We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Santa Cruz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6001 la Madrona Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Breckenridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Convenient to Santa Cruz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very typical, expected Hilton. Nice, clean room, comfortable bed. No late night dining, but there is a Taco Bell and Burger King about a mile away. Lots of other dining nearby, but not late (10pm).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSC, General Manager at Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Jennibeans,

Thanks for the comments and hope to see you return again soon.

Sincerely,
Rich Higdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    210
    91
    28
    12
See reviews for
200
183
32
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here after visiting Monterey the night before our flight from SFO. The hotel is pretty new and everything is nice. We booked online through the hotel's site and got a good discount for the king room.
We were in 6262 and had a nice view of the trees/foothills of the mountains. The room and bathroom were spacious, and we had a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker (or tea), and bar sink in the room. Bathroom had great towels and nice soap, lotion, shampoo, and the elusive conditioner. Bed and pillows were comfortable.
We were able to leave the window open for air. The pool was nice and not crowded. Parking and Wi-Fi were free. There was no complimentary breakfast, but we had leftovers from dinner the night before that we stored in the fridge and microwaved. The front desk also had apples.
There is a free business center that we used for online check-in for our flight and to print boarding passes and directions to the airport. The front desk staff were very nice and suggested the route to take to the airport (GPS and internet gave different routes). The airport was only about an hour from the hotel, which was nice...we planned for a little longer, just in case, but that was not necessary (if you tend to drive a little faster than most, beware of police with radar on way to SFO, especially on 280!).
Overall, it was a great hotel and stay! Friendly staff, too!
(As far as restaurants, the hotel had one, but we did not eat there...there were also a few we noticed near the hotel but really there was not too much around that we saw but we did not need anything.)

Room Tip: You may prefer a room with a view facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSC, General Manager at Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear InternetBarbie,

Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton Santa Cruz/Scotts Valley Hotel. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the amenities of the property to your liking. We look forward to servicing your travel needs in the future, should you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Rich Higdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Santa Cruz which is actually located in Scotts Valley. Priceline assigned us this three star hotel after we "won" the hotel at $120. We checked in around 7 pm and was quickly assigned a room with two queen beds. I was initially worried since this hotel does allow dogs to stay overnight but, the room was very clean and neat with no unpleasant odors. The hotel is situated right off the highway. We heard no road noise since the hotel is set back from the street. There is are grocery stores (Safeway, Nob Hill), Walgreen's, Radio Shack and numberous restaurants located just down the road from the hotel. The hotel is located about a 15 minute drive to Santa Cruz Boardwalk and is very close to the Roaring Railroads.

I would not hestitate to stay here again whenever, we are in the area. It was easy to run to the store to pick up anything we may have forgotten at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSC, General Manager at Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Smartstart,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Santa Cruz/Scotts Valley Hotel. We hope to see you return in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rich Higdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Enjoyable stay, out of the business of the rat race.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This property is very nice on the exterior, the way it is built into the hillside and landscaped is nice. The inside is somewhat like a mountain lodge in the common areas.

I travel constantly and thought we would get a room upgrade w/ the HHonors VIP program, but I was informed because we got a very good rate they would not upgrading our room. I called the hotel twice to inquire about their rooms and location and both times the desk staff were not helpful.

Upon arrival the young woman was very friendly and accomodating. Our room was a standard King room. The room was liveable but felt more like a Hilton Garden Inn rather than a "real" Hilton. The rooms are dated and the furniture is worn. Our room was clean but could have used a good carpet cleaning and some additional attention. Our Shih Tzu found numerous crumbs, pieces of wrappers, misc garbage and paper by the drapes and under the desk. If a hotel is going to allow pets their housekeeping staff has to be outstanding, I would not say that is the case here. All things considered, the room is just fine for a short stay though not worth their regular asking price of $200++.

The "HILTON BREAKFAST" usually means you are going to have an excellent start to your day. The restaurant was chaotic in the morning and the line waiting to be seated was long. We had free coupons for continental breakfast. The complimentary breakfast for frequent travelers w/ HHonors varies from hotel to hotel. The breakfast offerings at this hotel were less appealing than stale pastry/muffins in a mini mart. We ordered off the menu due to the poor continential offerings. My wife and I both found the breakfast to be inedible. The Manager visited our table and had our food remade. She was very nice and said she wanted us to enjoy our breakfast so she asked the chef to personally prepare our meal. The food was still HORRIBLE. We left hungry. The breakfast cooks need training and the whole breakfast needs some serious attention.

This hotel would be better suited as an HGI rather than a Hilton unless they do some revamping. Not awful, but not great.... just very average with really bad breakfast food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSC, General Manager at Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear RevJoenathan,

First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we were unable to provide you with the quality of breakfast you expected. We are constantly working to improve our menu offerings and your comments will help us improve in this area.

Dirty rooms are also not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. Thanks again for your feedback, we hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in town.

Sincerely,
Rich Higdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Upon arriving, the exterior of the hotel was very beautiful. Better than I had expected as I usually expect the pictures provided by the actual site to make the hotel look better. Inside was just as beautiful. Looks like a mountain lodge. We arrived somewhat late (around 9pm) and unfortunately the restaurant/bar was closing. Although, the bartender did hook us up with a couple of on the house Coronas! Cant complain about free beer!!
The beds were comfy, as I always expect with the Hilton family. Rooms were clean as well. I would def stay here again and have already recommended it to my friends.
Oh, they also have bridal suites and do weddings at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSC, General Manager at Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Brandy516,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Santa Cruz/Scotts Valley Hotel. I’m glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Rich Higdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This Hilton is very clean. The outside is has very welcoming lux look! The lobby is charming & makes you feel like your in very nice mountain home the way it was decorated.

Nick at the front desk is very very helpful and even was able hook me up with a free hilton honors gold room upgrade, which was an awesome one bed-room suite! Thanks again Nick!

The suite was huge! One full bathroom with whirlpool jet tub and glass walk in shower. Plus his and hers sink located in master bedroom. Also a sink and toilet bedroom in living room! 2 bathrooms. Huge bedroom and living room with fold out bed and another room with 6 person dinner table! That's a suite!

The pool is kind of small and the breakfast was decent.

As a Hilton honors member that stays at over 70 nights a year with Hilton, I'd say that I would def stay again or recommend to a friend!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSC, General Manager at Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Allfouracause,

Thanks for the gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton Santa Cruz/Scotts Valley Hotel. I’m glad you found the amenities within the one bedroom suite to your liking. I will let Nick know that he helped make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Rich Higdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley

Address: 6001 la Madrona Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley Hotel Santa Cruz
Hilton Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.