We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaminade Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chaminade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Chaminade Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Chaminade Lane, Santa Cruz, CA 95065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here overnight after a friend's wedding. It was a lovely venue for an afternoon wedding as it had a beautiful view of Santa Cruz. The hotel is set atop a hillside, so it feels very exclusive without actually being far from town or from the beach. However, I was disappointed with the quality of the wedding food. I felt like I could have made something better at home myself as the food was rather bland.

As for being a guest of the hotel, the hotel had a tennis court and pool that I wish we had more time to take advantage of. The room itself was clean and had one of the most comfortable beds I've experienced in a hotel. I did appreciate the organic bath products and full-size hair dryer as well. We did hear noise from some of the other rooms, especially as doors closed up and down the hall. Parking was easy, although rather busy on a Saturday. There is parking in front of each of the guest buildings but those spaces were hard to come by. The big guest lot, though, was not very far from our building so it was still convenient.

All in all, it was pleasant stay in Santa Cruz. I would consider going back for another weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Check out the quaint seaside community of Capitola on your visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    102
    81
    67
    40
See reviews for
138
163
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We live down in Monterey but, we felt like we were far from home. Service is top notch and friendly too! We loved sitting by the pool relaxing and had a nice late lunch on the patio. Amazing views of the bay! We had such a nice stay we can't wait to return. Also they are pet friendly and most hotels in Santa Cruz are not. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My sister just got married at Chaminade and it was AMAZING! I am writing this on her behalf because she just got back from her honeymoon and now they are moving to a new house. I told her I'd be happy to review it for her since she is so busy. We were all treated like royalty the entire weekend. Angela Edmond was her wedding planner and she far exceeded my sisters expectations. Angela was incredibly knowledgeable on everything related to the wedding. She was so enthusiastic, helpful and genuine. My sister raved about her right after they booked the site with her and after meeting her, I completely understand. Also the banquet manager Shannon Delcaro was terrific. The entire staff was amazing, from the waitstaff to bartenders, valet, front desk... The venue is beautiful, the rooms lovely, and the view from there is incredible. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone wanting a beautiful, unique wedding location with a view of Monterey Bay.

Room Tip: Go to the boardwalk if you have kids with you Or go to the capitola village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had an excellent experience during our stay at Chaminade Resort. From the time of booking on the phone to the front desk staff and servers at breakfast, every staff member was polite, gracious and professional.
Our dog was traveling with us and the staff was very accommodating. At check in they gave him a gift of a new bowl, doggie treats and a waste bag dispenser for his leash.
The resort is very family friendly and welcoming. There were happy kids with their parents and guests walking their dogs throughout the property. It felt like a nice, comfortable and safe neighborhood.
The grounds at the resort were immaculate and beautiful with fresh plantings. The breakfast buffet was delicious with an omelette station, fresh fruit, yogurt, bacon, potatoes, and hot cereal.
The rooms smelled fresh and the maid service was prompt and very good. There were areas of the room that showed wear, but overall the room was modernly decorated and spacious.
I will stay there again next time I visit Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We got married last year at The Chaminade Resort and had decided to go back for our one year anniversary. We had a beautiful stay there. We spent the late afternoon and had appetizers and a glass of wine, as we enjoyed the view from far above in the Santa Cruz Mountains. Our room was beautiful. I had asked for a room near the main resort area and Marilyn in reservations was wonderful in granting this request. Dinner in the Linwood Bar and Grill was wonderful. Beautiful atmosphere and excellent service, then breakfast buffet this morning. All and all an excellent stay, which we will do again next year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Accidentally found this lovely resort & spa while taking a road trip on the PCH......what a fabulous and wonderful surprise. The location with views of the beautiful bay and surrounding hiking trails was tops! The restaurant had the most attentive staff and the choices of wine and food were outstanding. Cannot say enough good things about Chaminade Resort & Spa. I will be returning for a longer stay soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are located a ways from the lobby/restaurant and spread out on lush grounds. Very quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Was staying for 3 nights during spring break with 2 kids and a dog.

Good things first: Location, scenic view from the restaurant, very good - almost great food.

Bad: Virtually no sound isolation. You will hear every guest entering your building. Well, we were very close to the metal entrance door but still, it felt like we were in motel 8 on that regard.

Another thing is like somebody else said before - very business oriented. Nobody expects you there on vacation, at least housekeepers won't. They get very persistent knocking on your door right after 8 am.

Restaurant - food was great but be prepared for a very slow service. We end up spending almost 2 hours and were ready to give up on our dessert as well but they showed up last second. Maybe we were unlucky with our waiter but... Oh, and when you finish with your salads in the 4* restaurant you do expect them to bring you a new set of utensils, don't you? Well not in this case.

Overall I would say it was almost ok but could be great. I don't think I'm coming back there.

P.S. Omelet and waffles were incredible! Both chiefs were very, very nice.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the fist floor. Stay out of the entrances!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Chaminade Lane, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaminade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.