We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Bakeries in Santa Cruz Couty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buttery

Buttery
702 Soquel Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-2313
831-458-3020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 331 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Monterey Bay
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the best Bakeries in Santa Cruz Couty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stop by here about every two months to pick up a fresh baked loaf of bread, since I am in the neighborhood.
Then I leave with bread, and at least another half dozen of their baked sweet goods. I am not a pumpkin pie fan, but their pumpkin cheesecake is out of this world.
They have been a dependable source for birthday cakes - which we have enjoyed over the years.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    59
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We visit Santa Cruz @ 4-5 times each year and this place is always on our must-stop list. We love the large selection of pastries and desserts. The sandwiches are also fabulous although honestly, we usually just come for the sweets. It can get quite crowded during lunchtime hours.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pastry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

There is wonderful pastry and there is terrible pastry and there is average pastry.....which is mostly defined by what it is not....imaginative, delicate...flavorful...aromatic.....this is average

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The best bakery! Just moved to Santa Cruz and was told this was the bakery to hit. It's wonderful. When you are in Santa Cruz come have a sweet or two...or three!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place has wonderful pastries and great sandwiches. The carrot cupcakes are one of a kind, moist and scrumptious! The cakes are a little on the pricy side, but are fabulous and worth the price. Great selection of cookies too! It's one of those places you meet up with a special friend that you haven't seen for awhile and just to hang out, have a mocha, sandwich, pastry, salad or whatever suits your fancy. nice outside patio area also. Try the place, you will enjoy it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttery also viewed

 

Been to Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buttery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.