We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beds ~ needs updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Inn to your Saves list
Santa Maria Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice beds ~ needs updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in the junior suite. Pros: The extra space was really nice ~ it allowed us to stay up a bit longer while our toddler slept. The beds were really comfortable, the mattresses seemed newer. There are lots of stores outside the restaurant, so if you need anything it's there. They also serve starbucks lattes downstairs, which was very appreciated in the morning. They also have an iron, a hair dryer and other nice touches. We had nice big windows and the A/C was perfect. Cons: Everything was clean, but I did notice that the bathroom was sorely outdated. Even some of the "updates" were poorly done (holes showing). There was also a very old shower head with a bit of pink mold on it. I think the bathroom needs to be redone. That being said, it was clean. Carpet and paint need updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time or review our hotel! We really appreciate your detailed accounts! Our beds are fantastic, we get so many reviews on them that we even started selling them!
We are actually going to begin upgrading and updating that wing of the hotel early 2014.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    138
    73
    29
    23
See reviews for
103
153
24
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Attended a retirement part that was held at the hotel and stayed the night. The staff was very friendly and observant asking if I needed a room close to the elevators for my parents and a room with ADA amenities.

The food at the dinner as tasty for banquet food.

Make time to explore the old phone booths and take photos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay for the function you attended. We have wonderful staff and they do everything in their power to assure that each guest has the best experience possible.
There is a lot of history in this hotel considering that we are almost 100 years old! The pictures are great!
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Be sure to ask for the historic section. Our room was nicely decorated, the bathroom updated and we had a small outside area overlooking the patio area. Apparently the Santa Maria was a stopping off point of the rich and famous on their way to San Simeon's Hearst Castle.
The staff was exceptional in the pub, restaurant and front desk. Everyone went out of their was to accommodate our every need.
They also have laundry facilities.

Room Tip: Choose the historic section. Room 139
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel! The Original Inn portion that you are describing was built in 1917. There is something to be said about how things were built almost 100 years ago! So happy to hear that you enjoyed the Tap Room as well as our staff! Nothing makes us happier than to read these sort of reviews!
We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for the 5 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Ok, from looking at some of the other guests' photos, I was definitely in the old section of the hotel. As one reviewer put it, it reminded me of my grandmother's home. The hallway had a musty smell, and after turning right, then left, then right, then left again, I had a long walk down a hallway to get to my room. However, once I finally arrived at my room, I found an updated, clean and spacious place to sleep for the night. Flat screen tv, microwave, big comfy king bed awaited me. The bathroom was tiny, as in, I could have washed my hands while sitting on the commode. However, everything in the bathroom was brand new - new toilet, new tub enclosure, new sink, spotless. Hair dryer available in the bathroom as well. This was a perfectly comfortable hotel to stop at on my drive between southern California and northern California. Maybe 5 - 10 minutes off of Highway 101, easy to find. Internet service worked great. Front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly on both check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. By the way you described it, you were definitely in our Original Inn side. We would agree with all the statements you made, the rooms do tend to be smaller on that side of the hotel and some of the bathrooms are tiny. I am glad that you were happy with the quality and could tell that we have updated the rooms.
We are a PERFECT halfway between Southern and Northern California. We hope to see you soon, may we suggest that on your next visit, you try our Executive Tower. The tower was built in the late 1980's are more updated and much larger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights while visiting my son and future daughter-in-law prior to their wedding. Had a couple problems with our room, non operating lights over mirror in bathroom and very weak shower. They fixed the shower, somewhat but not the lights. Next thing we came back on 3rd day in the room after a long day of working on wedding preparations and the air conditioner was off and would not come on. As soon as I went to the front desk, they decided to move us and moved us to a mini suite and let us keep that room the rest of our stay for the same price. We needed some help a couple times for wedding stuff and they were right there. The wedding was not at the hotel but they helped us anyway. We had friends and family in 7 or 8 rooms for several days and all said they were impressed with the service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review! While we are sorry to hear that there were some minor issues with your original room, I am thrilled to hear that we moved and upgraded you to a mini suite.
Also, very happy to hear that your wedding guests enjoyed their stay here as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this property almost yearly for the past 15 years and have never reviewed it. But I want to now. I stayed there late June, 2013 and this was by far the best experience. Tyson at the front desk was outstanding and helpful! The room on the fifth floor was perfect! The staff in the dining room each morning were kind, professional, friendly and helpful.

This really was the best stay ever! I will be returning next year with anticipation! Thank you !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We agree with you, Tyson is an outstanding part of our front office team! The thing about your review that is best, is that you have been staying with us for 15 years! Guests like you make this hotel what it is.
We look forward to having you back for the 16th year soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed (2) nights in the older section before the rest of our family arrived at which time the hotel accomodated us by moving us to the newer tower section. Great wine cellar, great pation to sip coffee in the early a.m. We used the pool once, nothing fancy but very clean. Room service (breakfast) was outstanding and reasonable $$. There was a young man at the front desk (Robert) who was very helpul, and I believe Suzie in the wine cellar? fantastic service. We will stay again!

Room Tip: 256 to search for ghosts or 573 in the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Wonderful! We are SO happy that you had a great stay with us! Our staff is fantastic and we value them more than words would be able to express! Nothing makes us happier than to read reviews like this! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn

Address: 801 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Maria Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a historic, full-service property located in the heart of Santa Maria along California's beautiful Central Coast. We offer an award-winning Garden Room Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, an Olde English Tap Room and a Wine Cellar and Martini Bar. We also feature an on site massage therapist, heated pool and spa, sauna, fitness facility, salon and barber. We are only minutes from the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail, championship golf, beaches and shopping. Secure your reservations now or take advantage of one of our many packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.