We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scontriano's Dolphin Restaurant

Scontriano's Dolphin Restaurant
71A Munincipal Wharf, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
(831) 426-5830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 328 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Maple Ridge, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stopped to have lunch here and we are really glad we did. We were in the middle of a 2 week raod trip and was craving fish and chips and we were not disappointed! I had the clam chowder with my fish and chips and it was tasty. Our fish and chips was excellent as well.
If we are ever back in the area this will be our lunch spot for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good average seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

this was a reasonably priced restaurant at the tip of the wharf. Lots of sea lions under the wharf as after dinner entertainment.

Fish was good with a nice portion. Don't order the fried clams, though. They were clam strips rather than the whole clams that I am used to having in New England.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had fish and chips here the first day we arrived. Staff are friendly and the fish was excellent.
A bit pricey if you sit in, but the takeaway was the same food and there were picnic tables available, so everyone was happy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“View is great - but pigeons are disgusting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Good view - our waiter was very friendly and attentive - fish and chips were so so. Wish I had ordered something else. The pigeons are definitely an issue and we wouldn't go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All Around Bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

From the obviously bored blond hostess, to the kind-of-attempting-to-be-friendly waitress to the how-can-someone-make-crab-boring(??) omelet, this restaurant was just okay. The location is nice, right there on the water. And I did appreciate fresh-squeezed orange juice for my mimosa. But it's not worth it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scontriano's Dolphin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Scontriano's Dolphin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scontriano's Dolphin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.