We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for a family getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaminade Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chaminade Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Chaminade Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Chaminade Lane, Santa Cruz, CA 95065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel for a family getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Although pricey ($425/ night for a suite) our family really enjoyed our stay.

On the plus side, our suite (room 104) was huge, came with a kitchenette and fridge (perfect for bottle washing and snacks) and the food in the restarant was superb. The views and property grounds were outstanding. Our suite was on the ground floor, with a deck overlooking trees. Beautiful. There are lovely nature trails on the property. The hotel provided two cribs at no charge. Our toddler loved it. Jennifer in reservations was super helpful, she even found us a sitter!

On the downside, the bathrooms need to be updated and the pool is very small. Forget about cabanas or waitress service. The walls are thin as is common for older properties. No bedding was supplied with the cribs. They charged us $15/ night for a microwave, which should have been included at the rate we were paying.

I read the negative reviews and I think Chaminade has a branding problem. It pretends to be a luxury resort like the Rosewood. Truthfully it's too rustic to pull it off. If the hotel rebranded itself as "Santa Cruz Wilderness Lodge" people would be THRILLED to stay here. But if you are expecting luxury, it falls short.

With all that said, we will be back next year. I'm just keeping my eyes peeled for a Groupon deal....

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, Public Relations Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent review! We are delighted to hear that your family getaway was a success. Your feedback is definitely helpful and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    96
    79
    64
    38
See reviews for
133
157
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Not really much of a resort feel. Fairly basic room short on amenities. The surrounding area is nice but opt for the boardwalk area if possible. The staff was nice. Our room service breakfast was completely messed up. When we called about the mix up, the response was "oh well."

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor contribution. We do strive to exceed all our guest expectations. I would like to explore in detail the challenges you encountered please contact me via email at kherbst@chaminade.com.

Kevin Herbst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely and secluded resort. We could not have found it without GPS, but once there...WOW. Beautiful and spacious room (be aware, there are no elevators) which feel private were a welcome respite after sightseeing. The coffee in the room was very drinkable. Lots of things for kids to do...volleyball, tennis, swimming and jacuzzi. Beautiful spa. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Don't count on elevators for your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, General Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are delighted to hear such wonderful comments about our resort. Thank you for taking the time to review Chaminade Resort & Spa....we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cre8gale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel website was extremely inviting - unfortunately from the time of check- in to departure ( spent only one night) we were very disappointed. The service bordered on pitiful! The room we had was very dark and dismal. The beds were hard and uncomfortable - towels like sandpaper. Not at all what we expected. The food was decent - overall, I can't recommend this property. It is definitely in need of major update!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, Public Relations Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor contribution. We do strive to exceed all our guest expectations, especially providing superior guest service. I would like to explore in detail the challenges you encountered while on property, please contact me via email at kherbst@chaminade.com. Looking forward to speaking with you. -

Kevin Herbst - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights beginning July 19. Location is gorgeous - very spacious woodsy grounds with distant views of Monterrey bay through the lovely trees. Staff were exceptionally polite. Our first night was fraught with problems, the worst which was inoperative AC which rendered the room oven-like. To the credit of management, everything that could possibly be done to fix the problems was done, but the AC remained inoperative in spite of several hours of noisy service. The place was full so changing rooms was not an option the first night. Second night, different room, was wonderful, and we were refunded for the first, miserable night. Problems happen, point is management did all they could which is all I can ask. Trails are a real treat, location is stunning, rooms are clean and comfortable - but perhaps more 3 star than 4, parking is far away from your room unless you get lucky. Did I mention the location is gorgeous? We will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, Public Relations Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are delighted to hear such wonderful comments about our resort and beautiful property. Thank you for taking the time to review Chaminade Resort & Spa....we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had high hopes of a little luxury or at least pleasurable quality time with my active duty military husband, and this appeared to be the nicest place in Santa Cruz. Wish we would have stayed by the boardwalk! Please see the photos. It was such a insult to be charged over $300.00 per night, plus resort fees... So $1000.00 for 3 nights, & this is what was offered to us! (We insisted on moving but room # 2 was not much better). Couch was stained and ripped, ottoman was dated and ripped, the ceiling patched from water damage, and they couldn't be bothered to repaint, the furniture was ruined and OLD from water damage, the walls were not repaired,( in rm #2) the bed had a fake pillow topper that kept sliding off, the water handle in the shower took five minutes to push into place to be able to adjust the water, and the pump style shampoo/conditioners took forever to get to pump. We planned an extra day here just to take advantage of 'the spa & resort", but we were so disgusted we avoided it. Wish we could have stayed at another Hampton Inn, like the nights previously... A call into the management got us promises of room comp and dinner... The dinner was nice, but no comp on the room. Make sure you know what you are getting/paying for here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaminadeResort, Public Relations Manager at Chaminade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor contribution. We do strive to exceed all our guest expectations, especially providing a luxury experience. I would like to explore in detail the challenges you encountered while on property please contact me via email at kherbst@chaminade.com. Looking forward to speaking with you.

Kevin Herbst – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Overall, the facilities are nice. The rooms are a little long in the tooth and the pump soap, shampoo and conditioner in the shower remind you of European hotels. I'd ditch them.

The staff are very polite and professional and the food is excellent.

If you are into long walks, the trails are a treat.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaminade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaminade Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Chaminade Lane, Santa Cruz, CA 95065
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaminade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Chaminade Resort & Spa is a spectacular mountaintop retreat in Santa Cruz. Our historic Mission-style resort overlooks sweeping views of Monterey Bay and the Santa Cruz Mountains. Chaminade is a luxurious destination for executive meetings, celebrations and getaways. Enjoy color palettes inspired by the California coast, contemporary Spanish furnishings, and world-class amenities. Chaminade is just five minutes from golf courses, the beach and downtown Santa Cruz. Escape to a haven of unsurpassed service. Chaminade is the first hospitality business in Santa Cruz County to receive a "Green Business Certification" for its environmental efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Chaminade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaminade Resort And Spa
Chaminade Santa Cruz
Chaminade Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaminade Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.