We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilda's Family Restaurant

Gilda's Family Restaurant
37 Municipal Wharf, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5460
831-423-2010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 287 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Soquel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Views, Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Calimari breakfast was great - probably the best in town. The view can't be beat and the service is ALWAYS excellent. Gilda's never dissapoints and the menu has lots of fairly-priced and yummy choices. Coffe is always very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    58
    32
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, ocean view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you are looking for good, home style food without the fancy decor this is the place. The clam chowder was great, the bread was wonderful and we had the $9.99 special tri tip. Loved the fresh veggies and awesome au gratin potatoes. On the Wharf.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Family hospitality at the Pier!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Loved the views and ambiance of many meals served and enjoyed over many years. My husband cleaned his plate of sand dabs dinner; the minestrone soup was very tasty and served with its own separate cup of grated cheese - a really nice touch!!! My $8.99 prime rib special was more than enough and just deliciously seasoned. We will come again!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“" Came highly recommended by locals"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We met some locals while out walking who recommended the Friday Special, the "seafood cioppino". We made reservations early so we could be seated by the window with a view. The seafood may have been frozen, but it was plentiful and tasted good. The price was moderate and our server very attentive. If you look for non-chain experiences, like I always do, pick Gilda's!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wasn't all that great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had the Seafood Cioppino. I'd have to say it is all frozen sea food. The scallops were good, not great ... but good. The cod? ... Cod is white ... right? It had that gray appearance that frozen/old fish has, even in the sauce (which was really good) The shrimp was good, but had that faint texture that comes from being frozen - in a bag. The calamari was rubbery, but it did chew. Didn't taste like much. The service was good. Everyone was on their toes and attentive.

But still ... a restaurant ... on a wharf ... serving frozen sea food? It ruins the view. Also, figure on getting nailed for parking. Two bucks an hour - if you drive onto the wharf.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilda's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gilda's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilda's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.