We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my place to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Solaire Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Solaire Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Solaire Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1995 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
the Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not my place to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Modern and clean room, but no chairs!! You have to sit on your bed!
No pool, no place to sit outside, poor breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
10
27
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England/
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I picked this hotel primarily because of the price....it was the cheapest rate in Santa Maria. In the grand scheme of things, it was a high price to pay for just how basic it was, but that seems to be the going rate in Santa Maria/San Luis Obispo. The carpet did have a stain, as did the covers. But the room and bathroom were both very modern, and the facilities were more than adaquate, but no pool. One word to sum it up...basic, but he best deal about and therefore has to be recommended,.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed here primarily because of the price. Middle of the week the rates were lower than anywhere else in town. BUT..., you get what you pay for.

Cons:
- Rooms are small and have no closets.
- There are no chairs in the room; they've been "on order" for more than 6 months.
- Despite being newly remodeled, the rooms have developed a distinct, old motel smell. Not horrible, but a bit unpleasant.
- Noisy, particularly from the street, but compounded by the 24 hour running of large rooftop air conditioners at the center across the parking lot.
- The "continental breakfast" consisted of a box (honestly, a PINK box!) of day old doughnuts and a pot of horrible coffee.

Pros:
- Price.
- Wireless internet worked very well, fast and no downtime.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Maria hotels

san diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Wonder ful experience.. thinking of other places i have stayed at in santa maria.. this is by far a beautiful place.......close to all..........definately staying there once a month :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

I booked directly with the facility and stayed there while attending a class @ the nearby community college, where the classes started early and ended late daily.
I made it clear when I checked in that I'd appreciate access to the advertised continental breakfast. The first day coffee wasn't ready @ 0700 and pastries were obtained via owners family hoofing it down to the adjacent bakery.
The advertised wireless internet was not available...I was issued a (too short) cord to plug into a wall outlet..and then there were no chairs in the room to sit on..you could either try stretching the cord to edge of the bed or end up sitting on your ice chest (neither a very comfortable/acceptable solution).
Bathroom did indeed have a very cold floor..and a totally useless, "mod" washbasin that had no plug or stopper.
I also did not receive any room service on my 4th day of a five day stay. I was told "work in progress re: internet & missing chairs..but renovations had been completed late 2008 & my stay was March of 2009.
All that being said, the decor of the room was absolutely top notch..spacious bed..lovely duvet..stylish curtains..rugs..furnishings.
When I go back to the area later this year, I hope that the "finishing touches" have been applied.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Should have known by the name...you get what you pay for. This place had the basics and that was it. I really didn't like that it was literally in the middle of town. There was a really dingy BBQ place next door and we could hear the traffic from our room.
Someone else mentioned the cold bathroom tile..yes...also when you turned on the light the cold fan came on too...
Would I stay here again? If I really really really really had to...but nothing to write home about !

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Going on the two previous reviews, I booked a room here for two nights. It was very clean and new and the bed is huge. They had what looked like a down comforter on the bed with 4 pillows. The bathroom is huge, but there is no heat in there and the tile floor is freezing cold in the morning. Also, the sink is a stand alone vanity and the only place to put your toiletries is underneath on shelves. There was absolutely no counter space in the bathroom. There is also no Kleenex provided and there was only one trashcan and it too is in the bathroom.

The odd feature of the room is the closet is in the bathroom. There are two great mirror doors on it, but if there is somebody in there already, and the door is closed, you have to wait to get to your clothing stored in there. A little inconvenient.

There is no mirror in the main room and during our stay there was no chairs or table. We had to sit on the bed whenever in the room.

I discussed these concerns with the owners and they listened and thanked me for my concern, The chairs are on order they assured me and they would look into the other matters.

It is a very clean establishment, quiet, and the grounds are neat and tidy. It could be a great place to stay with a little work.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solaire Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaire Inn and Suites

Address: 1995 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Solaire Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's one thing to claim you are environmentally friendly. It's another to prove it in everything you do. The Solaire Inn and Suites, the first entirely eco-friendly hotel in the Santa Maria California Region, does just that.Water is our most precious resource. Low flush toilets and low flow showerheads were installed in every guest room at the Solaire Inn and Suites. Our low flush toilets save over half a gallon of water with each flush compared to regular toilets. Native and drought landscape around the hotel also helps reduce water use.We believe that every bit helps, no matter how big or small. We make it easy for guests to recycle and conserve resources when they stay at Solaire inn & Suites. Recycle bins are located in every guest room and throughout the property. Complimentary newspapers are available in the lobby rather than delivered to every guest room, and guests are encouraged to re-use their bath towel.This summer, 100 LED lighting will be in place. In addition, we will also be offering an Electric Car Charging Station. The Solaire inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located near several area attractions and local points of interest. Pacific Conservatory of the Performing Arts theater, the Santa Maria Speedway, the Santa Maria Public Airport, Vandenburg Air Force Base and The Natural History Museum are all just minutes away from this Santa Maria, CA hotel. Nearby cities include Pismo Beach, Lompoc, San Luis Obispo, Shell Beach and Avila Beach.The hotel is nestled in the foothills of Santa Barbara County wine country. Explore the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail that runs through the area showcasing miles of sprawling vineyards. Several golf courses are in the area along with a number of lakes and beaches. There are many restaurants, cocktail lounges and shops close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Solaire Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solaire Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.