We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Santa Maria to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2079 N. Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel excels in many areas--new, modern, clean. It has a great kitchenette for everything a business trip needs. Free dvd rentals, food store downstairs. Fitness center is good. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the one area this hotel fails in is the most important--bed comfort! The hotel does not offer a king size bed! I'm a tall guy, and when my wife is with me, we need a king size bed. None exist in this hotel. The queen size bed offered is more like a midget queen. That is the smallest queen size bed I've ever been in. The bed was too small for me, and my wife complained I kept waking her up with all my tossing and turning. Quiet level was great, but then I requested a room facing the parking lot--I've learned that from past hotel experience. The other downer about this hotel--no housekeeping service. If you want clean towels, you have go downstairs and get them yourself. Not a big deal, just a minor annoyance.

This hotel excels in all areas, except for the most important--bed comfort. If they started offering king beds, I would give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    42
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
52
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced
Level Contributor
233 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here last year and this year. It is quiet, clean and comfortable. It doesn't have housekeeping everyday, but you can get extra towels at the desk if you wish. They have free coffee all day. They have a bbq area that you can have access to anytime. They also have dvd's that you can watch in your room for free. Just ask to see the list of movies. There are kids' movies which makes it nice if you want to have them calm down after a long travel day. Candlewood Suites is on Broadway in town and is close to shopping, restaurants, and just about anything you need or want.
It's close to the freeway for easy on and off access.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front of the building away from the street if you are a light sleeper. It is right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria CA during your visit to California’s Central Coast region. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again when visiting our area.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Candlewood Suites this last weekend. We were visiting the Santa Ynez Valley on a wine tasting trip with another couple. My husband and I have made several trips to this region, as we love the central coast and all the the valley has to offer. We booked our reservation via Orbitz.com and were pleased with the rate for a 1 Queen bed suite. When we arrived, my husband went in to check in, while myself and our friends unloaded the car. My husband was almost finished with the check-in process , when I came in, with our friends following behind shortly thereafter. Our friends checked in after us, and told the employee that we were all together and would like to have rooms close by, if possible. She obliged, but seemed flustered. At the time I thought nothing of it, until we got to our room and started to unpack. We were given a handicapped room???? Now, neither my husband nor myself are handicapped in any way. We are both 30yrs old, in pretty good shape, and not in need of any kind of assistance. I would assume that a hotel should reserve these rooms for persons with disabilities, correct? I figured maybe it was just a mistake, but not that big of a deal. Then we went next door, before going to dinner, to hang out in our friends' room for a bit, and I was quite surprised! They're room was not a handicapped room, and was much nicer than ours! They had a leather recliner, a granite vanity in the bathroom, and a non-handicapped tub/shower. Ok, fine, I said, I'll just let it go. We returned from dinner, and my husband I then both learned that our shower was awful! Very little water pressure from the shower head and warm water, not hot. I never want to be the person to complain or switch rooms. If we had been staying for longer than 2 nights, I would have demanded a new room, but we sucked it up and dealt with what we were given. I truly believe that we were given this room as a result of receiving a discounted rate via Orbiz, and that the only reason our friends did not receive the same, was due to the fact that our room was assigned to us before the front desk employee realized there were 2 couples traveling together, and she was stuck giving our friends a room close to us.

I don't believe we will be staying at the Candlewood Suites the next time we visit the Santa Ynez Valley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations. We value your business, and would like to address your concerns as quickly as possible.

I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you. Please know that our General Manager will personally be handling your case, and will be in contact with you until this issue is resolved to your satisfaction.

It is our goal to restore your confidence in our hotel by solving this problem and preventing it from happening again.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We are here to visit family that lives about 5 miles up the road and this hotel has exceeded all our expectations. The room is very spacious, and the free laundry facilities is a major plus to wash clothes after a three week trip. The staff at the front desk has been very friendly and helpful and the cupboard store that is open 24 hours a day is a wonderful idea.
We have a full sized refrigerator, small appliances, dishes and storage containers, pots and pans, a comfortable bed and comfortable chairs. Just like home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites for your recent stay in Santa Maria, CA. We have read your comments about our hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

We understand that you have many options in the marketplace, and are pleased that you have made Candlewood Suites your premier choice for lodging accommodations.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I never do a review or take the time to care BUT this hotel was Awsome....... So clean and so quiet. It is like a little house its has everything. Only thing I wish they had was more two bedrooms.... Other than that I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my favorite hotel stay of my three week business trip to California. Great extras, small food shop, exercise room, free laundry, all what you would typically expect from a business suite stay. The part that made my time there special was the staff. Friendly, knowledgeable about the area and they had the best suggestion for places to eat and things to do. They even gave me the low down on the best prices for gas!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria. We will look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights while visiting family. One issue was that the icemaker in the fridge didn't work and leaked on the floor; however, it was fixed promptly. But then how many hotels offer an icemaker IN YOUR ROOM? The internet tended to be slow at night as well. I loved having FREE laundry and the little store in the lobby, as well as a kitchen. With no housekeeping, we were allowed to be messy without having to lock up our electronics and pick up everything every morning as well. I might also add that the staff treated you as family. Very very homey!!!

Room Tip: No restaurant and no kids activities in the hotel but lots in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Candlewood Suites
Santa Maria, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria
5.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 20 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
#2 of 20 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
2.4 mi away
Santa Maria Inn
Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 20 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 20 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Santa Maria
Days Inn Santa Maria
#8 of 20 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Santa Maria

Address: 2079 N. Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Santa Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites is located in Santa Maria California, nestled in the foothills of Santa Barbara County Wine Country. Guests will experience California’s Central Coast beauty, championship golf courses, pristine beaches, performing arts, world famous barbecue, succulent strawberries and picking farms, hiking, festivals and award winning wineries for touring and tasting.Candlewood Suites Santa Maria provides guests with a fitness center, Gazebo BBQ, free guest laundry facility, a complimentary business center, IHG Rewards Club Program and complimentary Internet. Minutes from Candlewood Suites Santa Maria you will find a variety of restaurants, family entertainment, attractions and nightlife. Designed to provide the business traveler and the leisure traveler with extended stay comfort, accommodations offer a kitchen equipped with stove top, full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, plate, silverware, glassware and cookware. Suites also host pillow top mattress, recliner chair, flat panel TV, in-room DVD player & free DVD library. Nearby businesses include Vandenberg Air Force Base, Northrup Grumman Mission Systems, Ratheon, Boeing, Denmat, Marian Medical Center, Santa Maria Speedway, California Space Authority, Cal Trans, Santa Maria Fairpark, Haggerman Sports Complex and Santa Maria Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Venere, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.