We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay for a fair price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Santa Maria to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3455 Skyway Drive, Santa Maria, CA 93455   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Getaway for 2
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monrovia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay for a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Being used to travelling to the central coast, and finding ridiculously expensive, old, and out-dated hotels; I found this to be a very nice value for the money. The exterior is a little passé but is clean, the common areas are simple and basic, but the rooms were nicely furnished and comfortable; and that made a big difference. The hotel sits next to the Santa Maria airport, but since the airport isn't open at night; it wasn't a problem. Location is close to the Santa Ynes Valley wineries, as well as to Pismo Beach. The hotel is pet friendly, which we might take advantage on other trips.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room with a view of the runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLG174, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. There are many beautiful wineries in the area and our hotel offers wine packages that you may be interested in when you book your next stay. We are a pet friendly hotel and would be delighted to accommodate that special pet of yours. There is also a beautiful dog park a short walking distance from our hotel. Once again thank your for the time you took to post a review and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    99
    47
    14
    7
See reviews for
73
66
14
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MELBOURNE
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We needed a room for one night on the way to Monterey and booked the Radisson in Santa Maria that particular evening through Expedia for $120.
Check in was seamless and the room we were in was quite large but somewhat dated. Bed was fine. Bathroom was clean but again dated.
Was quite taken aback in the morning to see planes landing outside our window. It was actually quite interesting to see the planes coming in but I suppose I wonder about the appropriateness of building a hotel on an airport runway.
Staff were lovely. Wifi good too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLG174, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed watching the planes land and thank you for the great compliment on our staff. The access to our hotel is so convenient for our guests who like to fly right to their hotel. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel for those traveling the Central California Coast, close to Los Olivos and Solvang or Pismo Beach (where you can drive your car on the beach).
The rooms are outdated, I had a long black hair in the bed when I pulled back the sheets, not great.
The bathroom was clean but I don't really like that on top of the toilet there's a paper bag with a large 'sanitary bag' sitting there, I haven't seen those in years, and if you are going to provide them, maybe put it in the drawer.
Now, we had requested a one bedroom, and when we checked in were given one facing the parking lot, we called down and asked if we could have one facing the runway and were switched to a 2nd floor corner overlooking the runway, it was unique, and really nice to sit out on the deck in the morning watching planes land, loved it.
The staff at this hotel were great, and the lobby is really open and a nice breakfast area.
I'd stay again, I just wish they could update the living area/couch and make the bathrooms a bit nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLG174, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. I apologize for the inconvenience of having to switch rooms, I am glad we were able to find a solution and upgrade you to a corner suite.
The airplanes are fun to watch and the patio is great for just sitting and relaxing especially on a warm day! In addition to the beautiful beaches nearby and we have many gorgeous wineries around the area that offer tours and discounts. We hope will be able to stay with us again soon and enjoy some of the wonderful places the Central Coast has to offer. Please like us on facebook to receive updates and information about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

While visiting family, we stayed in the Radisson. First time even though we've seen the place for years. It was a pleasant stay. Clean room and comfortable bed. We booked a corner suite so there was room for our daughter on a pull out and we also brought our dog.

This was over the Independence Day holiday, so few business travellers. A good number of tour buses stopped in as Santa Maria is something of a stopover between Los Angeles and San Francisco. The airport location makes adds an interesting touch, even though its a small regional airport.

Room Tip: The large atrium might be noisy for a room that opens on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLG174, Sales and Catering Coordinator at Radisson Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you choosing the Radisson Santa Maria for your stay. I hope that you will return soon and get to see all the renovations that we are making to the hotel. We truly appreciate your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel was great! I was there for my daughters youth conference and the staff was awesome! They met all of our needs! The Vintner's restaurant was great. I had the Rib Eye steak with grilled mushrooms and onions and it was perfect! Our room was fresh and clean and having the free bottles of water in the room was really nice too. Thank you Santa Maria Radisson, I will definitely be back for another visit!

Room Tip: We had a view of the front of the hotel and it was very quiet! It is next to a hotel, but we never h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLG174, at Radisson Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal at our Vintner's Restaurant as well as your stay while visiting for your daughters conference . We are looking forward to having you as a guest at our hotel again soon.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Hawk, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here while visiting our daughter, who lives in Santa Maria. They have ample parking, great customer service. The room was very nice sized and very comfortable. The bathroom was nice as well. We had breakfast at the hotel, it was so neat to watch the airplanes while dining. We had our dog with and the hotel was very pet friendly. All and all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLG174, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our sleep number beds are very popular and adjust to your comfort so you can have a great night's sleep. I hope you will return and visit our hotel again soon! Visit us on Facebook to see what is happening at our hotel. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel was more than my husband and expected. Great 1/2 way stop between Northern and Southern California. The hotel was in great shape, clean, and had all of the amenities that I needed.. Location was a little off the freeway, but was convenient to get to and park. We got a great rate. WE would give this hotel a higher star rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLG174, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write about your experience. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. Please like us on Facebook to get notifications on our hotel and upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Santa Maria

Address: 3455 Skyway Drive, Santa Maria, CA 93455
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Santa Maria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Radisson Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Santa Maria
Santa Maria Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.