We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Santa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Santa Maria to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2079 N. Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Janesville, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights while visiting family. One issue was that the icemaker in the fridge didn't work and leaked on the floor; however, it was fixed promptly. But then how many hotels offer an icemaker IN YOUR ROOM? The internet tended to be slow at night as well. I loved having FREE laundry and the little store in the lobby, as well as a kitchen. With no housekeeping, we were allowed to be messy without having to lock up our electronics and pick up everything every morning as well. I might also add that the staff treated you as family. Very very homey!!!

Room Tip: No restaurant and no kids activities in the hotel but lots in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Candlewood Suites
Santa Maria, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
45
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chardon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Candlewood suites. It was comfortable, allowed cooking and even had an outdoor gas grill (great for the steaks). The ability to cook made the stay more relaxing as you did not have to go out for breakfast or even dinner after running around all day. There are grocery stores nearby and there is very easy access to the 101 freeway. The beds must of been comfortable as we slept very well here. We were originally a little hesitant due to the allowing of pets (allergies) but our room was very clean. The staff was both helpful and friendly making sure our stay was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA during your recent visit to the Central Coast. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We broke up our trip from Santa Rosa to Anaheim by spending a night in Santa Maria. And boy were we tired. We were very pleased with the facilities at the Candlewood: Free laundry, gym and internet with a printer to print out a few coupons.
The cooking facilities in the room was a bonus and included a dishwasher as well, perfect for anyone who was having a longer stay. Wifi was great and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Wish we could have stayed for a bit longer but it was a great place to stop and rest. Be aware that the appliances (especially the dishwasher) are a little loud, so don't turn it on just before you go to bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria. We will look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Wyoming
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Candlewood Suites in early February when visiting family in Santa Maria (Dad’s 70th birthday). Since we were staying 4 nights and sharing a room, your “average” cramped hotel room wouldn’t have suited us. We’re glad we found the Candlewood Suites, which at first had us tearing our hair out because the entrance to the hotel was not on the ‘main drag’ (Broadway) as would usually be the case. The front entrance to both it and the Fairfield Marriott next door is on Roemer Court, which you have to access by turning off Broadway onto Roemer WAY then on Roemer Court, then going around the “back” of the hotel which should be the “front.” Don’t get me started, it was dark at the time!

Front desk clerk Jose was friendly and efficient, bordering on a teeny bit too flirtatious, but he was very helpful throughout our stay. Our room was generously sized, neat and clean. Our kitchenette had a full-size refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker (4-cupper) and stovetop. All dishware and utensils were brand new. No oven, but they rent toaster-ovens for a nominal fee (we didn’t use this service).

Since we spent most of our time out sightseeing and spending time with family, the Candlewood was just a place to lay our heads at the end of the day. But we so enjoyed being able to kick back and relax with a bottle of wine (yes, they have corkscrews people!), make some snacks, maybe watch a movie; the front desk has a DVD library from which you can borrow movies for free, thought that was pretty cool. The beds were very comfortable, pillows and blankets were plentiful. I particularly liked their business center (seeing as though I am not tethered to my iPhone like everyone else LOL). Took advantage of it several times to check e-mail, print boarding passes, maps, etc. There was never a wait and it was always neat. Other facilities on-site that we did not partake of were a small convenience store, gym and laundry service.

Inconveniences – aside from finding the door LOL - were minor, but for what it’s worth, they don’t have a continental breakfast service (which I never use at other hotels anyway – too many carbs), and most restaurants are not within walking distance. In order to get towels or linens exchanged, you have to physically walk them down to the front desk, which I personally didn’t mind, but someone who is elderly or disabled may find that problematic. The Candlewood is definitely catering to the extended stay market, so maid service is only provided once a week.
All that aside, if I ever get the chance to revisit Santa Maria, I would definitely stay at the Candlewood Suites again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from Broadway are quieter; actual hotel entrance is on Roemer Court NOT Roemer Way
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experience in finding our front door. It sounds as if you were able to enjoy your family and friends and a special belated happy 70th birthday to your dad from all of us at the Candlewood Suites Santa Maria!

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

On the road for a living, staying approx. 130 nights per year in hotels,and about 36 of them in this facility, this is a GREAT stop! All suites have everything you need to cook including full size fridge. Love to cook for a change from restaraunts and fast food. From check in to check out this place gets it! Staff always makes me feel welcome and at home. Will vacation here too. Thanks and keep up the Great Job!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria. We will look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've stayed at this property on a couple occasions. To be honest, it's very nice. Well appointed rooms with full kitchens. Clean. Friendly staff. Free DVDs available at the front desk. However, their Pet Policy of a non-refundable $75 per night is very excessive when compared to other properties. That was more than the rate for the room! We'll think twice before returning with our pet to this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your comment and for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA for your lodging. Our pet fees are used to deep clean each room after a pet departs. It is a timely and somewhat expensive process to assure a guest staying in a room is not subjected to allergic reactions. A one-time fee of $75 for 1 to 6 nights lodging is charged, not $75 per night. Our pet policy and fees are stated on our reservation page as well as at check in. We love pets too however the pet fee is a Candlewood Suites franchise standard, based throughout the chain. We will however address your comment with the franchise.

Thank you again for staying with Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA.

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our first stay. We stay several nights while visiting family. Everything was excellent. Clean, professional, comfortable.

Hard to find the entrance to the hotel from the 101. From either the north or south exit at Broadway, go down a block and turn left onto the first side street (Roemer Court) to get into the parking lot.

Room Tip: For best price book non-refundable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria CA during your visit to California’s Central Coast region. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again when visiting our area.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Santa Maria

Address: 2079 N. Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Santa Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites is located in Santa Maria California, nestled in the foothills of Santa Barbara County Wine Country. Guests will experience California’s Central Coast beauty, championship golf courses, pristine beaches, performing arts, world famous barbecue, succulent strawberries and picking farms, hiking, festivals and award winning wineries for touring and tasting.Candlewood Suites Santa Maria provides guests with a fitness center, Gazebo BBQ, free guest laundry facility, a complimentary business center, IHG Rewards Club Program and complimentary Internet. Minutes from Candlewood Suites Santa Maria you will find a variety of restaurants, family entertainment, attractions and nightlife. Designed to provide the business traveler and the leisure traveler with extended stay comfort, accommodations offer a kitchen equipped with stove top, full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, plate, silverware, glassware and cookware. Suites also host pillow top mattress, recliner chair, flat panel TV, in-room DVD player & free DVD library. Nearby businesses include Vandenberg Air Force Base, Northrup Grumman Mission Systems, Ratheon, Boeing, Denmat, Marian Medical Center, Santa Maria Speedway, California Space Authority, Cal Trans, Santa Maria Fairpark, Haggerman Sports Complex and Santa Maria Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.