We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best birthday cakes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buttery

Buttery
702 Soquel Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-2313
831-458-3020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 330 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Berkeley, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best birthday cakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My family has always bought their birthday and holiday cakes from the Buttery for years. The Bakery box has always reminded me of my childhood birthday parties. If only they made gluten free cakes (they do have a flourless mousse torte which I haven't tried). My favorites are mint dark chocolate chip and chocolate hazelnut. Yum!! They also have a wide variety of fresh breads (lots of bagettes!), cheesecakes, baked goods (cupcakes, cookies, etc) AND a little cafe with savory dishes. There are a few tables outside and a few more inside - it is a rather small space so if you go on a weekend morning expect to wait. It's a good place to grab a pastry or hot sandwich on Soquel.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    58
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Buttery has the best pasteries in Santa Cruz. Standouts include the carrot cake cupcakes and the macaroons.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food from scratch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Everything is made with care and quality. It does a great business and is also know for its cakes. Parking is in the back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Bay
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the best Bakeries in Santa Cruz Couty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stop by here about every two months to pick up a fresh baked loaf of bread, since I am in the neighborhood.
Then I leave with bread, and at least another half dozen of their baked sweet goods. I am not a pumpkin pie fan, but their pumpkin cheesecake is out of this world.
They have been a dependable source for birthday cakes - which we have enjoyed over the years.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We visit Santa Cruz @ 4-5 times each year and this place is always on our must-stop list. We love the large selection of pastries and desserts. The sandwiches are also fabulous although honestly, we usually just come for the sweets. It can get quite crowded during lunchtime hours.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttery also viewed

 

Been to Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buttery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.