We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay-cation at Chaminade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaminade Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chaminade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Chaminade Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Chaminade Lane, Santa Cruz, CA 95065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Aptos, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay-cation at Chaminade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took a stay-cation at Chaminade for my 30th birthday and had a wonderful time! The staff, the food, our room, the facility, and the views were superior! Everything was clean. The staff was friendly. The food was delicious. We were aided in our reservation by Cori DiMeo who set up a beautiful stay for us. The first person we encountered at check in was Molly who made sure we were comfortable and entertained while we waited for our room to be ready. Our service at Linwood's was awesome. Jennifer and Sarah made sure we had everything we needed and took great care of us! Would highly recommend staying here or just stopping by for a meal or drink with a view!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Leigha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. I'm delighted to hear the your 30th birthday celebration at our resort was a success! Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back for another stay-cation.

Sincerely,

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    97
    81
    65
    38
See reviews for
134
158
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Awesome stay! Great service.Clean room.Good food.Our 11 and 17 year old kids enjoyed there stay! Location was ideal! Safe.The best part were the fabulous hiking paths and the quiet surroundings.Will definitely recommend to anyone planning on visiting Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: Room downstairs across from pool and next to spa was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Martha,
Thank you for taking the time to review Chaminade Resort & Spa. Glad to hear the whole family enjoyed their stay!Come back soon.

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

One has to experience this charming resort to fully appreciate what words can't describe. 80 A of quiet enchantment, hiking trails, pool, spa, hot tub, tennis, volleyball, beautiful wedding area overlooking spectacular Pacific Ocean, two fantastic restaurants, extremely friendly and accommodating staff with gardens and flowers everywhere. Great for family reunions, conferences, weddings, or just a memorable getaway. Close to Santa Cruz, yet quiet and serene.

Room Tip: Some rooms are near the pool, but quiet. Most have private patios or decks. Other rooms are closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Gary,
Thanks for the "triple wow" review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other potential guests. Looking forward to your return.

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights for a corporate offsite

Pros -
- the property is really pretty with giant eucalyptus trees and pretty landscaping. It could be something special.
- the out door spaces ( pool, patios, tennis courts) are all nice

Cons are almost too many too mention -
- location - the isolated location requires a drive to reach the beach, restaurants, or shopping
- tired rooms - beat up worn furniture and dark lighting
- poor maintenance - the tub spout in my room leaked a steady stream of water for 4 days. I reported it, but nothing was done to resolve. Many of the painted pergolas are badly worn. The patio heaters look shot, and only about half of them work as designed. We asked the bartender to light the patio fire-pits one evening and we're told both of them were broken.
- slow service - very poor showing here. Our party of six took over 3 hours for a simple meal one evening. The bar staff clumsily asked us to close our ticket one night for a shift change. And you practically had to beg the morning waitstaff to refill your coffee.
- room service "debris" - a gross room service tray with 3 glasses of milk sat on the floor next to my door for almost 2 days. Nearly every hall you looked down was littered with room service trays.
- cleanliness - yuck! The hall carpets were dirty and the hallways reeked of some kind of air freshener. Made you wonder what they were covering up. My bathroom smelled like mildew, and the tub caulk and overall cleanliness was very bad.

My bottom line is to skip this place. It is really pretty disappointing.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback on our property. It sounds like we missed the mark on various levels and would like to talk more about your stay and learn about ways we can improve. Please contact me directly at 831-475-5600 to discuss your recent stay with us.

Thank you again!

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have stayed at Chaminade three times over the past decade. The customer service is exceptional! The grounds are immaculate. Play tennis, basketball, swim, or just lounge in the spa, there is SO much to do at the Chaminade. They have 3 hiking trails that are private and on site, very safe and of easy to medium challenge. The spa is on site as well and there is a gym with classes such as zumba and yoga. Two restaurants and a bar on the premises provide the weary traveler no reason to leave at all during the trip. Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Ask for forest view room, 50% of all rooms face forest and are so serine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Kristina,
Thanks for the thumbs up review! So glad you were able to take advantage of our resort amenities. Looking forward to you next visits!

Kevin Herbst, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This place is great! It doesn't take itself too seriously, like many reosort/spas. The staff is amazing, the amenities are fabulous, and the location is perfect. I went for a conference and slipped out to take a walk and found the most exquisite hiking trail that brought me out of my work world and into a nature paradise. This place is great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I had a wonderful lunch last week at Linwoods. It was a beautiful day and we sat outside on the patio. It was very easy to just sit back relax and have great conversations with friends. Service and food was great!

Room Tip: Portobello burger at Linwoods is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort2, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your five star review. Please come join us again!

Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Chaminade Lane, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaminade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.