We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some good some bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Santa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Santa Maria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 North Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“some good some bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

mfy wife and I stayed at this holiday inn recently (April 2014). the room was as we expected very clean. front desk personnel were extremely helpful. thank you Malcolm. the only problem I had was one unavoidable. the hotel is at the extreme northern end of town. one evening I wanted to take a walk but there was nowhere to walk to. I did find a grocery store about 2 blocks away and a taco bell 3 blocks away. if you need somewhere to walk to it's best to stay at another hotel in the town itself. the hotel was under some major renovation but that was not a problem for us. we really appreciated the kitchenette in the room. we had a good nights rest here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Santa Maria, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Svaldez,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was with us. It is good to know you appreciate our hotel staff and room accommodations. Your feedback is important in our continuous drive for excellence. However, I apologize if you found the hotel location less than satisfactory for your travel needs. I have noted you valuable comments and I will make sure that this will be looked into and be forwarded to the departments involved.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    80
    34
    20
    15
See reviews for
61
60
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here for one day a few weeks ago and on the website they didn't mention anything about construction. So when we got there we were surprise that the lobby was closed and a man staying in the hotel shouted at us and pointed to the side door. Once we got to the make shift reception area the lady helping my husband didn't even gave us a warm welcome or hello. She seemed annoyed to see us or something. Anyway, the rooms are decent but definitely need some updating it was roomy though and had a little kitchenette, the bed though was so uncomfortable and itchy. I hope they update that as well, both hubby and I didn't sleep well except our little toddler who took over the bed. Hopefully they will improve that with the renovation that they're doing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear JeanFlo,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered with the on-going renovations and the room accommodations you received fell below your expectations. We also apologize for the service you had. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We've stayed at this facility a number of times...approximately 2 to 3 times a year for the past 4 years or so. It's always had a relaxing, welcome atmosphere....even during their current refurbishment of the restaurant and bar areas. The staff has always been outstanding.

Room Tip: Here, even the 1st floor rooms are wonderful....and safe. Yes, there is an elevator in the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The service was terrible. The 15 dollar breakfast you pay for was terrible. A bowl of cereal costed 7 dollars. They did not specify a time by which you can not get food in the restaurant. The manager Claudia was very rude.. I am a 19 year old and felt she did not respect me as a costumer and would not refund my breakfast which we paid 30 dollars for and did not receive. Harley Davidson factory down the street they kept revving engines at early hours going up and down the street. Terrible.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Laurencem2020,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Santa Maria, CA.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Very nice Holiday Inn, clean, neat, well maintained, good location on/off the 101, nice restaurant and bar if you don't want to go out at night and good breakfast service in the morning. Friendly and accommodating staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colby, Kansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The location is very convenient right off the 101. Easy parking and check in. Very clean and inviting hotel, it was a breeze to settle in. Our room was enormous as was the bathroom. Very new and nice all around. We did use the kitchenette even though we had to call to the front desk for cookware and dishes which seemed odd. Overall a very nice modern and comfortable hotel offering the basics. Only bummer was they charged an arm and a leg for breakfast rather than being free. Other than that great all around experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groton ct
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I booked a 2 night stay via.priceline and got checked out on the first night ..came back late at night to find my room wiped clean !!!. Got a dress down.from the hot shot manager for asking about my stuff that got.thrown.away. he said " we are not responsible for anything as it was lifeline who processed your payment"..appalled at the complete lack of ownership and lack of.empathy...I guess customer service is not a skill needed to run holiday inns anymore...thank god for the more humane receptionist and staff keeping who got most of my stuff back and empathized with me..

Otherwise the hotel was clean and stay was peaceful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Santa Maria, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear vjvk,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Santa Maria

Address: 2100 North Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the palm tree lined city of Santa Barbara and the charming college town of San Luis Obispo you will find the peaceful Santa Maria Valley. Just ten miles from the beach and surrounded by vineyards, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites welcomes travelers from near and far.Fresh from a 3 million dollar renovation, the Holiday Inn continues a 51 year tradition of surpassing the expectations of even the most discerning traveler. We understand that there is no place like home, so to help you kick off your shoes and relax we offer kitchenettes, 37-inch flat screen TVs, free wireless/DSL and MP3 compatible radios. As the All America City makes its way up the list of prospective destinations, the Holiday Inn - Hotel & Suites strives to remain the #1 choice in hospitality. Our knowledgeable staff will proudly welcome you in to our family of Constant Caring Friends with award winning service and a smile.Portabella Bar and Grill draws from Santa Maria s BBQ Hall of Fame legacy, abundance of fresh produce, and seaside inspirations to offer up a true taste of the Central Coast. So enjoy the California lifestyle for a moment sit down with a glass of local wine and Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria
Santa Maria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.