We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Inn to your Saves list
Santa Maria Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Old portion is beautiful, with all the wood and stained glass throughout. Very clean and well kept.
Rooms comfortable and well maintained for there age. Electrical service being upgraded. In old section if more than your room is using the heater/AC, might be an electical outage. Sometimes up to three room are on the same electrical curcuit. We had a problem, but was fixed very quickly.

Room Tip: Old section has the charm, new section (the towers) are larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Director of Sales at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We thank you for your business and your review. We appreciate you making mention of some of the rich and often overlooked aspects of the Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your issue was resolved quickly. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    153
    77
    31
    24
See reviews for
117
163
28
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It is a beautiful hotel with spacious rooms. There is even a place to do some lite shopping and even get your nails done. While I longed for a spot in Santa Barbra next to the beach it was an ok location for and price for what was available to me. The service was great and town is nice (just a little small for me) however I would so go back just for the experience plus its not that far from the beach and I do love the beach in the winter I don't know why I'm just weird that way I guess!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Director of Sales at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are glad you were able to get away for a bit and enjoy both the Santa Maria Inn and city itself. We truly appreciate your business and your feedback and hope to have you back with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Level Contributor
251 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! Loved the decor but especially loved the brass stars on some of the rooms to honor the celebrity who stayed there! We stayed in the room next to the "Lee Marvin" room and down the hall from the "Charlie Chaplin", "Bob Hope", "Bing Crosby" and "William Randolph Hearst and Marion Davies" rooms. We had a tasty dinner at the onsite restaurant which is very nice and also enjoyed some cocktails at the pub each night. The price was affordable and the staff were very nice and accommodating. The room was comfortable. We didn't get to go to the Wine and Martini Bar but will the next time we're there. If there is a negative part to our stay it would be that the bathroom was very small.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Director of Sales at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We appreciate your feedback! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy many of the different amenities of our hotel and are pleased you enjoyed yourself. We will look forward to having you back again so that you can enjoy our Wine Cellar and Martini Bar where we offer a great selection of local wines and complimentary nightly hors d'oeuvres; see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were not able to be together as a family unless we went to where my daughter was performing in a show. So, I called several places to see what kind of deal I could get for our family of 5 (which ended up 6 because we took another student in) that would not feel like we were sitting in a hotel room for Christmas. We got a suite that was 900 square feet for an EXCELLENT price! We loved the charm that the Santa Maria Inn had especially at Christmas time! The kids enjoyed the Tap bar and also the Jacuzzi! WE had a fireplace in our room and there were simple but festive touches added to the suite! Anything we needed was brought immediately up to our suite! We enjoyed an amazing brunch on Christmas morning and couldn't have asked for a better experience in our Christmas away from home!

Room Tip: I would just ask to not be near the elevator if you are getting a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Director of Sales at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing both the review and the amazing pictures. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy the holidays with your family and take advantage of the decor and offerings of the Inn during that period of the year. Our Grand Suites are very spacious and comfortable and seemed to be a perfect fit for your family. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our elaborate Christmas brunch as a family. You will have to pay us another visit during the beautiful Central Coast summer months and take advantage of the heated pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was intrigued when this hotel popped up with an economical price tag, and felt it would have to be a more interesting place than a Travelodge or Best Western. I was AMAZED when I walked into the lobby through an old-time revolving door on a chilly December night and was welcomed with cozy fireplaces, big band Christmas music, holiday decorations, and a friendly, attentive staff. My room was on the first floor, parking was convenient, and although I expected the aged building to translate into a noisy night, I slept undisturbed. This historic inn also features a beautiful restaurant where I enjoyed a delicious dinner without forging out into the cold, and my package (ordered online) also included a free breakfast buffet. Both meals were enjoyed near a toasty, crackling fireplace. The hardest thing I had to do on the whole trip was pack up, check out, and leave this lovely place the next morning!

Room Tip: I enjoyed my ground floor room, even though it was in an older part of the hotel. I have no basis f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Director of Sales at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for such an amazing reaction to your stay with us. Our hotel does exude alot of charm and history, especially during the holiday season. We appreciate your interest in our unique property and are glad your interest paid off. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and hope to have you back for yet another stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise. Traveling south to southern CA, we decided to stay here half way. This has the charm of its age. It is a Historic hotel. The room was the largest I have ever stayed in and completely well kept. It is a little noisy on the Broadway street side, but the corner room was worth it. We purchased a package which included breakfast and it was second to none. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful both in the hotel and the restaurant. I would highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Director of Sales at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Very nice! Thank you for the exceptional review and great added pictures. Our hotel is located at a great midway point between Los Angeles and San Francisco and many of our guests make us their destination while enduring that journey! We truly appreciate you sharing your sentiments of the property, the breakfast and the amenities. We will look forward to having you stay with us again along your travels. Maybe next time you can make us your destination and take advantage of our amazing wine and golf packages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at the Santa Maria Inn early December, 2012. This is an older Inn and so the amenities you may get at a newer hotel may be better. The hotel was absolutely charming, historical, well maintained , and clean. The staff was very friendly, except for one bartender. The breakfast buffet was tremendous, not large but very tasty. The grounds were nice and well-maintained. I would definetly go back and probably will.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricManager, Director of Sales at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you kindly for sharing your thoughts. It seems as though you were able to enjoy many aspects the hotel has to offer and enjoy the amenities our guests appreciate. We are happy to hear you considered our property to be clean and well maintained with a friendly staff. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to having you back. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn

Address: 801 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Maria Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a historic, full-service property located in the heart of Santa Maria along California's beautiful Central Coast. We offer an award-winning Garden Room Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, an Olde English Tap Room and a Wine Cellar and Martini Bar. We also feature an on site massage therapist, heated pool and spa, sauna, fitness facility, salon and barber. We are only minutes from the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail, championship golf, beaches and shopping. Secure your reservations now or take advantage of one of our many packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.