We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for a stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solaire Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Solaire Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Solaire Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1995 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Decent for a stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here while traveling down the coast because everywhere in the surrounding areas was too expensive. Clean room, felt like it was recently renovated and definitely larger than most motel rooms that I am used to. Only one level- which means nobody stomping on your ceiling. Felt a little shady at night- I noticed that adjacent rooms were getting their doors knocked on all night, so escorts might be using the place. Not recommended for families. Walls didn't have great sound insulation- could definitely hear the neighbors. Sheets and comforter stiff. Free internet was promised but didn't work.. calls to the front desk after check-in received no replies.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
10
27
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The rooms seem to have been recently renovated and are nice looking. However, there was a nasty stain on the wall next to the bed, the towels were threadbare and small, and there was absolutely no place in the room to plug in our electronics. One measly bar of soap to transfer between the tub and sink. The parking lot was very noisy at 6 AM. They advertise their normal rates as $199 but we got a $79 rate from Hotels.com and thought we were getting a $199 room. No way.
The other complaint is the "continental breakfast" which was in the tiny lobby with three bar stools for seating. One 12 cup pot of coffee, powdered creamer, and pre-packaged 3" danish pastry. Not even a bowl of fruit.

Room Tip: Go with the Travelodge down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

.
The coke machine was empty, and the "Free continental breakfast" was a joke! Very disappointing. It isn't your typical continental breakfast. It was in the hotel lobby with only packaged Danishes and granola bars with no place to sit down.
This was my only complaint.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great hotel just off the 101 highway.

This hotel looks small from the outside but we couldn't have been more wrong!
Huge room with a really comfy bed and great bathroom!
Cheap rate is amazing and would say this is one of the best rooms we have stayed in ( having just completed our trip from San Fran-LA-Vegas).
Loved the fact it's a green-environmental hotel!

Breakfast is only coffee and pastries from reception but as we used this hotel as a stop over on our way to LA, we welcomed the treat.

Would highly recommend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

After our journey across the coast of California we found this little motel. Solaire Inn is an evironmentally friendly hotel and has good quality, for a good price, a nice room (but not much of a breakfast though). Free wifi, good tv!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

So this was a Travel-lodge that underwent a superficial makeover. They installed auto light switches, became stingy with towels, and filled in the pool and called it a "green" hotel. If you have to stay in Santa Maria (which is kind of a [--] to begin with) I guess this is an adequate place to stay. If your expectations are anything above a fairly clean place to stay next to the highway then you will be highly disappointed. This place is basic and not at all worth the price they are charging. Check in with a young Indian guy was easy, but not exactly welcoming. Check out with what i assume was his mom was fine, but I am not sure she understood one word i said. Neither were any help with anything about the area. Stay in Orcutt if you are coming through this area. This place kind of sucks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked a double room for a friend and I for a one night stay. Fairly last minute for a friend's wedding, pretty much everything else in town was booked. Nice enough motel,but little things about the room were off such as no alarm clock and no covering for the box spring. The mini fridge they have hummed all night. It got really damn warm in the middle of the night so at about 1:30 AM we decided to turn on the AC, which was a poor choice. Beyond loud, the loudest AC unit I have ever had the experience of dealing with. Had to turn it off and just sweat off a couple pounds that night. Make sure you get a unit with a half decent AC and this is a pretty decent motel. A small step above Motel 6 and the like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solaire Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaire Inn and Suites

Address: 1995 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Solaire Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's one thing to claim you are environmentally friendly. It's another to prove it in everything you do. The Solaire Inn and Suites, the first entirely eco-friendly hotel in the Santa Maria California Region, does just that.Water is our most precious resource. Low flush toilets and low flow showerheads were installed in every guest room at the Solaire Inn and Suites. Our low flush toilets save over half a gallon of water with each flush compared to regular toilets. Native and drought landscape around the hotel also helps reduce water use.We believe that every bit helps, no matter how big or small. We make it easy for guests to recycle and conserve resources when they stay at Solaire inn & Suites. Recycle bins are located in every guest room and throughout the property. Complimentary newspapers are available in the lobby rather than delivered to every guest room, and guests are encouraged to re-use their bath towel.This summer, 100 LED lighting will be in place. In addition, we will also be offering an Electric Car Charging Station. The Solaire inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located near several area attractions and local points of interest. Pacific Conservatory of the Performing Arts theater, the Santa Maria Speedway, the Santa Maria Public Airport, Vandenburg Air Force Base and The Natural History Museum are all just minutes away from this Santa Maria, CA hotel. Nearby cities include Pismo Beach, Lompoc, San Luis Obispo, Shell Beach and Avila Beach.The hotel is nestled in the foothills of Santa Barbara County wine country. Explore the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail that runs through the area showcasing miles of sprawling vineyards. Several golf courses are in the area along with a number of lakes and beaches. There are many restaurants, cocktail lounges and shops close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Solaire Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solaire Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.