We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value close to San Luis Obispo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Santa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Santa Maria to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 North Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Ventura County
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value close to San Luis Obispo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a very spacious Holiday Inn, the lobby is nice and open, clean rooms with good linens. The rooms are huge and have a small kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and stovetop. The breakfast was very good in the morning and the staff very friendly and efficient. It's located on the north end of Santa Maria and only 20 minutes from San Luis Obispo which is much more expensive and sold out much of the time. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was a great stepping off point for the area wineries, Pismo Beach (15 minutes away) and Hearst Castle is only an hour from here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMXCA, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites for your lodging needs. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make us a leader in excellence.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forwards to the opportunity of serving you again in the future. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites Santa Maria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    80
    34
    20
    15
See reviews for
61
60
9
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

As I write this can't sleep because of highway noise, sound proof windows?
Beds and pillows uncomfortable.
Hairs in the bathroom, GROSS!
Could not get by sofa sleeper to go to the bathroom, STUPID!
Do not believe the other reviews.
I would of rather sleepers in my car and saved the $.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Gingi16

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Allow me to take this opportunity to apologize for your dissatisfaction on the condition of the room accommodation, cleanliness of the bathroom and level of noise. We would like to assure you that we take each comment seriously as it has always been our goal to deliver only the best quality services and facilities. Rest assured your concerns will be looked into.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to showcase our usual levels of service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I visited this in Nov 2011 , and its a very clean and tidy and up to the mark hotel. The front staff was courteous and the checking process was nice. It is a kinda studio appartment wuth a kitchenette attached. Very clean bathroom and linen and nice toiletries, and it wasn't expensive at all!! I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Mostly all are good , but the poolside has a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMXCA, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Santa Maria, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding the Holiday Inn and Suites Santa Maria. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognized our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make us a leader in excellence.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forwards to the opportunity of serving you again in the future. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites Santa Maria.

Sincerely,

Rachael Edwards
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This Holiday Inn was wonderful with rooms about 1.5 times the size of an average hotel room plus a small kitchen area with a stove top. The room and hotel exceeded my expectations. The price was great using my AAA card and more than offset the lack of a free breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms are large with small kitchen area. Breakfast is not included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Only stayed one night but it was a great room! Check in was easy, beds comfy, had everything I require in a room and then some. Loved the kitchenette/bar area. The only thing to make it better would have been a complimentary breakfast. There was a restaurant but we didn't use it. Would stay again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to San Francisco. No booking just pulled in straight off the highway (great location) and thankfully had availability of 1 room for an overnight stay. Reception Staff were very accommodating and nothing was a problem. Had dinner in the restaurant which was very well priced and enjoyable. (Anna our waitress went above and beyond to take the time to chat with us about our itinerary and made great suggestions.) Thank you Anna we were very grateful for your local knowledge. Great room with plenty of space and true to Holiday Inn style it felt like home. More than happy to recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stay here every night during a charity bike ride from San Francisco to Los Angeles. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. This particular night is always sold out well in advance, so the front desk is very busy, but friendly and professional. Well managed property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Santa Maria

Address: 2100 North Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the palm tree lined city of Santa Barbara and the charming college town of San Luis Obispo you will find the peaceful Santa Maria Valley. Just ten miles from the beach and surrounded by vineyards, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites welcomes travelers from near and far.Fresh from a 3 million dollar renovation, the Holiday Inn continues a 51 year tradition of surpassing the expectations of even the most discerning traveler. We understand that there is no place like home, so to help you kick off your shoes and relax we offer kitchenettes, 37-inch flat screen TVs, free wireless/DSL and MP3 compatible radios. As the All America City makes its way up the list of prospective destinations, the Holiday Inn - Hotel & Suites strives to remain the #1 choice in hospitality. Our knowledgeable staff will proudly welcome you in to our family of Constant Caring Friends with award winning service and a smile.Portabella Bar and Grill draws from Santa Maria s BBQ Hall of Fame legacy, abundance of fresh produce, and seaside inspirations to offer up a true taste of the Central Coast. So enjoy the California lifestyle for a moment sit down with a glass of local wine and Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria
Santa Maria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.