We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Owners Beware” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Santa Maria

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Santa Maria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2079 N. Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Santa Maria
Valencia, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pet Owners Beware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've stayed at this property on a couple occasions. To be honest, it's very nice. Well appointed rooms with full kitchens. Clean. Friendly staff. Free DVDs available at the front desk. However, their Pet Policy of a non-refundable $75 per night is very excessive when compared to other properties. That was more than the rate for the room! We'll think twice before returning with our pet to this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your comment and for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA for your lodging. Our pet fees are used to deep clean each room after a pet departs. It is a timely and somewhat expensive process to assure a guest staying in a room is not subjected to allergic reactions. A one-time fee of $75 for 1 to 6 nights lodging is charged, not $75 per night. Our pet policy and fees are stated on our reservation page as well as at check in. We love pets too however the pet fee is a Candlewood Suites franchise standard, based throughout the chain. We will however address your comment with the franchise.

Thank you again for staying with Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA.

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    35
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
40
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
europe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our first stay. We stay several nights while visiting family. Everything was excellent. Clean, professional, comfortable.

Hard to find the entrance to the hotel from the 101. From either the north or south exit at Broadway, go down a block and turn left onto the first side street (Roemer Court) to get into the parking lot.

Room Tip: For best price book non-refundable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria CA during your visit to California’s Central Coast region. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again when visiting our area.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I have tried multiple suites in this area. The Candlewood gives you a small apartment, with full kitchen minus oven. Housekeeping only comes once a week, which I prefer for an extended stay. Free laundry and gym are nice bonuses.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA during your recent visit to the Central Coast. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here while visiting family. The staff were excellent and efficient even when we arrived at 2:00 AM! The room had a kitchenette with coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and stove with all the pots, pans, utensils. There was even a bag of microwavable popcorn in the microwave. The king size bed was comfortable with very soft pillows. The bathroom was large with additional drawers and space. We could have lived here as we had everything we needed to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. All in all, it was clean, efficient, accessible. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Broadway Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria CA during your visit to California’s Central Coast region. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again when visiting our area.

Happy travels!

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed a night on our way from So Cal to Central California. Our first time with the Candlewood brand and was impressed by the number of additional add-ins/ammenties provided for the very reasonable price. Here's my run down on this property:

PROs:
- Very friendly staff and quick check in and check out
- Fee Wi-Fi and free parking. Business center you can use the computer and printers for free as well
- Free use of laundry facilities, but need to bring your own supplies
- We had a single queen bed suite and it had a stove, microwave, full size fridge and dish washer. All utensils, plates and drinkware are also in the cabinets.
- Flat screen TV with plenty of channels
- Bed was quite comfortable with cozy conforters for the cool nights
- Hair Dryer and iron are also in the room

Cons
- No breakfast provided, but there is a pantry in the main lobby that you can purchase fruits and snacks
- Location ... not much of anything is around within walking distance if you want to take a stroll.
- Very hard to find the entrance to the hotel from the main road ... you need to go down a block and turn onto a side street to get into the parking lot.
- Very slow elevators

The overall hotel was mordern and inviting. We would definately look into staying here, as well as try out our hotels from this chain in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA during your recent visit to the Central Coast. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stopped here on the way to the Bay Area from LA. I am a Priority Club member and they upgraded me, so I don't know what the regular rooms look like, but ours was very large and very comfortable. I was especially pleased with the bathroom being outside of the bedroom so my husband could get up early and make a breakfast and use the bathroom, and I can close the door and sleep in more.
They do not offer a free breakfast and there is no coffee shop around, so that was a drawback, but not enough for us to not come back. Next time we will bring some foods for breakfast and make them in the kitchenette, which offered everything one would need. We ended up buying some oatmeal packets and bananas downstairs, but we needed to be on our way. They have a little area where you can buy various needed items. Nothing particularly appetising, unfortunately, and all cereals had high sugar content.
But we really liked the quiet location and the room layout. The bed was quite comfortable and the pillows were fine. I am a stickler for decent pillows and I have had much worse.
We picked a DVD out of the shelf to watch and that was fine, also, the location right off highway 101 is easy to get to.
However--please note that you do not access the driveway to the hotel from the main road, you have to go around the back, which is weird, but we eventually found it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria. We will look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

One night stay on our Highway One road trip. No problems at all. Inexpensive and basic but had everything we needed, was clean and safe. Pleasantly surprised, if only the chain were this consistent. Well done and thank you. We usually stay at 5* hotels, and whilst this place doesnt pretend to be 5* we really enjoyed our stay - just what we needed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA during your recent visit to the Central Coast. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Santa Maria

Address: 2079 N. Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Santa Maria 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites is located in Santa Maria California, nestled in the foothills of Santa Barbara County Wine Country. Guests will experience California’s Central Coast beauty, championship golf courses, pristine beaches, performing arts, world famous barbecue, succulent strawberries and picking farms, hiking, festivals and award winning wineries for touring and tasting.Candlewood Suites Santa Maria provides guests with a fitness center, Gazebo BBQ, free guest laundry facility, a complimentary business center, IHG Rewards Club Program and complimentary Internet. Minutes from Candlewood Suites Santa Maria you will find a variety of restaurants, family entertainment, attractions and nightlife. Designed to provide the business traveler and the leisure traveler with extended stay comfort, accommodations offer a kitchen equipped with stove top, full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, plate, silverware, glassware and cookware. Suites also host pillow top mattress, recliner chair, flat panel TV, in-room DVD player & free DVD library. Nearby businesses include Vandenberg Air Force Base, Northrup Grumman Mission Systems, Ratheon, Boeing, Denmat, Marian Medical Center, Santa Maria Speedway, California Space Authority, Cal Trans, Santa Maria Fairpark, Haggerman Sports Complex and Santa Maria Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Candlewood Suites Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.