We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready for an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chaminade Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chaminade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Chaminade Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Chaminade Lane, Santa Cruz, CA 95065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ready for an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Service was good and breakfast buffet was excellent. Nice wooded resort but needs updating. Did not get to visit the spa and pool facilities. Bar was nice with a distant view if the bay. Lots of families and pets so seems to be popular for that.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Lori,
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We definitely take pride on servicing our guests at a four diamond level. Please do come back and experience the spa and rest of the resort activities, you won't be sorry. And stay tuned for renovations in 2015!

Sincerely,
Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    120
    93
    71
    45
See reviews for
157
187
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We found a great deal on Hotwire when other area hotels were packed and surprisingly expensive. Having heard such good things about Chaminade, we were s a little surprised to find it a much less upscale than we had imagined. But it's a nice hotel and nice to be away from the beach up in the hills. Still close to everything but set back. Rooms are in small 2- story groups they call villas, but feel more like mini motels. The property is really spread out. We were happy to get a room in a villa near the reception area. Getting to the pool, fitness center or spa from there would have been a schlep. But we were there for a concert downtown, so close was good. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a patio and no view. The decor was nothing special, maybe a little weird. The patio looked to be set up for smokers, not for comfort or privacy: 2 chairs, a small table and ash tray, open slat fence separating you from the parking lot. Room rates did not include a mandatory $25 service fee which covers amenities you may or may not use. Since we didn't use them, it felt like a way to squeeze a little more money from us - and kind of petty. The property includes some thinking trails in the hills. We didn't have time to use them, but wish we had. The pool was completely packed when we drove by, so we weren't tempted by it. The restaurant area had a beautiful view, probably the best thing about the hotel. They say they have free wifi, but if you ask, it's one of the service amenities you pay extra for.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want to be close to reception and the restaurant or near the pool and spa. You ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the kind comments on the resort! Looking forward to having you back, you will love the trails and yes our restaurant has incredible views…..we do recommend reservations however.

We also appreciate the comments on the “Resort Fee” it really is quite common. Rather than hit our guests with parking-internet-fitness center ect. We bundled all into a resort fee. We will however make mention of the disclosure with the vendor you booked your room with to ensure they are including in the rates they are quoting.

Again, many thanks for the review. Looking forward to having you back at Chaminade soon!

Sincerely,
Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Resort may only be a 3 or 4 Starr level but location and surroundings are definitely 5 Star!! Beautiful mountain top views of the Pacific all under a canopy of eucalyptus trees. Food was very good and staff were excellent

Room Tip: top floors better choice, eleven two level buildings, building 600 is across from heated outdoor poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We definitely think our 200 acres is one of the many reasons our guests come back time and time again.

Sincerely,
Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here while attending a wedding. The grounds were beautiful ; the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very attentive. We would highly recommend this resort to any any of our friends

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Glad you had a wonderful time and thank you for the five star review! Looking forward to your return visit with us.

Sincerely,
Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This property sits on very beautiful woodsy grounds, but the rooms look like they are 20 or more years out of date. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a large fitness center, but the equipment is pretty dated, needs an upgrade. The doors to the rooms slam shut and are very noisy, so if your neighbor doesn't hold the door there are loud bangs late at night and early in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Joe G.,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. Our 200 acres is one part that keeps guests coming back time and time again. Stay tuned with our renovation plans in 2015.

Sincerely,

Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The property was OK priced for the area. I priced other hotels in the Santa Cruz area and they were all way over-priced. So, for the price the amenities were good. The room was spacious but lacked a micro and fridge. I felt the customer service was good. Beautiful views.

Room Tip: Check all travel web sites for price and then call the hotel itself for extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It sounds like your first time was a success! We invite you back to experience the resort in the upcoming fall and winter season. Santa Cruz is such a beautiful city year round, but fall festivities make it a unique coastal destination.

Cheers!

Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our short 2 day honeymoon trip. We got married 7 weeks after our baby was born last year, so this is the first time taking a trip without our children, and it was GREAT! Driving up the long, well paved, beautifully wooded driveway, I knew this place was going to be beautiful. We were very happy when we checked in. Jeremy helped us at the front desk and gave us a free breakfast voucher, 20% off at the spa, and upgraded us to a suite that looked out to the woods. The room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. There are trails on the property, although we didn't have time to take a stroll on our short 2 night stay. It can be difficult to find parking certain times of the day, and the breakfast buffet is a little pricy ($35 for two people), but it tasted good. I also really enjoyed my massage from Ursula at the Spa, also pricy but well worth it. All in all we had a very enjoyable time there, and would stay again.

Room Tip: There seems to be more parking near the 1100 building that we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Arian,
Thank you for your five star review. Looking forward to making your next stay just as enjoyable!

Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.4 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
2.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
3.2 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Chaminade Lane, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaminade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.