each of our Santa Maria hotel rooms contains a mini refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, cable TV, air conditioning, wet bar, voice mail, and each room is equipped for High Speed Internet Access, both hard wired and wireless. Santa Maria is known for its Santa Maria style barbecue and the Big America hotel is close to many fine restaurants, and the meals they usually serve are big, so there are bound to be leftovers. We also have a restaurant located on the premises, which is called Francisco's Country Kitchen. We keep on hearing good things about the food, so why not give it a try. The microwave and mini refrigerator would come in really handy if you are looking for a midnight snack.Our Santa Maria hotel has rooms that can accommodate just about anyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Big America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big America Hotel Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
Santa Maria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Big America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.