We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Sweet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 South Nicholson, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not So Sweet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

The inn offers an upgrade to a "sweet" for a higher rate than a "standard" room, but the "sweet" is nothing more than a small room divider with an extra TV and a sofa. This is most deceptive., Based on this and other problems, such as hot water problems, I would avoid this inn.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

They would not allow me to write a review on their website. This place is dirty, smelly and the front desk staff is very confrontational. The furniture is antiquated with torn draperies held together by tape, as well as; cigarette burns on the bed spread. Forget about using the pool or spa. These amenities were filled with trash and the water was the color of 2% milk. The complimentary breakfast consisted of cold cereal, minimum fruit, coffee, milk and diluted juice. My suggestion would be to just drive past this trashy dump; because once you book it, they refuse to give a refund. It appears their reviews are either self generated from the franchisee or they use a paid writer The best thing about the hotel is The International House of Pancakes next door. Quality Inn should be ashamed to have their name being associated with a dump like this. Here are some pictures to prove what I'm saying http://www.evernote.com/l/AGhD8LuCBdVJIaE53UAQbvjZj-3MAo1p3eM/

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Room is average sized, but the room amenities are good (microwave, fridge, etc.). The AC unit gives off an unpleasant offer, but you get used to it. The staircase also smells, but it smells of carpet powder, so that's not too bad. The walls are paper thin; the couple next door were chatting, not shouting, and I could hear them clearly.

The breakfast buffet is better than I expected, with a waffle iron, sausages, yogurt, etc. You only get two bath towels, and they're a bit small. Pillows are kind of small as well. The TV is old if that matters. Another plus is that, if you like IHOP, it's right next to one.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We stayed here as a stop on a California road trip. This is a decent hotel that's clean, quiet and has all the basic amenities you'd expect. It includes a laundry room which was a lifesaver for us. There's an iHop next door, but our stay here included a continental breakfast. It's also close to the freeway and quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here twice before and my company was paying for it for one night. Has WiFi. Microwave frig coffee and continental breakfast. They save 1st floor for elderly there is a lift but only at far end hall. Close to freeway and restaurants Olive Garden I Hop next door. I've tried Holliday Inn at last exit before you leave n end Santa Maria but there not centrally located but cleaner property . Front desk nice. This might be a step up from Motel 6 but not much. The Comfort Inn seems better but none in Santa Maria. Lots PG E and CalTrans people. Their bosses must book for a lot of workers. Not a destination. For fun Central Coast , go to Pismo a Beach or SLO or Solvang.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

First the positives. The front desk staff was very nice and had many items such as razors and toothbrush that I needed. The breakfast room in the front was very small there were only about 5 to 6 tables and nowhere to sit on the Saturday that we checked out. The bed was very comfortable in the room. However they do allow smoking in parts of the building so the rooms do smell like smoke even if their non-smoking. The television was not flat screen and the picture was not that good in the room. The location was very good it was right off the interstate and close to local restaurants. Overall I would stay but I understand you're getting the bear necessities here but a decent nights rest for the money.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

Should have stayed here two nights but because the room isn't suitable we only stayed one night. We stayed in a disabled room because my son is disabled and they told our travel agents that it had a roll in shower but it hadn't. Room clean. The shower took us ten mins to figure out then you set it at a temperature you like and it keeps changing going either very hot or very cold. Not much to do here in Santa Maria either.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 210 South Nicholson, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wireless high-speed Internet access all over the property. Fully equipped kitchens in every suite. 24-hour business centre, saunas, whirlpool, restaurant, and bar on premises. On-site dry cleaning and laundry facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Santa Maria
Comfort Inn Santa Maria
Santa Maria Comfort Inn
Quality Inn Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.