We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solaire Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Solaire Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Solaire Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1995 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Santa Maria
FL
1 review
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

For a small inn they have put all the stops out, its beautiful, well kept and clean. AND they are going green beats the large motels. the rooms and the bathroom are all well designed and very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
8
22
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

One of the best Inns I have stayed at. Each room has two rooms and then a bathroom. $very reasonable price per night (So when I was helping a friend move and the first thing he moved was all his mattresses…) this was a great Win Win on convenience.

The rooms were very clean, floor was not dusty (one of my pet peeves with many hotels… the dust) the bedding was white and you could tell that there was no stains and every room had great flat screen T.V.s that had a lot of channels available to completely pass out to.

Above all of this, I later found out, it is a green hotel. Meaning that it gives a % of profits back to the rain forest and uses LED lights –many other features about green technology but I had a great sleep, clean rooms and no dust- 5/5 for me.

Room Tip: The room with a large tub is awesome for aches and pains to be bubbled away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The man managing the desk was completely useless. Although we were checking in at 8:30 pm, we had a reservation so I felt he was extreme curt since he knew we were coming. The next morning, the "Continental Breakfast" They offered us were prepackaged pastries and granola bars. They didn't even have water or coffee out! Had to call 3 times to ask basic questions since the rooms have no information in them, and the manager was so rude when we got there that we didn't feel comfortable at check in. The walls are paper thin, so our neighbor's noises made it rather difficult to sleep. Nothing about it was pleasant. Additionally, other than having electric car charging, I have no idea what was eco-friendly about it. The toilets were all high flow, not even florescent light bulbs. Horrible hotel. Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was travelling with my family the green Eco sign caught my eye..
My stay was everything i expected loved every aspect of this small inn very clean,
spacious friendly staff and price was right,
i would say right motel for a right price

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin p, Manager at Solaire Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Ive spent the same amount of money for much more in a hotel which is why i dont rate this one higher. I would stay here again but as a third or fourth choice in SM. I think it was higher cost because of the greenness of the place but i dont know. If that is the case i think they should make a bigger deal out of it. If not then i would feel dissapointed with my stay. The staff were great the location was good and my wife liked that it was clean. Thats it. Nothing more to say about an average stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I'd say the place is all right if you look for a cheap place to crash for a night. Staff was friendly enough. The room seemed dated and slightly shabby, but had everything we needed. Definitively nothing to rave about.

In theory they do have free wireless internet, but we were not able to make it work. We didn't have the breakfast.

All in all, you get what you pay for.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This Eco friendly hotel really dose live up to its standards I was traveling with two other couples from washington dc my first impression as we arrived the hotel lobby was a very modern clean look smelt tropical in there the rooms were wonderful big clean white throw down comforters large bathrooms with ful size window closet doors the flat screen tv was a plus for me and the hair dryer. The hotel staff were very helpful they helped plan our day and sent us to all the right places for wine tasting and a very very awesome steak dinner at the hitching post.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solaire Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaire Inn and Suites

Address: 1995 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Solaire Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's one thing to claim you are environmentally friendly. It's another to prove it in everything you do. The Solaire Inn and Suites, the first entirely eco-friendly hotel in the Santa Maria California Region, does just that.Water is our most precious resource. Low flush toilets and low flow showerheads were installed in every guest room at the Solaire Inn and Suites. Our low flush toilets save over half a gallon of water with each flush compared to regular toilets. Native and drought landscape around the hotel also helps reduce water use.We believe that every bit helps, no matter how big or small. We make it easy for guests to recycle and conserve resources when they stay at Solaire inn & Suites. Recycle bins are located in every guest room and throughout the property. Complimentary newspapers are available in the lobby rather than delivered to every guest room, and guests are encouraged to re-use their bath towel.This summer, 100 LED lighting will be in place. In addition, we will also be offering an Electric Car Charging Station. The Solaire inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located near several area attractions and local points of interest. Pacific Conservatory of the Performing Arts theater, the Santa Maria Speedway, the Santa Maria Public Airport, Vandenburg Air Force Base and The Natural History Museum are all just minutes away from this Santa Maria, CA hotel. Nearby cities include Pismo Beach, Lompoc, San Luis Obispo, Shell Beach and Avila Beach.The hotel is nestled in the foothills of Santa Barbara County wine country. Explore the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail that runs through the area showcasing miles of sprawling vineyards. Several golf courses are in the area along with a number of lakes and beaches. There are many restaurants, cocktail lounges and shops close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Solaire Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solaire Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.