We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nupur's Wedding - Great Venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaminade Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chaminade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Chaminade Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Chaminade Lane, Santa Cruz, CA 95065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nupur's Wedding - Great Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A great value for your money, with lots of activities to take advantage of - great gym, tennis courts, pool and a few hiking trails. It was a lovely venue for my friend's wedding (100 people). At about 6pm... mist began to creep into the area making the backdrop for the wedding photos sublime. The hill below the patio made for a great playground for the younger (and older guests) who decided to take a roll down the hill :)

Room Tip: Top floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    114
    88
    70
    43
See reviews for
150
182
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I needed a relaxing getaway and this place was perfect. Quiet area, friendly staff, great rooms and bar/patio area. We look forward to our next visit to try a couples message.
They have a wonderful view of the city and ocean. There are great areas to visit and eat all within a 20 min drive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakleigh, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was very nice. Standard but clean and well kept. Definitely overpriced, and we could hear all the neighbors with their kids, and the next room's tv playing very loudly through the wall.
Scenery around the hotel was gorgeous. Front desk was flustered by two weddings going on. Little communication between emloyees in the restaurant who moved us from our seats to accommodate the wedding. bar tender made a great mint julep. Couples 80 min massage in the spa was great. Lots of KIDS everywhere. So if you want quiet, beware.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this place while attending a wedding. The only thing this place has going for itself is the location.... it's very peaceful and a welcome respite from the Santa Cruz weekend party atmosphere and traffic jams.

For the record: this was not a bargain type room.... it was one of their Junior Suites, which usually go for $300+.

The rooms are so tired looking! At the prices they want for these rooms, they should at least replace their mattresses! I don't care how many feather beds you place on top of an old lumpy, saggy mattress.... it's still an old lumpy, saggy mattress! I had the most horrible back ache after the first night and it only got worse after the second night. I wasn't the only one complaining about the mattresses either!

The bathrooms are tiny, the towels threadbare, faucets are leaky, etc.

Noise insulation is virtually non existent. You can hear every sneeze and toilet flush emanating from rooms above and next to you. We were in a downstairs rooms and the people above us had children who decided jumping on and off the beds was the perfect form of exercise. Tried calling the front desk to see if they could call them and ask them to stop, but gave up after being on hold for 10 minutes and did it myself. It was embarrassing and it got worse when I discovered the parents and children were guests at the same wedding we were attending!

Restaurant meals were bad, bad, bad! $25 for a BBQ on Saturday night, which was not worth more than $15. Ordered a bottle of wine.... $70 on their menu, less than $20 in town. Had we not been hungry and tired, we'd have walked out. Fortunately, we were warned to stay away from their b'fast! Go get something to go in town and enjoy it on your patio.

I have to give the young staff there credit, however. They were forever gracious, smiling and helpful! Now if the owners would only give them something to be proud of! Bring it all up to date, sink a bit of money into it!

Room Tip: Although I loved having a patio overlooking the woods on the first floor, I would go for a second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Kamana,

Thank you for your comments both the good and the challenged, we will share with our owners and hope to see improvements with our pending renovation plans. While we often compare our pricing with other resorts we will remain vigilant to providing exceptional service and product to justify our pricing.

Yours in hospitality,

Kevin Herbst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We live in Santa Cruz County so were aware of the many desirable locations for our September wedding. All of the indecision went out the window after we met Angela at Chaminade. Everyone was so helpful, anticipating our needs and requirements. Our only regrets were that the rooms are indeed rather small, basic and noisy, and that the steak served at the reception was raw in the middle.

Regardless, we would recommend Chaminade as the setting is gorgeous, the process is easy and the help is outstanding.

Room Tip: the 100 wing is very convenient to the main building but is very noisy. Next time we'll try in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I booked a room and two massages at this hotel as a treat to my daughter. The promotional materials make the property look like a luxury resort, but the reality is that Chaminade is more like a conference center with a very basic spa. First, the room: spacious with a small outdoor patio ("forest" view). Appointments are that of a standard highway motel, bathroom floor tiles needed caulking, wood door frame was rotting. Nothing luxurious whatsoever. The spa: the massages were excellent, and the massage therapists deserve a better environment. The facility was not clean and did not have basic things like hooks to hang up your robe, ice water for after-sauna, or decent bath products. There was no attendant in the spa and it showed. I couldn't help comparing this experience to my recent treatment at the Huntington Hotel Spa in San Francisco and there is just no comparison....and very little difference in price. The restaurant: great menu, but the food we had at dinner was barely edible. The grilled cauliflower was over-salted; the carrot soup was bitter; the fish was bland. The brunch was passable, similar to what you might get at a Denny's. The place is run by young kids who are trying to do a good job, but not well-versed in providing excellent service. It feels like the management is doing everything on the cheap. Overall, this place is an overpriced disappointment. The one bright spot was the hike we took through the beautiful woods on the property - but unfortunately that was not enough to make us want to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a nice place to stay in Santa Cruz but not at the discounted rate that I got from Hotwire. In addition to the excessive room rate you will also be charged a resort fee that really only includes the pool/hot-tub (I guess if you are there for more than 2 or 3 nights you might use the tennis courts which I assume are part of the "resort fee"). Food was decent but nothing spectacular and again at significantly inflated prices. Most of Santa Cruz is on the expensive side. Which is odd when you consider the 'local' atmosphere definitely leans more toward the price sensitive side. This is the 2nd time I have stayed at Chaminade (once for work during the week and the rate was probably half what I paid on the weekend). Do your homework (internet shopping) and you can probably save $100 to use toward better dinner in town. We traveled with family of 4 (I indicated 2 adult/ 2 child during reservation and we ended up with a single room with 2 full/queen beds). I was hoping that at a 'resort' we might have actually gotten a room with a separate living (sleeper sofa) room. No such luck.

Room Tip: Expensive for a middle of the road facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.4 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
2.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
3.2 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Chaminade Lane, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and BookIt.com so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaminade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.