We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for the Money or Use Points!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2061 North Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Santa Maria
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Money or Use Points!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed at Fairfield Inn & Suites on 07/26-27, 2012. The staff wants to please. The room and bathroom were clean and modern (about 300 sq. ft. total) The bed was great and I slept well. Ask for the parking-lot side of the building as the other side is on a busy parkway, even with their sound-proofing. They have a small inside swiming pool (28' x 15') a hot? tub (96' when I was in it) and a very cute gym that has free weights, 2 treadmills and a cross-country ski machine, all modern equipment. Breakfast was ok with waffels, breads, fruit, yogurt, and Breakfast Sandwichs. Coffee is B-. If I have to be in Santa Maria again, I would come back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for visiting Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and will look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to the Central Coast.

Best regards,
Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
40
30
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

First, hotel is in sketchy area of town. Weird enterance into hotel off of industrial road. Nice looking building when you pull up and very clean enterance and lobby. Problem was checkin. Very rude night person. I about walked out when he challenged me on my rate my company booked. He said I did not have correct I'd to checkin but would make an exception this one time. Long road trip and the last thing I need is a "cockie" check in guy throwing his power around. What the hell is happening to customer service these days. Very tempted to take my business to the hotel across the street but too tired to argue. Room was set up weird. Long enterance into room with small bed area (not designed well). Great bed and tv so went right to sleep. Standard fare for breakfast but nothing special (cereal, bread....standard stuff). Had bikers (bicycle) in hotel so they hogged elevator space but I use the stairs anyway. Just wish Marriott would "up" their game with customer service at their lower end properties. Overall just an "OK" stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

I see your company reserved a State rate - which requires certain guidelines to obtain the rate. All guidelines are provided in detail on the reservation site. As a seasoned traveler and business professional, I am sure you can appreciate appropriate pricing is applied to the appropriate accounts. You presented a Federal Identification Card, which would qualify for a Federal rate, not a State rate.

Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truly sorry.

We plan to review your feedback in detail with our General Manager.

Thank you,

Pam Lyon
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel two nights because we wanted to do a winetour in this district. The staff at the hotel was friendly, but was not able to give us good information about winetours, which we found strange, since this is a wine region. We found a good touring-company on our own, though. The room, especially the bathroom, was spacious and had nice, bright colors. The bed was comfortable! Breakfast has been highly praised at this hotel, but it soon becomes very crowded due to the small space. And when will recycling be introduced?
We were warned not to go by foot to the restaurants in the area, since this was not entirely safe. It was therefore not possible to walk to restaurants, we had to either take a taxi or drive ourself. This was a bit cumbersome, since we had to wait a long time for a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit. I am sorry our staff was not more helpful in providing local wine information as we have a variety of winery information located in our front lobby. We are excited to be introducing personalized wine tours this Fall – a much needed amenity for the Santa Maria area.

Marriott hotels practice eco-friendly procedures, and the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Santa Maria has a recycling program in place.

While some eateries are within a block of the hotel, fine dining establishments do require travel from the hotel. Unfortunately the streets in Santa Maria are not well lit, and our number one concern is the safety of our guest.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Visiting relatives and conducting some business in Santa Maria. Searched for a reasonable hotel near the town center and were not disappointed in our choice. There are many brand name motels in the area and one historic property. But we decided to go for the safe choice. I'm glad we did.The hotel is conveniently located near a freeway exit, the room was spacious and comfortable. We took other Tripadvisor reviewers recommendation and asked for a room away from the freeway noise. There is a little store near the front desk where one can purchase snacks and even frozen dinners. The rooms do not have microwave ovens but we were told we could use the one in the breakfast room area. Nice touch. We were not looking for a resort but were pleasantly surprised to see that there was a gym and pool (which we didn't have time to use).

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for visiting Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Santa Maria and sharing your comments about your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and found the staff to be helpful. Currently our suites offer a microwave and refrigerator however you will be pleased to know that we are in the process of adding microwaves and refrigerators to all rooms.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is fairly new 1-2 yrs old.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable the hotel is laid out like most Marriott Fairfield’s.
When I travel to Santa Maria I always stay at this hotel.
The staff is friendly and stand ready to help with any requests you may have.
Close to several restaurants located in the area.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the parking lot. The rooms located facing the road can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We truly appreciate your business. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We will look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boeblingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was a very modern and new hotel, the shower curtain did not even look like it had ever been used before. A really nice room, facilties available: laundry, pool fitness room and breakfast. Breakfast was not great but well presented and included. Staff were very helpful . The only downside was that we had a room on to the street which was quite loud from the traffic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. When making reservations for your next visit, please do not hesitate to let us know you would prefer lodging on the south-side of the hotel, which should eliminate road noise. We’ll do everything we can to accommodate your request.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Fairfield Inn is a bit pricy for a place without a full breakfast, refrig and micro. There are nearby places to stay with a price of $25-35 cheaper, just as good and provideing this items mentioned. Check it out. We also had some modest issues that should not have occurred and we not addressed as I would have expected.

Room Tip: Check our some of the competition
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am sorry to hear you had some modest issues during your visit. We provide a manager on duty 24-hours per day to assist guest needs. In the future do not hesitate to contact the front desk or manager on duty to allow us an opportunity to meet your needs.

You will be happy to know that hot breakfast items are being considered for introduction next year, and, while our suites currently offer microwaves and refrigerators, we are in the process of adding microwave and refrigerators to all rooms.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria

Address: 2061 North Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Santa Barbara Wine County when visiting Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in Santa Maria California. Cultural attractions, museums, galleries, missions and wine tasting are just a few local attractions you will enjoy when visiting Santa Maria! Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott offers guest rooms & suites, a complimentary business center, fitness center, indoor pool and spa, free internet, on-site market and guest laundry facility. Guests enjoy a complimentary full breakfast served daily featuring waffles, scrambled eggs, fresh seasonal fruits, breakfast meats, biscuits & gravy and more. Area attractions are bountiful with the prime location on California's Central Coast, just south of San Luis Obispo, north of Santa Barbara and minutes from Pismo Beach. A short scenic drive will find you exploring the Danish town of Solvang, wine tasting in Los Olivos, discovering historic treasure in Arroyo Grande, gaming at the Chumash Indian Casino or playing a round of golf at Vandenberg Air Force Base. Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is located in the heart of Santa Maria, home to the world-famous Santa Maria BBQ, near a number of restaurants, shopping and night life. Family fun finds your way across the street to Boomer's for miniature golf and go-carts, or visit the racing action at Santa Maria Speedway! Whether you are in town for business or pleasure, we will look forward to an opportunity to serve you at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott in Santa Maria, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria
Fairfield Inn And Suites Santa Maria
Fairfield Inn Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.