We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Santa Maria

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Santa Maria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2079 N. Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Santa Maria
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here while visiting family. The staff were excellent and efficient even when we arrived at 2:00 AM! The room had a kitchenette with coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and stove with all the pots, pans, utensils. There was even a bag of microwavable popcorn in the microwave. The king size bed was comfortable with very soft pillows. The bathroom was large with additional drawers and space. We could have lived here as we had everything we needed to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. All in all, it was clean, efficient, accessible. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Broadway Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria CA during your visit to California’s Central Coast region. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again when visiting our area.

Happy travels!

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    38
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
41
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed a night on our way from So Cal to Central California. Our first time with the Candlewood brand and was impressed by the number of additional add-ins/ammenties provided for the very reasonable price. Here's my run down on this property:

PROs:
- Very friendly staff and quick check in and check out
- Fee Wi-Fi and free parking. Business center you can use the computer and printers for free as well
- Free use of laundry facilities, but need to bring your own supplies
- We had a single queen bed suite and it had a stove, microwave, full size fridge and dish washer. All utensils, plates and drinkware are also in the cabinets.
- Flat screen TV with plenty of channels
- Bed was quite comfortable with cozy conforters for the cool nights
- Hair Dryer and iron are also in the room

Cons
- No breakfast provided, but there is a pantry in the main lobby that you can purchase fruits and snacks
- Location ... not much of anything is around within walking distance if you want to take a stroll.
- Very hard to find the entrance to the hotel from the main road ... you need to go down a block and turn onto a side street to get into the parking lot.
- Very slow elevators

The overall hotel was mordern and inviting. We would definately look into staying here, as well as try out our hotels from this chain in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA during your recent visit to the Central Coast. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stopped here on the way to the Bay Area from LA. I am a Priority Club member and they upgraded me, so I don't know what the regular rooms look like, but ours was very large and very comfortable. I was especially pleased with the bathroom being outside of the bedroom so my husband could get up early and make a breakfast and use the bathroom, and I can close the door and sleep in more.
They do not offer a free breakfast and there is no coffee shop around, so that was a drawback, but not enough for us to not come back. Next time we will bring some foods for breakfast and make them in the kitchenette, which offered everything one would need. We ended up buying some oatmeal packets and bananas downstairs, but we needed to be on our way. They have a little area where you can buy various needed items. Nothing particularly appetising, unfortunately, and all cereals had high sugar content.
But we really liked the quiet location and the room layout. The bed was quite comfortable and the pillows were fine. I am a stickler for decent pillows and I have had much worse.
We picked a DVD out of the shelf to watch and that was fine, also, the location right off highway 101 is easy to get to.
However--please note that you do not access the driveway to the hotel from the main road, you have to go around the back, which is weird, but we eventually found it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria. We will look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

One night stay on our Highway One road trip. No problems at all. Inexpensive and basic but had everything we needed, was clean and safe. Pleasantly surprised, if only the chain were this consistent. Well done and thank you. We usually stay at 5* hotels, and whilst this place doesnt pretend to be 5* we really enjoyed our stay - just what we needed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA during your recent visit to the Central Coast. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great hotel for a 1 night stay on a road trip down the Californian coast. We stopped off here as the hotels in San Luis Obispo were too expensive for a 1 night stay when only seeking a room for the night. We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Very nice, large rooms and close to the highway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for selecting Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, CA during your recent visit to the Central Coast. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived very late on a Friday night and left early Saturday morning, so our stay was for sleep only. The hotel is was great for that purpose, much better than a comparably priced motor lodge we were considering. The location is right off the highway at the north end of Santa Maria. The hotel is newer construction with a well-lit parking lot out front. Our room happened to be a disabled accessible room on the first floor. It had a nice kitchenette with a full sized fridge, microwave, 2-burner stove top, coffee maker, and toaster oven. There were plenty of towels, and the shower was hot. Our window faced the highway but we didn't notice the traffic noise at night with the double paned windows. The staff was friendly and although the office was closed when we arrived, you just ring the phone located in the entrance area and someone opens it up for you and checks you in. My only complaints are (1) we could not use the air conditioner/heater because once it was turned on it triggered the fire alarm (embarrassing) and being on the first floor facing the highway we didn't feel comfortable leaving the window open while we slept, and (2) our room had a strong, unpleasant food grease odor which I assume was left by a previous guest. The air/heater would not have been an issue had the room not smelled, and if we could have aired out the room by leaving the window open the smell would likely have dissipated. Since we arrived so late and were leaving early, we just dealt with it. I would stay here again on a road trip but I would ask for a different room and/or a higher level if I experienced the same issues.

Room Tip: Ask for the second or third floor so you can comfortably leave the window open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent visit. Situations as you have described are not typical at this hotel nor are they acceptable for our guests. We will address these matters immediately with our staff and appreciate that you have brought them to our attention.

We appreciate your business and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I love Candlewood Suites. There are times when you want a high class 5 star resort and then there are times (like when you are traveling America's highways) when you need the good consistency of a place like Candlewood Suites.

This hotel was awesome. The staff were beyond friendly. The rooms were new and immaculately clean. The location was great.

We were driving up the coast and nearly everywhere in the big coastal towns were completely booked. So I decided to go a little inland and stay here in Santa Maria for the night. I was glad I did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Preacher Shane,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit at Candlewood Suites Santa Maria CA. We will look forward to seeing you next time you are visiting the Central Coast.

Happy travels,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Santa Maria

Address: 2079 N. Roemer Court, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Santa Maria 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites is located in Santa Maria California, nestled in the foothills of Santa Barbara County Wine Country. Guests will experience California’s Central Coast beauty, championship golf courses, pristine beaches, performing arts, world famous barbecue, succulent strawberries and picking farms, hiking, festivals and award winning wineries for touring and tasting.Candlewood Suites Santa Maria provides guests with a fitness center, Gazebo BBQ, free guest laundry facility, a complimentary business center, IHG Rewards Club Program and complimentary Internet. Minutes from Candlewood Suites Santa Maria you will find a variety of restaurants, family entertainment, attractions and nightlife. Designed to provide the business traveler and the leisure traveler with extended stay comfort, accommodations offer a kitchen equipped with stove top, full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, plate, silverware, glassware and cookware. Suites also host pillow top mattress, recliner chair, flat panel TV, in-room DVD player & free DVD library. Nearby businesses include Vandenberg Air Force Base, Northrup Grumman Mission Systems, Ratheon, Boeing, Denmat, Marian Medical Center, Santa Maria Speedway, California Space Authority, Cal Trans, Santa Maria Fairpark, Haggerman Sports Complex and Santa Maria Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.