We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Relic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Inn to your Saves list
Santa Maria Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Ladera Ranch, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing Relic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

A last minute change of plans left us in need of a hotel the day after Thanksgiving. The ease of obtaining a room over such a busy weekend should have been an indicator! The hotel is a ways off of the freeway and in a bad part of town. Based on some of the reviews we secured a room in the 'newer' part of the hotel. But it was quickly apparent that the new part is in serious need of updating and renovation. The entire place had a musty smell and the halls were sparsely decorated and cramped. The room was a decent size but was dusty and smelled like death (and at the time we didn't know the place was haunted!). The worst part of all was ordering room service. Not only did they forget several items but we were overcharged and had to make three phone calls to get the bill corrected. Drive further up the highway and stay somewhere decent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay...we are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and there were problems with your room service order. We always want to make sure that every guest leaves our hotel happy and satisfied.
We are in the process of updating our Executive Tower and we take all feedback to heart so that we can make sure that everyone has the best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    123
    67
    29
    23
See reviews for
93
134
23
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in the newer section of this hotel. The hotel is kept clean although there was an ever so slight musty smell. Still though, it was good for our two night stay. There aren't a lot of choices in the area, but I would still say that this is most definitely one of the better ones.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments. We will be sure to look into the slight somewhat musty smell.
We are so glad that you would stay with us again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were driving from Napa down to Huntington Beach in a leisurely way, stopping to visit vineyards, and a young lady at a tasting just north of Santa Maria advised us to stay at the Inn, preferably in the old part. So we took her advice. It's a fine older building with a lot of character--my wife loved seeing the names of famous guests on the doors, mostly filmstars. Excellent, friendly service, and a good breakfast. It's my impression this is probably the most interesting place to stay in Santa Maria.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! We are thrilled to hear that a local winery recommended our hotel. The Original Inn is lots of fun! You feel like you're stepping back into history-only with updated rooms!
Happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast as well! We look forward to having you stay with us again. Might we suggest our Wine Country Package which includes a book with specials on tastings, etc at local wineries and vineyards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

First of all, you have to make a choice. Do you want to stay in the historic section of the hotel?...rooms are updated but tend to be much smaller and a bit more funky- many are named after famous guests who have stayed there. It is the original part of the property.
Or
You can request a Tower room which are quite large, have similar amenities, but is an annex to the main hotel. No history here.
We have stayed in both and always request a Tower room.

Be sure to visit the room off of the lobby which as many photos of the history of the Santa Maria Inn which served a waystation for guests traveling to the William Randolph Hearst's "castle".

A very friendly staff that will point the way to the best wineries, PCPA Theaterfest, and other activities in the area. Fresh cookies in the lobby in the afternoon, free wireless internet in rooms, and local newspaper in the morning. Starbucks off the lobby.

Frequent stop for tour groups so book early.

Within walking distance is Shaws- a popular steakhouse across the street. They feature Santa Maria style- tri tip steak. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
What a wonderful and detailed review. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this! We are so glad that you have stayed with us enough time to know the difference between the Original Inn and our Executive Tower! We would agree that we have the best staff around! We know that without them, we wouldn't be able to keep everything moving so efficiently. Our location is the best in the city, you are right, we are steps away from everything!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was disappointed with this hotel. It is an older building, but I didn't expect the 'old smell' when I walked through the doors. However, the room smelled better (more like a standard hotel room). We didn't use any of the restaurants, which looked like they fit the overall ambience.

Liked the bed in our room. Didn't like the sound of ?? a running toilet ?? water rumbling down a pipe??!? Not sure. I put my headphones in to block out the sound. Also - it was a long walk to our room and no where closer to park. So we dragged our suitcase from one end of the building to the other.

**Nice feature - onsite laundry machines for guests! I wish we had known this (never thought to look it up). $0.75 for a load.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in a beautiful, large room in the tower for only 99.00 over Veteran's Day. Everyone on staff was very friendly. The hotel is clean and comfortable and has a great location for seeing this part of the Central Coast. Don't bother with the Garden Room restaurant - not very good food offered at the breakfast buffet and very understaffed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, but are sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your breakfast experience. We will make sure to address your concerns with our Chef and restaurant manager.
We do hope to see you again and we hope that you will try The Garden Room again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Found this gem of a hotel by pure chance on our travels from South to North California. We were given a large, comfortable room with marbled on-suite bathroom in the old, full of character, historic part of the hotel. The window looked out onto the most beautiful garden with waterfall, heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi, which was amazing as we were able to swim late October! We ended up staying 2 nights then travelling North and returning and staying again on our way back to LA! The food choices, presentation and delicious flavours in the restaurant were the BEST we experienced travelling through California, Nevada and Arizona! Staff were all lovely and so helpful. Unfortunately we do not live closer to experience The Santa Maria Inn more often (live in Scotland, UK)! I have recommended to US family to give it a visit though! On our next trip to the US we will definitely be spending more time here as it is a lovely interesting little town with lots of Museums and is also a good base for the more expensive Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Take a room in the old part of hotel- garden views are gorgeous, also quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
What are wonderfully detailed review of our hotel! Thank you so much! We are so glad that you had such lovely experiences with us! We appreciate all the positive comments and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn

Address: 801 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Maria Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a historic, full-service property located in the heart of Santa Maria along California's beautiful Central Coast. We offer an award-winning Garden Room Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, an Olde English Tap Room and a Wine Cellar and Martini Bar. We also feature an on site massage therapist, heated pool and spa, sauna, fitness facility, salon and barber. We are only minutes from the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail, championship golf, beaches and shopping. Secure your reservations now or take advantage of one of our many packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.