We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best coffee in Santa Cruz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of At The Octagon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
At The Octagon
118 Cooper St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
(831) 429-5858
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 329 restaurants in Santa Cruz
Restaurant details
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“The best coffee in Santa Cruz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I've been a Lulus customer for years. Both locations have the best coffee, great atmosphere, reasonable prices and great foods.
Love them.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    1
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting locale, good coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Unique building, free wifi, good coffee. Can be noisy due to acoustics, so don't count on cellphone conversations while inside.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Coffee, but Snobby Barista”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The girl who made my coffee had an attitude, but she made a mean cappuccino, so I forgave her. This place has cool art.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Good coffee, historical ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Lulu's At the Octagon is a pleasant coffee shop located in the "Octagon," the only surviving piece of the historic Cooper House complex, which was destroyed in the '89 Loma Prieta earthquake. I loved the old Cooper House and pine for the lazy days I spent on the outdoor patio, listening to Don McCaslin's band play their excellent mix of Latin & jazz standards & R & B. So my review of Lulu's At the Octagon is probabably based as much on that nostalgia as it is on the coffee, lol! However, the coffee is very good, if a bit pricey ($2.50 for the small 8 ounce cup). As the young lady who served me explained, it is "air pressed" through some kind of fancy machine, rather than filtered through paper, which apparently makes it much purer & more flavorful. And in fact it is very good tasting coffee.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Awesome coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

Awesome coffee!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed At The Octagon also viewed

 
Santa Cruz, CA
Santa Cruz, CA
 

Been to At The Octagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At The Octagon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.