We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic but dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Inn to your Saves list
Santa Maria Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Lanaken, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Historic but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent just one night. The hotel is dated, the room wasn't that clean, the bathroom was very basic. We didn't had breakfast, just a coffee at a counter in the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Very happy that you liked our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    138
    73
    29
    23
See reviews for
103
153
24
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

On a business trip so just wanted a reasonable priced hotel for the night and this fitted the request exactly. I thought it was very good value with friendly staff. There is also a fantastic streak house just over the road. Yes the windows are a bit dirty but then I did not spend the time looking out of them during the night!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your 5 star review! We are a perfect place to stay if you're here on business, etc because of our great location!
We hope that you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

First stay at the hotel, and after reading some of the reviews here at Tripadvisor; I decided to book a room. Our plan was to go wine tasting in the Santa Maria/ Santa Ynes area; and the location was perfect. The neighborhood is not great, but is not bad; the local high school is next door, so it can't be too bad.
The place is an old hotel, but it has a lot of character; we enjoyed having a drink at the wine cellar, the bartender was great. I picked a room at the tower, which are the newer rooms; and we got a corner room, it was big and very comfortable. I would say for the value it was well worth it, I can't say how many times we've stayed at cheap looking, but expensive, run-down hotels in the area; so this was a good value. Didn't have a chance to use the pool area, or some of the other facilities, but we did enjoy a nice Starbucks coffee on-site. This is the time we've stayed in Santa Maria, mainly because of better options on over night stays, that are reasonable and comfortable. Pismo and San Luis Obispo are just up the road, so if you are here for the weekend; it's easy to get there as well.

Room Tip: definitely try a corner room in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! The rooms in our Executive Tower are very large and spacious! We are a perfect place to stay when you're going wine tasting! The Wine Cellar is a hidden gem-a great place to have a cocktail or glass of wine! Our Starbucks is perfect for getting some caffeine before hitting the tasting rooms, etc.

We really hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a great little hotel to stay in. I'd spring for a room in the new tower. It has character and has several pianos on the property. They also have an outdoor pool as well as a hot tub. The outdoor pool is only slightly heated, so don't expect to jump in when the weather is cold. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area. It's a drive from Paso Robles, but if you can deal with the drive, this is a great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We keep out pool heated year round 80 year round and the spa heated to 102.
Our Executive Tower rooms are lovely and you're right, for being a full service hotel, our prices are great! It's a little drive to Paso Robles, but such a beautiful one-and there's never traffic!
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto De Caza
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

we stayed there while visiting family. friendly desk personnel. good location. we ate a quick bite in the restaurant and if you get the chance order the carrot cake.
room was clean, bright and lots of room. quiet place as well. if we go back to santa maria we will stay there again.

Room Tip: we stayed in the new wing. very nice sized rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words about your most recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We agree, our carrot cake is delicious! We do hope that if you come back to Santa Maria, you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The original name of Santa Maria, California was Central City. When the inn was built in 1917, driving from San Francisco to LA required an overnight stay. Many of the early movie stars were guests, and their names are in a brass star on many of the doors. The atmosphere is like that of an old English coaching inn, with prints of horse drawn carriages on the walls. There are several pleasant places to eat on the premises with varying degrees of formality, as well as an excellent diner across the street. The rooms are smallish but well-maintained. We stayed in the original historic part of the in but there is also a newer more modern but maybe less interesting addition.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
What a wonderfully informative review! Our property is full of California history! The rooms on the Original Inn side are a bit smaller, I always say that guests traveled differently almost 100 years ago. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments regarding your most recent stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here one night on the way to Paso Robles.Stayed in the tower section. The room was what you would expect for the price. The room overlooked I think a parking structure. The windows in the room were so incredibly dirty I could not see out. Mystery red spots on bathroom floor behind toilet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your most recent stay. We are so sorry to hear that you weren't 100% satisfied with your stay. We take all feedback, both positive and negative very seriously. We will address your concerns right away and see if we can get these problems resolved. We do hope that you will visit us again so we may show you that we have fixed the items you spoke of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn

Address: 801 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Maria Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a historic, full-service property located in the heart of Santa Maria along California's beautiful Central Coast. We offer an award-winning Garden Room Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, an Olde English Tap Room and a Wine Cellar and Martini Bar. We also feature an on site massage therapist, heated pool and spa, sauna, fitness facility, salon and barber. We are only minutes from the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail, championship golf, beaches and shopping. Secure your reservations now or take advantage of one of our many packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.