We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Santa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Santa Maria to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2079 N. Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Candlewood Suites this last weekend. We were visiting the Santa Ynez Valley on a wine tasting trip with another couple. My husband and I have made several trips to this region, as we love the central coast and all the the valley has to offer. We booked our reservation via Orbitz.com and were pleased with the rate for a 1 Queen bed suite. When we arrived, my husband went in to check in, while myself and our friends unloaded the car. My husband was almost finished with the check-in process , when I came in, with our friends following behind shortly thereafter. Our friends checked in after us, and told the employee that we were all together and would like to have rooms close by, if possible. She obliged, but seemed flustered. At the time I thought nothing of it, until we got to our room and started to unpack. We were given a handicapped room???? Now, neither my husband nor myself are handicapped in any way. We are both 30yrs old, in pretty good shape, and not in need of any kind of assistance. I would assume that a hotel should reserve these rooms for persons with disabilities, correct? I figured maybe it was just a mistake, but not that big of a deal. Then we went next door, before going to dinner, to hang out in our friends' room for a bit, and I was quite surprised! They're room was not a handicapped room, and was much nicer than ours! They had a leather recliner, a granite vanity in the bathroom, and a non-handicapped tub/shower. Ok, fine, I said, I'll just let it go. We returned from dinner, and my husband I then both learned that our shower was awful! Very little water pressure from the shower head and warm water, not hot. I never want to be the person to complain or switch rooms. If we had been staying for longer than 2 nights, I would have demanded a new room, but we sucked it up and dealt with what we were given. I truly believe that we were given this room as a result of receiving a discounted rate via Orbiz, and that the only reason our friends did not receive the same, was due to the fact that our room was assigned to us before the front desk employee realized there were 2 couples traveling together, and she was stuck giving our friends a room close to us.

I don't believe we will be staying at the Candlewood Suites the next time we visit the Santa Ynez Valley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations. We value your business, and would like to address your concerns as quickly as possible.

I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you. Please know that our General Manager will personally be handling your case, and will be in contact with you until this issue is resolved to your satisfaction.

It is our goal to restore your confidence in our hotel by solving this problem and preventing it from happening again.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    40
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
45
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We are here to visit family that lives about 5 miles up the road and this hotel has exceeded all our expectations. The room is very spacious, and the free laundry facilities is a major plus to wash clothes after a three week trip. The staff at the front desk has been very friendly and helpful and the cupboard store that is open 24 hours a day is a wonderful idea.
We have a full sized refrigerator, small appliances, dishes and storage containers, pots and pans, a comfortable bed and comfortable chairs. Just like home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites for your recent stay in Santa Maria, CA. We have read your comments about our hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

We understand that you have many options in the marketplace, and are pleased that you have made Candlewood Suites your premier choice for lodging accommodations.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I never do a review or take the time to care BUT this hotel was Awsome....... So clean and so quiet. It is like a little house its has everything. Only thing I wish they had was more two bedrooms.... Other than that I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my favorite hotel stay of my three week business trip to California. Great extras, small food shop, exercise room, free laundry, all what you would typically expect from a business suite stay. The part that made my time there special was the staff. Friendly, knowledgeable about the area and they had the best suggestion for places to eat and things to do. They even gave me the low down on the best prices for gas!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria. We will look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights while visiting family. One issue was that the icemaker in the fridge didn't work and leaked on the floor; however, it was fixed promptly. But then how many hotels offer an icemaker IN YOUR ROOM? The internet tended to be slow at night as well. I loved having FREE laundry and the little store in the lobby, as well as a kitchen. With no housekeeping, we were allowed to be messy without having to lock up our electronics and pick up everything every morning as well. I might also add that the staff treated you as family. Very very homey!!!

Room Tip: No restaurant and no kids activities in the hotel but lots in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Candlewood Suites
Santa Maria, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Candlewood suites. It was comfortable, allowed cooking and even had an outdoor gas grill (great for the steaks). The ability to cook made the stay more relaxing as you did not have to go out for breakfast or even dinner after running around all day. There are grocery stores nearby and there is very easy access to the 101 freeway. The beds must of been comfortable as we slept very well here. We were originally a little hesitant due to the allowing of pets (allergies) but our room was very clean. The staff was both helpful and friendly making sure our stay was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA during your recent visit to the Central Coast. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We broke up our trip from Santa Rosa to Anaheim by spending a night in Santa Maria. And boy were we tired. We were very pleased with the facilities at the Candlewood: Free laundry, gym and internet with a printer to print out a few coupons.
The cooking facilities in the room was a bonus and included a dishwasher as well, perfect for anyone who was having a longer stay. Wifi was great and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Wish we could have stayed for a bit longer but it was a great place to stop and rest. Be aware that the appliances (especially the dishwasher) are a little loud, so don't turn it on just before you go to bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria. We will look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Santa Maria

Address: 2079 N. Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Santa Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites is located in Santa Maria California, nestled in the foothills of Santa Barbara County Wine Country. Guests will experience California’s Central Coast beauty, championship golf courses, pristine beaches, performing arts, world famous barbecue, succulent strawberries and picking farms, hiking, festivals and award winning wineries for touring and tasting.Candlewood Suites Santa Maria provides guests with a fitness center, Gazebo BBQ, free guest laundry facility, a complimentary business center, IHG Rewards Club Program and complimentary Internet. Minutes from Candlewood Suites Santa Maria you will find a variety of restaurants, family entertainment, attractions and nightlife. Designed to provide the business traveler and the leisure traveler with extended stay comfort, accommodations offer a kitchen equipped with stove top, full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, plate, silverware, glassware and cookware. Suites also host pillow top mattress, recliner chair, flat panel TV, in-room DVD player & free DVD library. Nearby businesses include Vandenberg Air Force Base, Northrup Grumman Mission Systems, Ratheon, Boeing, Denmat, Marian Medical Center, Santa Maria Speedway, California Space Authority, Cal Trans, Santa Maria Fairpark, Haggerman Sports Complex and Santa Maria Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.