We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...if you love wine tasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foxen Canyon Wine Trail

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Foxen Canyon Wine Trail
Santa Maria, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Activities in Santa Maria
Type: Scenic Drives, Trails, Food & Drink
Activities: Driving, Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic trail through vineyards and rolling hills of California's Central Coast wine region.
Waynesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“...if you love wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife is a big wine person and I am less so but I do like wine. The idea of wine tasting sounded as if I would be surrounded by pretentious snobs but I was happily mistaken. My wife and I went wine tasting every night and had a blast every time. The people in So. Cal. are very friendly and knowledgable and they don't mind stupid questions. Had a lot of very good wines and managed to make it back to the hotel every night but sometimes it was close. This was way better than I had expected and I highly recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Interesting wineries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It's just a really pretty ride with interesting wineries w/ their own unique personalities. It's up to you to find which one you like most.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always fun, many great wineries in the area east of Santa Maria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

There are so many wineries east of Santa Maria you could never visit them all in a week. If you like wine tasting the central coast is a great place.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Scenery PLUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The greatest motorcycle ride in California! Just west of the Sierra Madres, beautiful vineyards, oak groves and winding roads. Bicyclists love this ride as well!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Lots of good wine stops, here is one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Kenneth Volk 5230 Tepusquest Rd 93454 805-938-7896. Open 10:30-4. WOW. RECOMMENDED. $10 for 6 tastes (count seemed quite flexible). There were 23 wines open to choose from. Business was pretty good too. Prices for the wines offered ranged from $24-60. There were several discount schemes. Several of the wines were quite good (to us) with a Aglianico 2008 a bit of a stand out. So many choices, too good to miss. Some specials help when buying a case. Hint: do not turn out of the parking lot to the right if you are headed back to Santa Maria! Our Garmin did not seem to mind, but this turned out to be the long lonely windy road!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxen Canyon Wine Trail also viewed

 

Been to Foxen Canyon Wine Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxen Canyon Wine Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.